Customer Reviews for

Between Here and Forever

Average Rating 4
( 45 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted April 16, 2011

    Kritters Ramblings

    An emotional read that kept me turning pages or clicking the next button on my nook until the very end. A tale of two sisters that hit close to home with one sister a perfectionist and the apple of her parents eyes and another sister who feels like she just lurks in the shadow and will never live up to the spot her sister has left vacant.

    I felt like I was on an emotional rollercoaster with one moment hoping that the sister woke up from her coma and at the other moment just wanting her family to choose to end the suffering. I still don't know where I sit, but without ruining the story, I can honestly say that I am not sure whether I liked the path the author chose.

    I don't always dive dip in my reviews about the normal book review topics - but just this once I have to talk about the character development of Abby, the younger sister. It was such a joy to see her develop from the sister in the shadow to her own full person, with her own thoughts and opinions. I felt as though I was taken through a complete journey of her discovering how she fit in the world. I loved it.

    As far as who I would pass this book onto - I think my age group would enjoy the read, but it would definitely be a great book for our high school and college readers who may find themselves in Abby's shoes trying to find where their place is amongst their family and friends.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2012

    Cute

    This was a really sweet book! Is shows how you never know if you truely know someone or not. I would recommend it to any one :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2012

    Sisterly bonds and secrets galore!!

    After her sister is in a car accident, the main character spends every moment that she can in the hospital with her "brain-dead" sister. Her sisters past, promiscuous and boy crazy at first implies that she was wild and crazy. So the main character sets out to find her sister the perfect boyfriend, with hopes that it will bring her out of her coma. But secrets fly when the boy she has chosen for her sister falls for her and secrets about her sisters life are revealed.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Abbey has a plan. Caring and ambitious sister that she is, Abbey

    Abbey has a plan. Caring and ambitious sister that she is, Abbey wants to win the beautiful boy she's seen in the hospital to help her wake up her sister Tess out of a coma - and that's what the story is mostly about. That boy is Eli. He is the perfect candidate to make every girl's dreams come true. He is charming and selfless.
    Now Abbey wants him to flirt with Tess and bring her back. But of course her plan doesn't work out as it should. And Eli is falling for her instead of Tess just as Abbey can't deny her feelings for Eli.
    All the time we've got an unwanted- quite bothersome-kind of love triangle between the three of them. Tess' ghost always floating above their heads and Abbey refusing to acknowledge her true feelings.
    Tess is a difficult character and although she isn’t really present, she’s still there all the time, influencing Abbey’s moves. What we learn about Tess in the course of BETWEEN HERE AND FOREVER is a complicated story, a mixture of lies, secrets, sadness and wrong intentions.
    And then Eli's got issues himself that make him insecure about his every move. So with their individual problems combined, his and Abbey's relationship isn't as easy as it should be. They are two very interesting characters and I really liked to see them growing closer with each heart-warming talk.

    THE VERDICT

    BETWEEN HERE AND FOREVER- A slightly romantic and thoughtful read about finding love and learning lessons in the most unexpected place and time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Considering that the novel I read before this was The Fault In O

    Considering that the novel I read before this was The Fault In Our Stars, I enjoyed Between Here and Forever much more than I expected to.

    It's not that I didn't expect to like it; I do enjoy Elizabeth Scott's writing (her darker works more than her contemporary fluff), but I didn't know which way this novel would swing, and normally I have little tolerance for characters who don't think that they're as awesome as they are.

    Normally because I want to shake them until they realize that they're fabulous, just like I do with some of my friends who have the same problem, but that's not the point.

    However, Between Here and Forever ended up being a happy medium of Scott's works. It deals with serious issues, but balances it out with just the right amount of teenage relationship angst/fluff. The plot itself isn't that difficult to figure out - I knew who would end up with who and the big plot twist involving Tessa by the end of the third chapter - but it's worth hanging in there just to see Abby's character develop.

    I adored Eli, though I wish he wasn't OMIGODthemostgorgeousmantowalktheplanet. (Though considering he wasn't the stereotypical white boy, I can see why he would come across as the most gorgeous man to walk the planet, especially in a town like that.) His character development was absolutely fabulous as well.

    The best character, by far, was Clement. But I'll let you read the book and enjoy him (and his hilarious comments) yourself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2012

    Disappointed

    Being that this is an Elizabeth Scott book, I was excited to begin this read. Her books are always intriguing and have a lesson. But, I figured out the plot after three chapters, and I found myself skimming half the book just to get to the end. The elements of the book should have written themselves. With the diverse characters, questioning sexuality, and sibling relationship issues, the book should have been a winner. However, there were massive amounts of repetition, and I could not get myself to like the main character. Every other line she was complaining about her older sister's perfection. Towards the last 20 pages the book was actually interesting, then the ending. Overall, extremely disappointing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2012

    Amazing.

