Customer Reviews for

Betty Crocker's Picture Cookbook, Facsimile Edition

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Betty Crocker Cookbook

I purchased this cookbook for my aunt, the 'Betty Crocker' of our family. She had been using one of the original ones, which was taped together and falling apart. She was really surprised that the 'new' one had the same cover and illustrations as her original.

posted by Jacki51 on May 8, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Very disappointing

A lot of the recipes that I remembered are not in this book as they were in the original, which I have. I bought a copy for my daughter as she is always asking for certain recipes from this book, but when I got it in the mail, all the ones she requested were not in the...
A lot of the recipes that I remembered are not in this book as they were in the original, which I have. I bought a copy for my daughter as she is always asking for certain recipes from this book, but when I got it in the mail, all the ones she requested were not in there. What gives? How can you advertise it as the 1950 Classic??

posted by Anonymous on September 1, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2008

    Very disappointing

    A lot of the recipes that I remembered are not in this book as they were in the original, which I have. I bought a copy for my daughter as she is always asking for certain recipes from this book, but when I got it in the mail, all the ones she requested were not in there. What gives? How can you advertise it as the 1950 Classic??

    13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2004

    Not what I expected

    I was very disappointed with the cookbook. I have the original (tattered & torn), and this cookbook left alot of recipes and pictures out. I thought I was buying a reprint of the original. There was nothing in the discription telling me that it was not exactly like the first printing. If I had know this I would have not bought the book. I am still looking for the original printing/or a reprint of the exact cookbook.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2008

    Longing for the Original

    Add me to the list of disappointed fans. Many of my favorites from the original are not in this edition, e.g., the best classic salad dressing on the planet is missing. I almost wailed. On the other hand I was happy to see many of the original pictures. So what gives! Why the omissions? I can't bring myself to purchase this edition even though my original owes its life to rubberbands.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2008

    okay but not the exact original

    I too was a little disappointed in that it is not exactly like my 1949 Betty Crocker cookbook.MY favorite recipe was not teh same and the layout is different. I still use my old one and sure won't throw it away even tho it is in peices

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2010

    Betty Crocker Cookbook

    I purchased this cookbook for my aunt, the 'Betty Crocker' of our family. She had been using one of the original ones, which was taped together and falling apart. She was really surprised that the 'new' one had the same cover and illustrations as her original.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    The best "basics" cookbook ever

    When I was a child my Mom got me started cooking with her copy of this book, and I bought a used one when I moved away from home. My daughters learned the same way, and each has her own copy.

    This book is not full of flavor-of-the-month trend recipes. It covers all the courses with time-honored recipes from scratch and has plenty of info for learning cooks like measurements, meat roasting times, etc. Once a cook knows how to roast a piece of beef or make a basic bread, he or she can be as creative as the imagination allows.

    Like many commercially published books, this one features products from the sponsoring company - but in this case it's not as much prepared stuff as basics like Gold Medal flour.

    If you love comfort food, this is an excellent book - the drop biscuits, pancakes and waffles are favorites at our house and can appear at any time of the day or night. Enjoy!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2010

    Not the original but...

    I purchased this for a friend and she's thrilled with it. If it were for me I would have preferred the hardbound edition not a ring binder type. I just think it would last longer. The edition I have was originally handed down to my sister-in-law by my mother-in-law and I cherish it.
    The new one is missing a recipe for Pink Bunny (although why anyone would need to make that I'm not sure. LOL) and possibly others but I did not do an extensive search.
    All in all this is a great everyday cookbook that explains the ins and outs of cooking. It's a basic for any new cook and I think everyone should have it on the shelf.
    I only gave it 4 out of 5 stars because of the binding.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2011

    Fraud

    This is not a copy of the 1950 Betty Crocker Picture Cookbook. This book is a bate and switch rip off!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    Betty Crocker Picture Cookbook

    This cookbook was my Bible during my days as the mother of four preschool age children. The recipes are reliable and easy to make. The ingredients are those that you have on hand. These are down to earth recipes remembered from childhood. Chatham

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2004

    thebettycrocker cookbook,best cookbook on the market

    i have had a lot of cookbooks but my favorite was always the betty crocker cookbook. the reason it was is because no matter what i needed a recipe for it was there. the burnt sugar cake &the burnt sugar frosting recipe are the ones my mother taught me to make.my original betty crocker cookbook was destroyed in a fire when my house burnt a few years ago,i sure miss it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2004

    What a great Mother's Day gift!

