Customer Reviews for

Between

Average Rating 4.5
( 68 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(41)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Wow. Where do i begin? I dont have one bad thing to say about th

Wow. Where do i begin? I dont have one bad thing to say about this book. I was pulled in on the very first page and didnt put it dont till it was finished, and even when it was finished i went back and re-read parts of it. This book is a must read. The story has everyth...
Wow. Where do i begin? I dont have one bad thing to say about this book. I was pulled in on the very first page and didnt put it dont till it was finished, and even when it was finished i went back and re-read parts of it. This book is a must read. The story has everything you could want in a book, those cute sappy romantic moments and plenty of humor. Between was heartbreaking at times and made me want to be able to confort the characters. The end will leave you breathless and above all things i think, shoked. Im usually pretty good at figuring out how books will end, but not with Between. I had no idea what so ever where the book was going to go, but when i did, i was beyond shocked and i actually think i felt my heart break.
This is a MUST read to anyone who hasnt read it, i would deffinently go back and read Between a 3rd and 4th time. Deffinently 5 stars, i wish i could give it 6!

posted by Shelby262 on July 14, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Price?

Why is this book almost $40?

posted by RosamundKynward on July 12, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 41 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2012

    ?... this is not expensive

    Ummm... you people are cheap.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Between is a haunting, all-consuming character study of how one

    Between is a haunting, all-consuming character study of how one girl chose to live her life and the things she discovers after her death.

    At the start of the novel we're introduced to Liz, a snotty, rich, mean girl who's life seems all but perfect till she discovers her own dead body floating in the water. Together with Alex, another ghost, Liz must figure out what happened the night she died and what kind of person she truly was.

    I have NEVER, EVER liked a mean girl in a YA book before. Even after her death Liz is rude, selfish and entitled, I shouldn't care that she died, but I do. Through the use of flashbacks, which are interwoven throughout the novel, we get a deeper understand of Liz and how she ended up the way she did. It doesn't really justify the awful things she said or did to people, but I do think it helps you understand her better. There is a redeeming quality to Liz (you do root for her) and its wonderful to see how she starts to listen and learn from Alex.

    Alex is shy, sensitive and awkward, everything Liz is not. He's the perfect companion for her, showing her how her actions in life effected others, most notably him. He isn't afraid to be tough on her and though their interactions could be hostile at times, there's also a nice kinship there.

    While she was alive Liz surrounded herself by a popular clique of friends and a wealthy family. After her death everyone begin to fall apart revealing their secrets, lies and betrayals. Richie (Liz's boyfriend and Caroline (best friend) held the biggest surprises for me and through their eyes you get a much larger picture of who Liz was.

    The novel's pacing isn't very quick focusing more on character interaction then building up suspense, though there are plenty of twists and turns. Although one key plot point was easy to predict, it didn't ruin my enjoyment of the novel. The ending was wrapped up well and felt perfect for this kind of story.

    Between is so much more then just a mystery about a dead girl. Its about the people who shape use, the decisions we make and the ability to change. I look forward to reading more books by Jessica Warman, she has a distinct YA voice and an incredible knack for encompassing you in her novel's world. I would highly recommend the book to fans of Lauren Oliver, Gayle Forman or any who enjoys YA contemps. Its not a contemporary but it sure reads like one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2012

    LOVE THIS

    You guys have to read this book it has the perfect amount of romance and mystery and it will have you captivated from beginning to end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2012

    Ejs

    I loved it sooooooo goood but why would Josie lizs sister killl her. get it i would recomend it i could not but it down

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2012

    BEST BOOK EVVVEERRR

    Omg yall have to get this book i COULD NOT put it down!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 29, 2011

    great mystery book! must read!

    Jessica Warman is the author of Between she has received four starred reviews for all of her books she has written, and she writes a marvelous mystery book Between.She got the idea for the book between, from an actual incident from her childhood, when a local boy went missing.My reaction to the book Between made me feel like I was there with the main characters. The book absorbed me in to the mystery, I couldn't put it down. The book gave me so many emotions from sad to mad, to shock. There's never a dull moment in between. Between is a fiction book about a girl that goes on a quest to find out how she died and along the ride she meets a boy from her school that had died that is willing to help her find out what she needs to know. It's an excellent book and I think you should read it to find out just how good it really is.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2011

    Must Read!

