Customer Reviews for

Between Heaven and Texas

Average Rating 4.5
( 16 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Love, Longing and Loyalty Shine in Ms. Bostwick¿s Best Work to



Love, Longing and Loyalty Shine in Ms. Bostwick’s Best Work to Date..”

If you have enjoyed Marie Bostwick’s Cobbled Court series, you’re going to fall in love with “Too Much”, Texas and be thrilled that our beloved Mary Dell Templeton is back. We learn how her famous...


Love, Longing and Loyalty Shine in Ms. Bostwick’s Best Work to Date..”

If you have enjoyed Marie Bostwick’s Cobbled Court series, you’re going to fall in love with “Too Much”, Texas and be thrilled that our beloved Mary Dell Templeton is back. We learn how her famous ancestors, George and Flagadine Tudmore settled the prime acreage now known as the F-Bar-T Ranch, long before Texas gained statehood. The Tudmore women are a sturdy, strong, savvy and sassy lot, and Mary Dell and her twin sister, Lydia Dale are no exception. They all have two things in common, (with the exception of Maiden Aunt Velvet), the love of their land and the “Fatal Flaw”. Even though they had been warned, the Tudmore women’s lust and longing overrode their hearts and heads, with some making poor decisions in the matrimonial department. Everyone has hopes and dreams. Mary Dell did too. From an early age, her talents in sewing were remarkable and she envisioned owning her own shoppe and selling “Her brand of fashions”. Her designs are definitely one of a kind and, sometimes, something only she would have gumption enough to wear. Little did she know that her stitchery plans would take a turn and she’d end up at the altar, marrying handsome and kind Donny Bebee and thoughts of a home and family out shadow her thoughts of shoppe and career, especially when a beautiful blue-eyed baby boy named Howard enters their lives.
Meanwhile, her willowy, beauty queen, twin sister, Lydia Dale meets the cowboy of her dreams as well—only to be heartbroken and she succumbs to the fatal flaw, and marries someone no where near her equal.
With folks not really head-over-heels crazy for her fashion designs, Mary Dell turns to quilting and finds her niche in life and in love.
You’ll chuckle at some of the family antics. You’ll cry and feel Mary Dell’s heartbreak then her stubbornness and determination, You’ll want to hug Mary Dell as you identify with her dilemmas, as well as wanting to smack her Mother, Taffy upside her head then cheer as she gets the best of the Benton Clan Matriarch. Will Mary Dell achieve her long-awaited dream? Will Lydia Dale rid herself and her children of her lazy, “not worth his weight in spit” husband, Jack Benny? But, through it all, one thing stands firm, when the twins combine their talents, there’s nothing or no one they cannot handle. Ms. Bostwick has pulled me into Too Much with her vivid descriptiveness and I now feel like part of the Tudmore family. I certainly hope we’ll be reading more about Mary Dell and her adventures in the not to distant future. “One taste” was definitely not enough! Be sure to re-arrange your bookshelf and make room for this fantastic tale. You won’t be disappointed!
Nancy Narma


posted by 52chickadees on April 30, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Highly Recommend- you must check k it out

I love Marie! All her stories come from the heart. I love the way she weaves in stories of real every day problems for people with disabilities and how they overcome.

posted by Ms-BAZ on May 21, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted April 30, 2013

    Love, Longing and Loyalty Shine in Ms. Bostwick¿s Best Work to



    Love, Longing and Loyalty Shine in Ms. Bostwick’s Best Work to Date..”

