Customer Reviews for

Betty's (Little Basement) Garden

Average Rating 4.5
( 17 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Betty Craven had the perfect life. Well, that's what it seemed l

Betty Craven had the perfect life. Well, that's what it seemed like to others. They never knew that she was empty inside and her house was emptying slowly as she surreptitiously sold her antiques and paintings. Her Husband was dead, Although if she were honnest, maybe t...
Betty Craven had the perfect life. Well, that's what it seemed like to others. They never knew that she was empty inside and her house was emptying slowly as she surreptitiously sold her antiques and paintings. Her Husband was dead, Although if she were honnest, maybe that was a small relief. Her son, Frankie was dead and that ripped her her out every hour of every day.
Betty hasn't created her perfect garden yet this year, her women's group meeting wasn't perfect enough to please her. Her neck was killing her. That drumbeat in her ear was driving her slowly insane.
What saves her sanity, love life, body and soul? Cannabis (don't call it "Pot" please, Betty would be offended) Not exactly what you expected is it?
Through the metaphor of weed, Betty teaches us what life can become when you let go of your fears, prejudices, misconceptions, and self doubt. A wonderful journey on Betty's discovery of herself.

posted by fuzzmom on June 16, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

I enjoyed this book, somewhat. I liked the "recreating ones

I enjoyed this book, somewhat. I liked the "recreating oneself" theme, but I found myself disliking Betty as a person - she
was phony and snobby. I really didn't enjoy spending time with her as I read the book. Some of that wore off a bit by
the end of the bo...
I enjoyed this book, somewhat. I liked the "recreating oneself" theme, but I found myself disliking Betty as a person - she
was phony and snobby. I really didn't enjoy spending time with her as I read the book. Some of that wore off a bit by
the end of the book, but not enough. She seemed very one-dimensional as a character. The science/horticulture
aspect was VERY interesting and informative, but there was a lot of tedious proselytizing about cannabis and people's
misguided perceptions about it. It was nice to see a stuffy person learn to be more open-minded, though.

posted by 5093573 on April 11, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted June 16, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Betty Craven had the perfect life. Well, that's what it seemed l

    Betty Craven had the perfect life. Well, that's what it seemed like to others. They never knew that she was empty inside and her house was emptying slowly as she surreptitiously sold her antiques and paintings. Her Husband was dead, Although if she were honnest, maybe that was a small relief. Her son, Frankie was dead and that ripped her her out every hour of every day.
    Betty hasn't created her perfect garden yet this year, her women's group meeting wasn't perfect enough to please her. Her neck was killing her. That drumbeat in her ear was driving her slowly insane.
    What saves her sanity, love life, body and soul? Cannabis (don't call it "Pot" please, Betty would be offended) Not exactly what you expected is it?
    Through the metaphor of weed, Betty teaches us what life can become when you let go of your fears, prejudices, misconceptions, and self doubt. A wonderful journey on Betty's discovery of herself.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2012

    Wow! What a wonderful read! I've been a huge fan of Laurel Dewey

    Wow! What a wonderful read! I've been a huge fan of Laurel Dewey and her Jane Perry mystical mystery series for the past four years. When I read that she was writing a standalone novel with a new character, I was intrigued. After finishing "Betty's (Little Basement) Garden," I'm an even bigger fan of Ms. Dewey's. In this story, she beautifully weaves themes of love, passion, bliss, forgiveness, and just sheer enjoyment into a captivating novel that tracks a 58-year-old widow's transformation from a staunch, tightly wound Republican to a compelling activist for....of all things....cannabis....marijuana.

    But before you say you don't want to read a book "about pot," PLEASE think again. This is not really a book about marijuana; this is a book about following your passion and acknowledging your true spirit. Betty never loses her manners or her charm but she gains an understanding about herself and a plant called "cannabis" that makes this book such a page turner. I adored the romantic element in the book too!! Ms. Dewey has crafted a character that is the perfect person for Betty Craven to fall for. He's sexy, funny, smart and strong. Damn, I wish I knew this guy! There is also a heartbreaking backstory regarding Betty's son that had me in tears a few times.

    To sum it up, I'd say this is perfect "summer read." You'll learn more than you ever knew about marijuana (in a good way) and possibly re-think your beliefs about this much maligned herb. I know I did. In fact, because of this book, I'm starting to research more about cannabis as a healing plant. Bravo, Ms. Dewey! You wrote a page turning stunner!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2014

    Couldn't put it down!

    Hope more Betty adventures are in Laurel's future!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2013

    Loved it!

    This was so different from her other series but it was so good i could not put it down. It's a story of a woman findind her place in the world after losing her son and husband. For years she lived her life as others expected her to never being true to her life calling. When she finds her niche she finds her inner peace. I really enjoyed this book and it reminded me we are never too old to be true to ourselves and to heck with anyone who is quick to judge! Who needs 'em! I was a little disappointed there was very little closure as far as some of the main characters were concerned. Sort of left me hanging as to what happened to them. Maybe there will be a second book?....
    Love this author! Write more books please!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2014

    Excellent!

    This was the first book i have read by this author but will definitely not be the last.
    Very well written. Great characters. Wonderful plot.
    So glad i found it on nook.
    Not what you'd expect given the summary--better!
    Highly recommend!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2014

    Great book

    Wow! I found so much of myself in the "old Betty" and learned SO many things about marijuana AND have a new found respect for this amazing plant! What a fabulous storyline! I will recommend this book to everyone!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2014

    I enjoyed this book, somewhat. I liked the "recreating ones

    I enjoyed this book, somewhat. I liked the "recreating oneself" theme, but I found myself disliking Betty as a person - she
    was phony and snobby. I really didn't enjoy spending time with her as I read the book. Some of that wore off a bit by
    the end of the book, but not enough. She seemed very one-dimensional as a character. The science/horticulture
    aspect was VERY interesting and informative, but there was a lot of tedious proselytizing about cannabis and people's
    misguided perceptions about it. It was nice to see a stuffy person learn to be more open-minded, though.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2014

    This book rather than a story was more like a handbook for growi

    This book rather than a story was more like a handbook for growing pot or as she liked to call it hemp. Total waste of time.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2014

    A good read

    I enjoyed this book very much. I was really drawn to the main character. The other characters are very well set out. It was a very interesting story regarding the change in the life view of one individual. Well done!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2014

    Delightful

    Truly enjoyed this book and learned a lot of new things along the way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2014

    Brit

    Age 16 has a nice butt big bo.obs is wearing a tanktop and shirts she has blone hair and blue eyes

    0 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1