Customer Reviews for

Between Friends

Average Rating 4
( 531 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(214)

4 Star

(138)

3 Star

(99)

2 Star

(45)

1 Star

(35)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Great Story

I loved this book, it kept me up till midnight on work nights reading as I couldnt put it down. I did read it on the nook and it was fine for me. This is one I recommend highly!

posted by apryl_w on July 12, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

two and half stars

Did not like the diary / journal type reading icould relate to the story of events however just not that interesting , boring for first parts of the book

posted by 15192508 on January 20, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 534 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 27
  • Posted July 12, 2010

    Great Story

    I loved this book, it kept me up till midnight on work nights reading as I couldnt put it down. I did read it on the nook and it was fine for me.
    This is one I recommend highly!

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent historical perspective

    The two women were born in 1948 in Pine Ridge, Washington. The location, the year, and their gender are about the only things these two women have in common. So how could Jillian Lawton and Lesley Adamski remain best friends and confidantes into the new millennium? <P>Jillian, the daughter of wealthy parents attended college while Lesley an unwanted child who forced her parents to marry repeated the same mistake as her own mother by having two children while still a teen. Yet from the Eisenhower through Desert Storm and the Clinton scandals they exchange first letters and later email as they describe what is happening to each of them during the various decades of the latter half of the twentieth century. <P>BETWEEN FRIENDS is an insightful look at five decades of America through the eyes of two friends living totally different lifestyles as the country goes about its changing business. The story line is an excellent look at the times starting with their childhood during the I like Ike decade to their teen years hindered by Nam and Watergate and finally to the naughty adult era of the eighties and nineties. Lesley and Jillian constantly communicate the ¿thrill of victory and the agony of defeat¿. These two wonderful female characters empower readers to see Debbie Macomber at her best as the dynamic author provides a powerful look at the American half century reminiscent of Billy Joel¿s tune, We Didn¿t Start the Fire, but with much more depth. <P>Harriet Klausner

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2003

    A touching and very personal story of true friendship

    This book is so wonderful that I read it in one day! The format of the letters and journal writings was interesting and new. The historical references made me feel more like part of the story. I remembered the same historical events and where I was in my life when they happened. Every woman should read this book. The relationship of the 2 best friends in the story will make you cherish your relationship with your own best friend.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2002

    excellent book

    Debbie Macomber does a wonderful job at making the reader close to the characters in this book. The book is an excellent look at two friends and the trials they face throughout their lives. Despite what they both experience and go through, they remain friends. A book most women can relate to and have experienced themselves.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2012

    highly recommended

    this book reminds you that friendship is not determined by financial or physical backgrounds; but by a connection of hearts that causes a lifetime of caring and concern for 'the other person'.

    LG

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2012

    What a wonderful summer read. It made me think of my best frien


    What a wonderful summer read. It made me think of my best friend, my family and the people who have had an impact in my life. As someone born in the late 50's, what a trip down memory lane. This book made me laugh, cry, and remember. I recommend this book to all baby boomers and their daughters. I think the format of letter writing, journal entries, and e-mails worked perfectly for this story. Didn't want the book to end because I felt like I would be saying goodbye to &quot;my&quot; friends Jillian and Lesley.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2012

    Good read.

    Two girls meet and become friends in first grade, each has different backgrounds and upbringing, but best friends for life. You read the letters and the journals that both have written to each other over the years. From notes in school to emails later in life, their lives are shared with you. It was a very good book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2012

    Friends forever

    This is by far my favorite book by Macomber! Normqlly I wouldn't think twicw about a book like this but the characters really stick with you and I can't wait for the sequel.
    This book is written in the format of letters and diary entries dating from 1948=2002, when two friends are born into two different worlds- one rich the other poor; and extends throughout the years with their hardships, families, marriages, and even the deaths that happened between two friends.
    If you want to read a book that is so real that the people will feel like you actually know them; then this is the ONE for you!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2012

    Debbie Macomber

    enjoy all her books and really like them on our Nookcolor.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2012

    two and half stars

    Did not like the diary / journal type reading icould relate to the story of events however just not that interesting , boring for first parts of the book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    Loved this book

    Best she has written

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Wonderful

    this is one of the best books by Debbie Macomber. The story is sweet and will pull at your heart's strings. I stayed up late to read it. Wonderful book!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2011

    Just Okay

    Nothing wrong with the story, but the method of writing the whole book as letters and journal entries got very boring. I like to see some interaction between characters...there was none.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2003

    Disagree with Rhonda

    The history in the book was an addition that made the book stand out from most other romantic novels. It brought back many good, and not so good, memories. LOVED IT!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2013

    David

    Of couse im done with rp forever sorry my fuqqing nook brokr im quitting

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2013

    Just ok...

    I wasnt a fan of the letter/journal format and I found many if the events in the characters' lives to be predictable. I also found some of the writing didn't fit the tone of a letter. That being said it was a quick, easy read...and on sale.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2013

    akatskee1@yahoo.com

    Add me...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2013

    Over Rated

    This by far was not one of Debbie's great books. Love her," Rose Harbor" books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2013

    To andy from holly

    Hey how are you cht youblater

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2013

    Average book This book was entirely letters written back and for

    Average book
    This book was entirely letters written back and forth to each character which took a bit to get used to. To me it was just an average book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 534 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 27