    I received my Betty Crocker Cookbook as a wedding gift, 45 years ago. Until then, I had used my Mom's book, which she still has. Although the binding fell off years ago (my husband put it back together with duct tape),I continue to use this cookbook for all the wonderful recipes I have loved through the years. Having raised six children, this cookbook held many helpful ideas on stretching the food dollar. I taught my children to cook using this book, and they have wanted mine all these years. I will now order these cookbooks for Mother's Day gifts for my Mom ( 83 years old), my two daughters, my daughter in law, and myself. I look forward to many more years of making delightful dishes from this book. Thank you Betty Crocker for republishing this book for the next generation!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2002

    Second String for a 51-year Veteran

    My mother received this book for her wedding over 51 years ago and has been using it almost exclusively all that time. Hers is (was!) hardbound and it's being held together by yellowing tape and a rubber band to keep the pages from being lost! I was ecstatic when I was able to find an original ring-bound edition in an antique store for myself since it was that book I used as a child while learning to bake and cook at Mom's elbow. When she saw mine she tried to talk me out of it! So, when I saw this one I didn't even hesitate to order one for her. Thank you, thank you, thank you--now I can keep mine!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2002

    COOKIES COOKIES COOKIES

    My mother has this cookbook, and the best part about it is that it as REAL cookie recipes, not those bar and microwave things that are in their current book, but the true cookie recipies from around the world that take time (and love) to prepare. I had purchased an original in a used bookstore, just to get the cookie recipes, but gave the reprint to my sister so she would have them as well. Our holidays consist of memories of making cookies from this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2001

    Memories. Grand Rapids, MI

    I was flooded with memories when I saw this cookbook in a store. My mother saved 300 green stamps in the fifties to get it. Many times as a child I would see her using this cookbook to prepare meals for six children and she made fantastic pies from it as well. After many years of use her original cookbook has become worn, she keeps a rubber band around it to keep it from falling apart. I purchased her the republished version for Christmas and she was very surprised. Something tells me from our conversation that she still prefers her original. Ha! This is the next best thing to her copy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2000

    Memories Galore!!!

    This cookbook taught me to cook!! My mother has an original copy from which I learned the secrets of pie crusts to meringues...I have searched high and low at garage sales and antique stores for a copy for myself...THANK YOU Betty Crocker for republishing this bible of the kitchen for generations of new cooks, bakers and those of us who aren't so new!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2000

    Comfort Food at Its Best!

    I was born in the mid-50's. As such, I was raised on a myriad of dishes that my mother prepared, using the recipes from this book. I was so excited when I heard that the book had been reproduced in its original form.<P> Nearly everyone who has seen this book in my kitchen has become sentimental about the memories invoked by the original Betty Crocker Cookbook. I'm giving several copies as gifts this holiday season.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2000

    This book taught me to cook!

    I am so glad that this book has finally been reprinted. And hopefully it is never taken out of print again. The new cookbooks are nice, but this one teaches you the basics of how to cook from scratch. No cooking library is complete without this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2000

    Old Fashion Cooking Like Mom and Grandma Use To Do!

    This cookbook brings back alot of memories for me. My Grandmother used to have and my mother now has the second edition of the Betty Crocker Picture Cookbook. I am glad to see that a reprint of the first edition to be reprinted so I can cook like my mother and grandmother now in terms of good home cooking made from scratch. By making some of the recipes from Betty Crocker Picture Cookbook, it will take me down memory lane of remembering the foods that I had as a little girl including family get togethers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2