Customer Reviews for

Between

Average Rating 3.5
( 10 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(3)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted July 31, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Juli Williamson for Readers' Favorite Between is a

    Reviewed by Juli Williamson for Readers' Favorite

    Between is a dragon-infested, dreamworld fantasy. The heroine Vivian is an unwitting dreamer. She dreams things and then they happen; she dreams about people and then they appear. Coincidence or not, Vivian fears she may be going insane, like her mother. 'Like mother like daughter' is her greatest nightmare ... or so she thinks. Finding out that doorways lead to places that don’t exist in any known world, and that dragons do exist, pushes Vivian  to find a strength of body and mind that she did not know she possessed. This is fantasy with a twist of reality in an unknown world. In Between, Vivian finds out that 'like mother like daughter' might not be all bad, and that sometimes what seems like insanity is, in reality, sanity elsewhere.  

    Author Kerry Schafer creates a seamlessly blend of fantasy and reality in this novel, drawing the reader into Vivian’s chaotic world. I enjoyed the dream world full of dragons, knights, and an evil witch, with a twist. Schafer creates a world full of alternate “dream-ensions” that all collide with one person, making daily stresses seem inconsequential. Men, work, and family are all included in the life of a woman learning her way in the world or worlds, as it may be. Written with compassion, wit, and an understanding of daily stress, Kerry Schafer gives us a heroine with integrity and honor. It might happen by accident but Vivian is a brave new hero, that waits on no man to save her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2013

    My rating may be a bit over the top, but when I read a book at a

    My rating may be a bit over the top, but when I read a book at almost one sitting and look forward to the author's next installment, then the book has accomplished its purpose.  So rather than nitpick and be critical, something others have done quite well, I would simply submit that the author has a great imagination and can express it well in the form of a novel. Readers wanting to be entertained will be very much entertained. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2013

    Fascinating new world.  

    Fascinating new world.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    ~Reviewed by FRANCESCA & posted at Under the Covers Book Blo

    ~Reviewed by FRANCESCA & posted at Under the Covers Book Blog

    “The premise of this book is extremely interesting.” ~Under the Covers

    “Oh my! Look at the pretty cover!” Yes, I have the attention span of a kitten sometimes and it takes something like this beautiful cover to catch my eye. And although I think it’s beautiful and eye catching, I think it may be just a tad misleading. First because I thought this was a young adult book (that’s what the cover looks like) and it’s not. Then I’ve seen this book classified as urban fantasy, which technically is, and it really didn’t get there for me either. So I’m putting this on my Fantasy shelf because it read mostly like a fantasy story.

    The premise of this book is extremely interesting. There’s a dreamworld, a wakeworld and the Between. Vivian, our heroine, doesn’t know anything about it or that she has the ability to move between those worlds by having a sphere. And she might be a bit more than that. But all of this doesn’t come into her life until her grandfather dies, leaves her clues as to what she is and what she needs to protect and is chased by a bad guy….errrr girl.

    In what most people consider an urban fantasy series, I usually expect to find a strong heroine lead character. One of the things that disappointed me about this story was Vivian. She’s a doctor, so you think she should be smart. But she is the less kick butt heroine I’ve read in a while. She went through this book letting this happen to her (and there were some quite uncomfortable at that). I was hoping that by the middle of the book she would get the hang of things and start understanding what was happening and fighting back, but that really didn’t come until the end.

    I guess I shouldn’t ask so much of her. I was quite a bit confused myself by the world jumping we had in the book. The transitions between Dreamworld, Between and Wakeworld were a bit vague and I found it hard to keep up on which world we were in until a little while in. I hate having to re-read paragraphs to figure out what just happened.

    Two characters I really loved were Zee (the hero) and Poe (the penguin sidekick). Although I liked Wakeworld Zee the most, and we don’t get to see a lot of him, even his “other” self was a strong hero, willing to die to help Vivian out of the situations she found herself in. And Poe was just funny and cute. I can even give an honorable mention to Jehena, yes the bad girl of the story was pretty kick ass and I might’ve been rooting for her at times.

    Another thing I liked about the story was that there are dragons in this world, and they’re not necessarily the hot, good guys. They were mostly trying to eat Vivian. Great twist on a character we often read about in books as the opposite.

    That being said, although I think this series has a lot of untouched potential because all the key elements are there and the originality of the story was amazing, I was overall a bit disappointed. This being Kerry’s debut novel, I will probably continue to read the series to see how the author settles into her writing style and develops what could be an interesting series.

    *ARC provided by publisher

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2013

    Our Review, by LITERAL ADDICTION's Pack Alpha - Michelle L. Olso

    Our Review, by LITERAL ADDICTION's Pack Alpha - Michelle L. Olson:
    *ARC received from the Pub in exchange for an honest review

    THE BETWEEN is a brand new Urban Fantasy series unlike anything I've read before, & one I will be returning to as soon as I can...

    Between is the debut novel of this new series about dream shifter, Vivian, who was kept in the dark about her origins and her past and who has trouble reconciling things because she's a doctor and puts her stock in science and what she can see, not myth and magic. The problem is that she DOES see these things, and after awhile, she can't deny that something is going on and she needs to get to the bottom of it.

    The other world that Vivian is a part of and unwittingly thrown back into is a magical, mystical place full of dragons, knights, and yes, even an evil queen, and things don't always go as planned or end up 'happily ever after'. That was one thing that I really loved about the book - it was surprising, and wonderfully unique, and while a lot of debut books can be a bit overwhelming with setting up the characters, the world, the backstory, etc, Between seemed just right to me. :)

    The ending was great! It left me wanting the next installment, but didn't make me want to scream and throw things because I needed more immediately to feel like I got closure. There is a lot to be done to make things right, a lot of riddles still to be solved, additional character development to be had, etc, so I can't wait to see what book #2 has in store when I finally get my hands on it. Bottom line is that Kerry has a winner here and I couldn't put it down.

    Random side note: If you follow my site or me on Facebook, you know that I'm a HUGE Edgar Allan Poe fan (I even named my black cat Poe Rayvn). There is a penguin in this book that Vivian names Poe and he is the cutest thing ever! :)

    LITERAL ADDICTION gives Between 4 Skulls and definitely recommends it to Urban Fantasy readers looking for something new and fun.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1