Customer Reviews for

Betty Crocker Cookbook, 11th Edition: 1500 Recipes for the Way You Cook Today

Average Rating 3.5
( 32 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

29 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

Bad reviewers

If you want to know how a recipe looks on nook, imagine a list of ingredients followed by directions. If you complain about the content in a sample, don't bother posting a review. For those of you that would like a valid review, this nook edition contains a significan...
If you want to know how a recipe looks on nook, imagine a list of ingredients followed by directions. If you complain about the content in a sample, don't bother posting a review. For those of you that would like a valid review, this nook edition contains a significant number of recipes, nutritional info, and an easily navigated interface (including options to help you jump back and forth when looking for recipes)

posted by 2157995 on December 8, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

13 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

free sample lacking

The free sample should have included at least one or two recipe pages so we can see what it will look like when trying to do an actual recipe from the nook.

posted by mladymeisha on December 8, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2011

    Bad reviewers

    If you want to know how a recipe looks on nook, imagine a list of ingredients followed by directions. If you complain about the content in a sample, don't bother posting a review. For those of you that would like a valid review, this nook edition contains a significant number of recipes, nutritional info, and an easily navigated interface (including options to help you jump back and forth when looking for recipes)

    29 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2011

    Excellent new edition!

    I've been a huge Betty Crocker fan my whole life. The Betty Crocker Cookbook was the the one cookbook in my home growing up and I loved to look through it and learn about all the delicious possibilities. As I grew older I started collecting vintage Betty Crocker cookbooks and I still refer back to them and their clear and accessible recipes for the home cook. So, I was very interested to see the new 11th edition of the Betty Crocker Cookbook: 1500 Recipes for the Way You Cook Today, with all the classic recipes mixed with new ones. This new Betty Crocker Cookbook edition has many extras that are a big help in perfecting your cooking and baking techniques. I loved the "Learn to Make" additions, which give detailed explanations for popular recipes and compare in photos more or less successful versions of a recipe, while teaching how to achieve the perfect result. Now I know why my chocolate chip cookies are always flat -- the butter was too soft and the cookie sheet too hot. Many of the recipes have been updated from the originals and are now labeled as Lower Calorie, Fast, New Twist, etc., for convenience. I was excited to see current recipes like No-Knead Artisan Bread, which has several variations. An interesting new chapter was "Do It Yourself" where they give information on eating local, canning, making your own spice mixes and more. I'm definitely making some Chai Mix (an Indian tea with milk and spices), to have on hand. I was glad to see sections on Slow Cooker Suppers and 20 Minutes or Less meals included in Betty Crocker Cookbook. There is also lots of variety from the old stand-bys, like the eleven types of deviled eggs or eight sweet and savory spreads for bread offer. One aspect of the Betty Crocker Cookbook that stood out to me was the frequent addition of recipes from cultures all around the world. I really appreciated having easy access to many of our family's ethnic favorites, while giving us the opportunity to try out new ones, like Cajun Chicken or Moroccan Chickpeas. There is even a full section on Vegetarian Cooking with beautiful photos and excellent information and recipes to assist in incorporating vegetarianism into your lifestyle (even if just occasionally). Betty Crocker sure is keeping up with the times! And it's not just a cookbook, but it's more like an excellent course on gaining greater cooking skills.

    18 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2011

    free sample lacking

    The free sample should have included at least one or two recipe pages so we can see what it will look like when trying to do an actual recipe from the nook.

    13 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    Good Cookbook but Has It's Quirks

    Betty Crocker always puts out an excellent cookbook. However, I would read completely through the sample before you purchase it for your Nook. You'll notice in the sample there are places where the writing runs off the bottom of the page or where you nly get a portion of the captions and it is not finished on the following page...this pertains to the end explanation of some recipes as well. If you are not a confident seasoned cook and this matters to you, get the hardback version! Otherwise, the search option on your Nook is extremely handy for searching recipes!

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Great recipes

    I love this cookbook. I used several recipes for cookies this week and everyone of them turned out GREAT!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    Not happy with this purchase

    I thought this cookbook would be great to have. Unfortunately , i find it very difficult to navigate. I tried using it in the nook app on my ipad and it crashed my ipad. While it is a great idea, it's just very difficult to navigate around the book and that is a shame for a book that is so costly.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2012

    Disappointed

    I was sorry to discover that the ENHANCED book did not work as the activity reader kept indicating to either Wait or Force Close.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2011

    Sample

    I understand why some would like to see a sample recipe as I did also. For those that do have the book I am wondering if it shows pictures with each recipe like an actual cookbook would?? Thanks!

    3 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2012

    I had been looking forward to purchasing my new cookbook for a l

    I had been looking forward to purchasing my new cookbook for a long time. I bought the ring binder style and was disappointed on two issues. Despite my best efforts and care, the pages stuck together and tore when separating due to the compression of the pages when the holes were punched. And B&N, where I have had wonderful service for years, was unresponsive to two email inquires. Buy the book for the wonderful content, just don't get the ring binder style.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2012

    Sample sucks

    Sample should include a few recipes.

    2 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2012

    Betty Crocker Cookbook

    When you get to the receipts for the chicken it goes to your my shelves and it has left the cookbook. I TRY it again in the rice and grains chapter this time and it will not go to a receipt again. It will show receipts before you get to the poultry.

    NOT pLeased!

    1 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2013

    This is amazing

    It is a really great book with tons of features

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2013

    Love it

    This has been the cookbook in our family for decades (:

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2