Customer Reviews for

Betty Zane

Average Rating 3.5
( 61 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

One of the best books I have ever set eyes on!

Betty Zane is an outstanding book! It is really good and based on real events that took place. Betty Zane is the story of the real Betty Zane but in fiction form. It takes place in the beautiful Fort Henry area which is now Whelling, West Virginia, and is still gourgous...
Betty Zane is an outstanding book! It is really good and based on real events that took place. Betty Zane is the story of the real Betty Zane but in fiction form. It takes place in the beautiful Fort Henry area which is now Whelling, West Virginia, and is still gourgous today. The book has everything in it from Indians, Romance, bravery, and History. If you haven't read this book yet you have really missed out!

posted by Anonymous on February 7, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

So boring

I havent even got through the whole thing yet i like books that u cant put down any suggestions?i loved puting this down

posted by 17047573 on February 8, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 61 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2008

    One of the best books I have ever set eyes on!

    Betty Zane is an outstanding book! It is really good and based on real events that took place. Betty Zane is the story of the real Betty Zane but in fiction form. It takes place in the beautiful Fort Henry area which is now Whelling, West Virginia, and is still gourgous today. The book has everything in it from Indians, Romance, bravery, and History. If you haven't read this book yet you have really missed out!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2012

    Great for those who love histrolical fiction!

    I'm 13 ,but I love histrolical fiction, I found that there are a few miss spellings. Such as they said beer when they meant been. W ere when they meant were. And bar when they meant bear, to name a few. But it's only once every other page ,and nothing you can't tell what they mean it to be. Over all a lovely book ,and wonderfully writien!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2007

    Outstanding!

    A wonderful book for anyone who likes frontier, adventure, female heroines, Indian novels, Historical things...ect. ect. ect. The list gose on and on. I LOVED the book. Beautifully written set in the Ohio Valley in now-a-day Whelling West Virginia. Excelent Book!

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2013

    Recommended

    Reading this will tell you why Zane Grey was so well respected as a writer and teller of tales of the West. Excellent read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2013

    Dont get it!

    It really was hard to read. I couldnt even get into the story because every other word was a major typo. I do not recomend this version, it is very poor quality.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2012

    Sophia

    Great

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2012

    So boring

    I havent even got through the whole thing yet i like books that u cant put down any suggestions?i loved puting this down

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    Awesome book!!!

    This is like the most awesome book ever I highly recomend this to anyone that likes to read books with a little bit of everything in it. I will admit that it does have a few boring parts in it but all in all it is a VERY good book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2011

    Good read

    Good story, this particular copy was free and there were many typo's, had to guess what some of the words were. Probably the for sale copy has all that corrected. The book seems to historically accurate. Anyway enjoyed reading it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2009

    BettyZane

    wonderful book. Very interesting. Good true story of our first ancestors who settled the Ohio Valley and fought for their survival. Well written.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2012

    How unfotunate

    My grandfather was an avid reader of Zane Grey's novels, so I was looking forward to the woman's perspective in this book. But the nook version is horrible. There are so many unusual punctuation, wrong letters, numbers, and symbols in the copy that it's very, very difficult to read. The constant translating exhausted me before I even reached the end of the first chapter. So sorry, but had to give up.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2012

    Zane Grey's best book

    This book is a fun, light read. It is romantic, exciting, and novel (in its own way). I think that you will enjoy it if that is what you're looking for. You will not enjoy it if you expect literary genius. Grey puts out a great romp!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    Recommended

    An interesting history of the Revolutionary era in the Ohio River Valley. Grey builds his story around the way in which his ancestor Betty Zane saved the fort from an Indian attack. This is the first of three novels set in Ohio River Valley. An account portrayal of life on the early frontier that will appeal to young adult and adult readers.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    Anyonus

    Great book

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2011

    Very Good

    This book is a good story about early pioneers in America.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2010

    1800 the year

    could not get into

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 61 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4