    If you have enjoyed Marie Bostwick’s Cobbled Court series, you’re going to fall in love with “Too Much”, Texas and be thrilled that our beloved Mary Dell Templeton is back. We learn how her famous ancestors, George and Flagadine Tudmore settled the prime acreage now known as the F-Bar-T Ranch, long before Texas gained statehood. The Tudmore women are a sturdy, strong, savvy and sassy lot, and Mary Dell and her twin sister, Lydia Dale are no exception. They all have two things in common, (with the exception of Maiden Aunt Velvet), the love of their land and the “Fatal Flaw”. Even though they had been warned, the Tudmore women’s lust and longing overrode their hearts and heads, with some making poor decisions in the matrimonial department. Everyone has hopes and dreams. Mary Dell did too. From an early age, her talents in sewing were remarkable and she envisioned owning her own shoppe and selling “Her brand of fashions”. Her designs are definitely one of a kind and, sometimes, something only she would have gumption enough to wear. Little did she know that her stitchery plans would take a turn and she’d end up at the altar, marrying handsome and kind Donny Bebee and thoughts of a home and family out shadow her thoughts of shoppe and career, especially when a beautiful blue-eyed baby boy named Howard enters their lives.
    Meanwhile, her willowy, beauty queen, twin sister, Lydia Dale meets the cowboy of her dreams as well—only to be heartbroken and she succumbs to the fatal flaw, and marries someone no where near her equal.
    With folks not really head-over-heels crazy for her fashion designs, Mary Dell turns to quilting and finds her niche in life and in love.
    You’ll chuckle at some of the family antics. You’ll cry and feel Mary Dell’s heartbreak then her stubbornness and determination, You’ll want to hug Mary Dell as you identify with her dilemmas, as well as wanting to smack her Mother, Taffy upside her head then cheer as she gets the best of the Benton Clan Matriarch. Will Mary Dell achieve her long-awaited dream? Will Lydia Dale rid herself and her children of her lazy, “not worth his weight in spit” husband, Jack Benny? But, through it all, one thing stands firm, when the twins combine their talents, there’s nothing or no one they cannot handle. Ms. Bostwick has pulled me into Too Much with her vivid descriptiveness and I now feel like part of the Tudmore family. I certainly hope we’ll be reading more about Mary Dell and her adventures in the not to distant future. “One taste” was definitely not enough! Be sure to re-arrange your bookshelf and make room for this fantastic tale. You won’t be disappointed!
    Nancy Narma


    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2013

    A wonderful heart-warming story.

    Marie Bostwick has become one of my favorite authors. I can't wait for whatever she writes next.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2013

    This Book Will Touch Your Heart! This isn't the first book that

    This Book Will Touch Your Heart!

    This isn't the first book that I have read by Marie Bostwick and it certainly
     won't be the last. I loved this book. It is full of real life situations.

    I thoroughly enjoyed the Templeton family. Mary Dell and Lydia Dale had
    the strength and bond that is characteristic of not only sisters but twin sisters.
    The bond between the two made for a delightful read. Their Momma Taffy
    was quite a piece of work herself!

    This book proved that blood is thicker than water. Toward the very end of this
     book we find that Momma Taffy will do what she has to do to protect her own.

    I found myself with many laugh out loud moments. However, there are some very
     serious issues that take place, along with some heartbreaks. The courage that
     Mary Dell and Lydia Dale had while facing their trials in life, had me rooting for
    them until the very end.

    Sometimes we don't get the desires of our heart but then again sometimes we get
    more than what we desire.

    I hope that after reading my review, you will pick up a copy of this book. I know you will like it!

    Thank you kensington Publishing for sending me an ARC to read and review. I enjoyed it alot! 
    The opinions expressed in this review are mine alone.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2013

    Highly Recommend

    I have read the whole series and have loved everyone of them. This book was great - no tissues needed - thank goodness!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2013

    Marie's best book yet!

    These characters are so real you'd like to invite them (well, some of them) to dinner! Marie Bostwick draws the reader in and delivers a wonderful story while developing complex relationships. Altogether a sensitive look at the challenges facing the differently abled and their families.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2013

    Great Book - A Must Read!

    I loved the book and reading about Mary Dell. I can't wait for the next book to come out, which I hope comes out soon. I've really enjoyed all the books in Marie's Cobble Court Quilt series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2015

    Great Read

    What a great read. I fell in love with the characters. This is the second book I have read by this author. I can't wait to read more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2014

    After being in relationship with a guy for seven years,he broke

    After being in relationship with a guy for seven years,he broke up with me, I did everything possible to bring him back but all was in vain, I wanted him back so much because of the love I have for him, I begged him with everything, I made promises but he refused. I explained my problem to someone online and she suggested that I should contact a spell caster that could help me cast a spell to bring him back but I am the type that don't believed in spell, I had no choice than to try it, I meant a spell caster called Dr, Aduwawa and I email him, and he told me there was no problem that everything will be okay before three days, that my ex will return to me before three days, he cast the spell and surprisingly in the second day, it was around 4pm. My ex called me, I was so surprised, I answered the call and all he said was that he was so sorry for everything that happened, that he wanted me to return to him, that he loves me so much. I was so happy and went to him, that was how we started living together happily again. Since then, I have made promise that anybody I know that have a relationship problem, I would be of help to such person by referring him or her to the only real and powerful spell caster who helped me with my own problem and who is different from all the fake ones out there. Anybody could need the help of the spell caster, his email: (aduwawaspiritualtemple@yahoo. com)you can email him or call him on ( +2348112019701) if you need his assistance in your relationship or anything. CAN NEVER STOP TALKING ABOUT YOU SIR

    0 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1