    I really liked this book. I loved every book i've read by Elizabeth Scott. The love, reationship, and friendship of Eli and Abby was really realistic and all throughout the book I keep thinking "Just kiss her already!!!!"
    In the book when Abby kept saying she wished people really looked at her and got to know the really her, I coul EASILY relate to her.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I thought this book would be amazing, but it fell a little short

    I thought this book would be amazing, but it fell a little short. Tess' secret life was very surprising, but it was Abby who I got irritated at. I understand how she felt, but the book's ending wasn't very good and neither was the rest.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2012

    Changed my outlook on life completely

    This book is the first ive read by elizabeth scott and its stunning. Read it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2012

    My Opinion....

    In my opinion this book is repetitive but one of my favorites. Its a good story and shows you that even though you are afraid you can still have what you want.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Between a Rock and a Hard Place

    This book, as I read the synopsis, sounded intriguing and sappy, just how I love my books. So naturally, I bought it. As I dove into this book, I was quite disappointed. I figured out the whole plot in the first 5 to 7 chapters. Nothing in the book left me surprised, I was just waiting for the main character, Abby, to figure it out. She was so horribly dense, I could not stand her at all. She would do something so dumb and then not understand why the repercussions were what they were. I gave this book two stars for its interesting storyline but terrible set up.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2011

    Okay..

    I was actually kind of disappointed after reading this book. Didn't really think it met my expectations because to me, it wasn't as good as Perfect You, Bloom, and Something Maybe..but still, it's a decent book. I guessed the whole 'secret' about Tess really early on though, so it wasn't really mind-blowing when Abby finally figured it out. So yeah.. give this book a try (especially if you want to find out what happens to the characters in Bloom); just don't have high expectations.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2011

    Mixed Bag

    I'm really of two minds about this book. On the one hand there were some really fabulous elements to it. I think the story line was very interesting. It follows Abby, a girl who has always been in her older sister Tess's shadow. Following a car accident, Tess in now in coma, and Abby feels secondary to Tess even more. Through the course of the book, Abby learns all about who her sister really was. This makes it easier to accept herself.

    There were a lot of secrets in this book. The "big" one was pretty easy to guess from the beginning. I also appreciate that there was some diversity in the characters as well. The big problem I had was that I didn't like the main character. It seemed like every other sentence was Abby complaining about how she could never be perfect like her older sister. This didn't change until the very end, when there was sudden growth in character. Everything was then resolved in a flash. Until that point however, I just wanted Abby to STOP COMPLAINING. Her problems didn't really seem that big compared to some other characters, all of which were much easier to be sympathetic too. Probably because they didn't constantly obsess about their issues.

    This will be a nice, fast summer read, if you can get past the main character. If you like tons of angst with a little romance on the side, you'll probably enjoy this book much more than I did. I guess I was a little disappointed because it seemed like it could be a great book. Some of the phrasing was fantastic. I could never get past my dislike of Abby though. In the end it was good, just not great.

    Galley provided by publisher for review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Good book!

    What I like most about this book was the plot. I like that when I read a book, that I can connect with the characters and really get in their shoes. I love to feel their feelings and see their thoughts. Ms. Scott delivered such a great book that did just that. Not only was breathless reading this book, the plot was amazing.

    Abby is you type of girl who lives in the shadow of her pretty, older, sisters. I just hate how insecure she it about herself. She see herself as nothing. A nobody. Someone who would never get a second glance at. While I was annoyed with Abby that she carried this trait so harshly, I see how the plot and her sister Tess will change of all that.

    The plot was amazing. Everyone has secrets and no one is perfect. NO ONE! So imagined Abby who has seen her sister Tess as the golden one. The one who gets every boy, who has perfect hair and skin, who gets good grades. Abby learns more about her sister while she is in a coma than while she is alive. And learning this secrets helps Abby realize that no one is perfect.

    The love interest in this book I thought was good. I felt for Eli and how he tried to communicate with Abby. Abby was just so into bring herself down that she never saw him. I'm glad that Eli was a good guy that saw Abby, re ally saw her. I was happy that Abby was once and for all, able to see herself.

    Between Here and Forever, is a sweet, enduring book. I love the idea self-discovering of one's self, by learning someone's else's mistake. Sometimes it just takes more for us to see our self in the real light then the one we've been casting our self.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3