Customer Reviews for

Between, Georgia

Average Rating 4
( 79 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(42)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Loved It!

I was lucky enough to pick this book up, the cover caught my eye. It is the first and only Joshilyn Jackson book that I have read. This story has a great story line, and good characters. The characters were described so well, you really feel as if you know them. I recom...
I was lucky enough to pick this book up, the cover caught my eye. It is the first and only Joshilyn Jackson book that I have read. This story has a great story line, and good characters. The characters were described so well, you really feel as if you know them. I recommended this book to all my reader friends and family. I loved it.

posted by Nessa-S on August 22, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good summer read.

Very enjoyable.

posted by 6242112 on July 18, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 79 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted August 22, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved It!

    I was lucky enough to pick this book up, the cover caught my eye. It is the first and only Joshilyn Jackson book that I have read. This story has a great story line, and good characters. The characters were described so well, you really feel as if you know them. I recommended this book to all my reader friends and family. I loved it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2011

    Good summer read.

    Very enjoyable.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2009

    A Great Escape!

    I found this little gem on the sale table, and have subsequently purchased several other copies to send to friends. Jackson is a skilled and sensitive writer, the plot, though wacky, totally captivated me and I couldn't escape it! I'm not a fan of books being made into movies, but this one should be. I've seldom read a book where every single character was so complete and visible to me. A absolutely loved it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Dysfunctional Family at its Best!

    A book about rivalries (which are quite popular in the South) and small deep south towns. Of course Joshilyn Jackson gives the audio book some great humor as she narrates, and includes likeable characters (Hatfields vs. McCoys), quirky, and fun banter between all parties. An array of independent women, outspoken, sassy, and families which stick together and protect their own. The book is about total family dysfunction; however, is a heartfelt story and of course as always, entertaining --loved Bernice!

    Jackson does a job explaining Usher’s Syndrome and the independence of people who are deaf-blind. The details of the interpreter’s life, and differences between city and county life. I would highly recommend her latest book “Someone Else’s Love Story”, “My Miraculous”, as well as “Backseat Saints”-currently reading “God’s In Alabama” and loving it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2013

    Heartwarming!

    I just finished reading for the second time. Looking forward to reading it again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    Great book

    I picked this book up at my daughters just for something to pass the time. I couldnt put it down. Really a good book. I loved the story and the crazy people in the story. Read it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2013

    Very bland

    After reading Gods in Alabama, I just knew I wanted to read more from this author, but I was very disappointed with this selection. Very blah! Even the action was disappointing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2013

    Great honest writing.

    Ms Jackson is a great author!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2012

    Gteat

    Loved this book. Love her writing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2012

    Heart warming

    The book had amazing love and different circumstaces

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2012

    Shakey

    Read this book. It's a powerful story that will stay with you for a long time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2011

    first book for my new Nook

    I read this book on a recommendation and I am so glad I did. I could barely put it down and had it read in 2 days. Just enough suspense to keep you reading and just enough romance to keep you wanted more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    What a great book!

    I was fortunate enough to pick this book up as an unabridged book on cd to listen to on a recent driving vacation, just something to pass the time while on the road. Sometimes, whims pay off in unexpected ways. the more we listened, the more engrossed we became with all of the characters in this book. Having lived in the south for most of my young life, I completely identified with Nonnie, Fisher, Bernese, the Fretts and the Crabtrees. Having the author reading her work puts you right in the middle of Georgia ( she's a Southerner, too). We hated to stop driving bacause then we had to turn the book off. One night we sat in the car to get to the end of one cd so we could begin fresh the next morning. This is an excellent addition to southern-themed fiction and is well worth a read ( or listen).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Quirky Southern drama at it's best!

    This is the first time I have read a book by Joshilyn Jackson. I love Southern Fiction and with all the great reviews on Backseat Saints, Joshilyn Jackson's newest book, I decided I needed to give her books a try. I am so glad I did! Right off the bat the first chapter had me cracking up. I could feel the chaos in the room as Hazel Crabtree, Nonny's birth mother, was giving birth on the Frett's floor. All of the characters in this book were quirky and flawed! The feud between the Fretts and the Crabtrees puts the Hatfields and McCoys to shame and Nonny is caught right in the middle of it. Nonny has been raised by Stacia Frett who laid claim to here as soon as she was born. Ona Crabtree finds out three years later that Nonny is actually her granddaughter and won't give up on being part of Nonny's life. Nonny does her best to keep the peace between the two families but like everything else in her life it all falls to pieces. At times I felt very frustrated for Nonny being pulled both ways by both families. I had this picture in my mind of her arms stretched out and each family pulling her arms to their side. If you like quirky, flawed characters this is a great book to read! I am now the newest Joshilyn Jackson fan and will be reading all her books! She did a fabulous job tackling difficult subjects with a bit of humor and Southern hospitality thrown in! I loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    POETIC 'DOWN HOME' DRAMA

    The CD version of the book captured the instant conflict and passionate cliffhanger romances of the pivotal character, Nonny Frett. In spite of the constant character conflicts throughout the story, all issues get resolved at the end. The conflict within Nonny Frett is painstakingly, descriptively, and poetically communicated to the audience. The endearing main characters are believeably typical of small town folk in the South.

    The author's ending post notes accurately disclaim fictional references to actual places and organizations during the storys' time period.

    Although Nonny is not disabled, I would recommend this story to adults with disabilities, however, NOT to children-due to languzge. It is replete with signing references, as one of the main characters is deaf and blind.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Beach Read

    Between is a light, loosely written novel about a truly dysfunctional family in just about every way. Initially, I thought I'd be drawn into the story with a group of women, pulling together in their very different ways, and thought a mom who had to "sign" everything to her daughter would also give it a warm twist. The book is a bit of mystery, a bit of romance, a very easy read. I just wasn't drawn to the characters and even though Ms. Jackson tied it all together in the end, I didn't close the book with the feeling that I would miss sitting down with the characters. It was more like a quick trip to somewhere different; nice for a bit but not going back here anytime soon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Nice, somewhat entertaining book, but not memorable

    I enjoyed this book, but it's nothing memorable. Just a pleasant escape book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2009

    Between, Georgia - Awesome Full Story

    This book has heat, heart and makes you hold your breath -- beautifully written, excellent imagery - you can 'see' as you're reading. LOVED IT and want more from this gifted writer! Thanks Josilyn -- I've immediately passed this along to a good friend. Loved learning as I read "X. Machina" and the 'real life' of those who live without sight or hearing. Beautiful!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2008

    Made me cry.......

    loved this for so many reasons. I read alot. THis moved me more than any recent fiction than I have read. Moved me greatly. Wow. Took me by surprise for so many reasons. If you love a good story, pick this one up. I want more of these characters!! Please!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2008

    Disappointed...

    I read Joshilyn Jackson's first novel, Gods in Alabama, and absolutely loved it. I immediately passed it on to a friend. I was eager to get Between, Georgia, but this novel was a huge disappointment for me. If you read Gods in Alabama and are expecting something similar here, this is not it. It is a very slow read, and it really doesn't even get interesting until Chapter 13. With barely over a 100 pages to go at that point, it's too little too late. The book isn't terrible, it just certainly isn't one I would recommend. Jackson is great at characterization, but there is little to the plot of this story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 79 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4