    This book was sooo great!It was one of the best books I've read all summer!!!! Jessica Warman is a wonderful writer. It is a Must Read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2011

    Live To Read

    The amazing cover doesn't disappoint, this book was a phenomenal ghost story. The main character, Liz, discovers that she is dead in a very unusual way-she wakes up on the boat with her friends by a tapping sound...only to follow the sound to her own dead foot, hitting the side of the boat. From there, she meets Alex, a very resentful boy...the reader may initially dislike him, but it doesn't take long for the reader to be outraged by the injustice done to him during his very short life.



    Liz acts as the readers' guide. She takes the reader through her death scene, her funeral, her friends' lives as they continue without her, her families lives, and her own past...even some of Alex's past is viewed. Some scenes are painful, even to the reader. The mark of a good writer is evoking emotions in his/her readers...this author did a terrific job of it. The reader will cycle through concern, outrage, hatred, and happiness.



    How would your life be after you died? Liz does not have an easy time finding out. Her boyfriend and love of her life is dating her stepsister who believes she is the daughter of Liz's father...who married that stepsister's mother and his past high school love; this book is a mess of relationships and how they affect people and gossip. Liz's friends have a variety of problems, from stealing to parents losing jobs to mourning to drugs/alcohol. The most notable character with a problem turns out to be Liz herself. She suffered from anorexia, like her late mother, when she was alive; she has deep-seated abandonment issues with regards to her mother...as well as eating issues, she was a perfectionist, she was blackmailed, she had several very bad friends, etc... Liz's character is incredibly dynamic, the reader will find her a pleasure to read about.



    Many books are not "successful ghost stories", but this one blew the rest out of the water (little joke). The dialogue, flashbacks, and writing were perfect and the ending was incredibly satisfying. This book is recommended to teens/young adults/adults.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A gripping tale from beyond the grave.

    When I received this book at BEA, I first thought it was another book - I'm not sure why, it was a long day - so when I brought it home and read the back of it and realised that it wasn't a fantasy novel I was a bit cautious. While I step outside of fantasy novels every once in awhile, it's mostly on recommendations or because I've heard great buzz about it, so going with no buzz and no expectation I started to read Between.

    I was blown away.

    Jessica Warman spins the tale of a high schooler named Elizabeth. Liz is pretty, rich, popular, dating a popular boy at school and at the top of the high school social food chain. Liz is a runner. Liz has a secret. Liz is dead.

    When Liz awakes to her death she finds that she cannot remember the events leading up to her body being found face down in the water near her parent's boat.

    The biggest thing that struck me about Between was how much I disliked Liz. Yet, I still wanted to hear what she had to say; this is a balance that I don't often find in books where I dislike the protagonist. Jessica Warman kept the mystery alive long enough to see past Liz's superficialness and realise that she was a living and hurting teenager just like the people she tormented in her life. Joining her in her death is Alex, a boy from her school who died the year before. In her life she would never be caught dead with him - death is indeed the great equalizer.

    As their time together unfolds, Jessica paints a portrait of the life of Alex and Liz through Liz's eyes. After a point I started to like Liz as a character. She is more complex than we are initially lead to believe and these complexities all tie into the path that leads to her death.

    The more I read, the faster I wanted to get to the resolution, while, at the same time, not wanting it to end. The writing is gripping, and as the mystery slowly unraveled, the depth of the players are revealed as well. Yes, you might be able to figure it out before the big reveal, but it was the character development and the emotions that came bursting through the pages that was the most fascinating part of this novel. I could almost close my eyes and see high school again.

    Once the story was over and the book was closed I still carried the characters around in my head. It shook me a bit, how easily life can be taken away, how delicate a world we live in and how much the things we think matter don't matter at all when we die. Sobering, Between is a must-read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 41 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 3