Customer Reviews for

Between Heaven and Mirth: Why Joy, Humor, and Laughter Are at the Heart of the Spiritual Life

Average Rating 4.5
( 14 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 16, 2011

    The Perfect Gift for Lots of Joy

    Looking for the perfect gift for your priest, minister, spiritual director or cranky relative? This informative and hilarious book will delight them. Get a copy for yourself, too. If you're like me, you're not sure sometimes what humor is appropriate, when you can laugh in church or even what's funny. Fr. Jim clears it up with serious reasons for good humor, and he clarifies what's good. Fascinating historical anecdotes speak of the humor of many holy people from various times and faiths. Plus, there are really good jokes and lots of joy, the kind that comes from God. Did you know that God has a sense of humor? Get the punch line in "Between Heaven and Mirth." You really need to know this before the Apocalypse.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2012

    Why so serious?

    This book is something I needed. I sometimes feel weighted down by the serious of life, and I see humor as something necessary that is often set aside and considered frivolous. I love the references and interpretations in this book and many times I felt moved to read parts to my family because they were just so funny. I'm torn between sharing it with my pastor or getting him his own copy. I'm so thankful to have stumbled across this book!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    REFRESHING!!!

    Although this is written by a Jesuit priest, in addition to Catholicism, he looks into other Christian religions, Judaism, and even some Eastern religions, pointing out the attraction and need of some joy and levity in our religions. His premise, with which I found refreshing to hear stated is that if we believe we are made in God's image, that He is with us always, that Christ died for us, then why aren't we filled with joy--particularly in our ritural services. I would suggest that every pastor, seminarian and anyone working in church ministries in any denomination, read this book and take it to heart. He pointed out many saints and other past religious leaders who were filled with joy, laughter and mirth. I am glad to have read it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2012

    highly recommend

    this book will make you laugh out loud, no matter where you are. it is humorous and pokes a bit of fun at how stern religious folks can be. i think you will enjoy it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2012

    Highly recommended

    This is a great book for all those who believe that religion should be a joyful experience

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2013

    Thank you!

    After 3 years of constant health struggles your book helped me to once again find my joy. Thank you!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2014

    Wittiness and Spiritual Insight

    First I must confess to being a James Martin fan. And this book combines his wittiness and spiritual insights. He begins by noting that some people talk about the vice of excessive levity. Or is it a vice? Next he distinguishes scared joy, happiness in God, from profane humor. Joy he says is a sign of God but many saints had a great sense of humor. This book is about humor and it relates humor to spiritual joy.
    Throughout the book are interesting examples of mirth such as the "Easter laugh." Many years ago in Germany priests would tell jokes in church. The idea was to laugh at Satan who was unhappy anyway after Jesus rose from the dead. There are stories from the Old Testament with elements of humor. One is Jonah being swallowed by a whale. The author retells the story pointing out what I now see as humorous aspects of it.
    Father Martin says humor may not be valued as much as it should because of the way Jesus is portrayed in the Bible. He is shown to be clever and articulate but not humorous. Perhaps what was funny then is not seen to be so now. For example the parable of a mustard seed growing into a big tree may have been humorous to the simple people to whom Jesus spoke. To us now not so funny. In the book are various other such example of time bound humor.
    Humorous stories about the well known saints such as Saint Teresa, Saint Ignatius Loyola and Saint Francis of Assisi as well as other saints witticisms are described. Of particular interest is the humor in the story of Saint Francis preaching to the birds. We tend to focus on the seriousness of the story but Father Martin points out the wit and wisdom in it. And it is not just about saints, Popes are featured as well. When asked how many people work in the Vatican, Pope and now Saint John XXII said, about half!
    Father Martin points out that over seriousness is not just a Catholic problem. In spite of the well know wit of Martin Luther, Protestant church are serious too. But joking and humor do have a history in churches. Quite a few stories about various priests and saints in various places throughout the world are told in this book.
    In the end Father Martin says excessive levity is not to be feared. He shows us how humor from Biblical to current times has been part of religion and so should be embraced. He concludes, "So to be joyful. Use your sense of humor."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2014

    wonderful!

    Great read for anyone who needs to be reminded that faith is about joy, not suffering.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1