Customer Reviews for

Between Friends

Average Rating 4
( 531 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(214)

4 Star

(138)

3 Star

(99)

2 Star

(45)

1 Star

(35)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Great Story

I loved this book, it kept me up till midnight on work nights reading as I couldnt put it down. I did read it on the nook and it was fine for me. This is one I recommend highly!

posted by apryl_w on July 12, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Just Okay

Nothing wrong with the story, but the method of writing the whole book as letters and journal entries got very boring. I like to see some interaction between characters...there was none.

posted by asapAA on May 23, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2012

    two and half stars

    Did not like the diary / journal type reading icould relate to the story of events however just not that interesting , boring for first parts of the book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2013

    Just ok...

    I wasnt a fan of the letter/journal format and I found many if the events in the characters' lives to be predictable. I also found some of the writing didn't fit the tone of a letter. That being said it was a quick, easy read...and on sale.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2013

    Over Rated

    This by far was not one of Debbie's great books. Love her," Rose Harbor" books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2012

    Ok read.

    Sort of boring.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2012

    Difficult Read

    I've read a lot of Debbie Macomber's work, and usually like her stories. I had a difficult time getting used to the back and forth, and third-party types of narrative. I kept thinking, "Stop changing writing styles all the time. Pick one and stay with it!" In my opinion, that distracted from the storyline.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2012

    Anonymous

    Once in a while I'll read a Debbie McComber book, I think because the story lines are predictable. I feel as if I aleady know what kind of a story I'll be reading. Kinda homey. Kinda of if you read one you have read them all. Every once in a while I'll enjoy one of her books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2011

    different

    Debbie Macomber is one of my favorite authors. I love the way she develops characters. But this book is very different and I'm not sure I like it. At the risk of giving it away, it's written all with letters and journal entries of the characters. I don't feel like I know them or see the interaction between them as in her other books. Not one of my favorits.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2003

    very disappointed

    After reading Thursdays at Eight, this book was a big disappointment. I really liked the different writing format of diary entries and newspaper clippings instead of the usual book style. However, the continual inclusion of historical news events was annoying and trite. The mention of the events didn't add to the story, in fact, it seemed like the story was side-tracked just to include them. I couldn't wait to finish this book and end the history lesson.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3