Customer Reviews for

Between Sisters

Average Rating 4
( 280 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(135)

4 Star

(75)

3 Star

(45)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

19 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

Realistic, Heartwarming and Believable!

This book will tease your emotions from one end to the other. Be prepared for tears. Sisters? Meghan, a wealthy successful divorce lawyer, sophisticated and wordly city girl but happy? I think not. Claire, to the other extreme, down to earth, dropped out of college, sim...
This book will tease your emotions from one end to the other. Be prepared for tears. Sisters? Meghan, a wealthy successful divorce lawyer, sophisticated and wordly city girl but happy? I think not. Claire, to the other extreme, down to earth, dropped out of college, simple, uncomplicated, country girl. Happy? These characters will grab your heart with both hands. This book is touching, intriguing, moving and will challenge your thoughts. Well worth reading!! Some others I rank up there in the number ONE spot are THE HELP, EXPLOSION IN PARIS and Firefly Lane...

posted by 1DANA3 on February 4, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Dragged on

This was a good book but it just dragged on........I kept waiting for the answer to the connection of the characters but it took over half the book. Its a good read but not a relaxing one at all. Good story though.

posted by DottiePatches on August 3, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 135 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted February 4, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Realistic, Heartwarming and Believable!

    This book will tease your emotions from one end to the other. Be prepared for tears. Sisters? Meghan, a wealthy successful divorce lawyer, sophisticated and wordly city girl but happy? I think not. Claire, to the other extreme, down to earth, dropped out of college, simple, uncomplicated, country girl. Happy? These characters will grab your heart with both hands. This book is touching, intriguing, moving and will challenge your thoughts. Well worth reading!! Some others I rank up there in the number ONE spot are THE HELP, EXPLOSION IN PARIS and Firefly Lane...

    19 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2009

    Better than Firefly Lane

    The first book I read of Kristin Hannah's was Firefly Lane and I loved it. So when I saw she was the author I grabbed it. This story is touching and heart-warming. It's funny how one sister can be so different from another until they realize they can't live without eachother. I would definatly reccommend this book to anyone who likes to cry!!

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    A fantastic and deep character study

    Though she is wealthy, divorce lawyer Meghan Dontess is lonely. She has been forlorn ever since she made a decision twenty-five years ago that benefited her beloved younger stepsister but left her alone. Their mother left the two siblings behind in Sacramento while she went off to Hollywood. Sixteen at the time, Meghan worried about her younger sibling Claire so she called the father of her stepsister. He came immediately as Claire was family, but Meghan felt he left her out as her father was someone else. The relationship between the sisters was never the same.................................. When an estranged husband of a client almost kills Meghan, her colleagues and her psychiatrist tell her to go on vacation. Meghan has no place to go until Claire calls to tell her that she is marrying singer Bobby Austin. Meghan leaves Seattle for the campgrounds owned by Claire and her father in Hayden, Washington to protect her stepsister. As she realizes that Bobby loves Claire, Meghan falls in love with former doctor Joe Wyatt, who has more ghosts to contend with than Meghan......................... Though the angst at times feels overwhelming, fans of relationship dramas will take immense pleasure with Kristine Hannah¿s strong cast. Meghan, as the center of the tale, enables the audience to see deep inside her soul. The rest of the ensemble augments that perspective so that the audience observes a powerful tale of childhood demons that motivates adult behavior. BETWEEN SISTERS is more than just the relationship between the siblings, as the audience will appreciate this deep character study................................ Harriet Klausner

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2008

    Loved It!

    I loved everything about this book & author. I knew this was going to be a great book! You really start to feel for the characters and you start to understand where there point of view comes from. Wonderful Read!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2004

    Extremely moving!

    This was simply the best book I've read in a very long time. I was so moved by both sisters' stories and the growth of their relationship. I very seldom shed tears when reading a book, but this one did it for me. Kudos, Miss Hannah, for giving me an un-putdownable read!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    This is book that is hard to put down. I would recommend it to family friends and even strangers in the book store :)

    This is an excellent read. I had a hard time putting it down. Kristin does a great job of introducing each of the individual characters and then bringing them all together in a unique way. She creates characters that you can relate to. The story has unique twists and turns... that allow you to imagine what is going to happen. There is one point at the end where i was disapointed... but that does not take away from an overall great book.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2005

    a must read!!!

    There are so few books out there that I would take time out to write a review for. Between Sister is one of those books I strongly recommend. It's a touching story about the strength of sisterhood bond. This book has me thinking about my two little girls and how fortunate they are to have each other. Please read and enjoy...

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2004

    Un-put-downable!

    This was my first book by Kristin Hannah, but it certainly will not be my last. Very touching & i loved the character of Meg. All the characters have a nice rounded personality, no one is good or bad, which i really liked. Would recommend this book to anyone who likes fiction. Thank you Ms Hannah for this wonderfull book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2004

    Another Great Kristin Hannah book !!

    I totally enjoyed this book, Kristin makes you want to stay and be her characters friend : ) I zipped through this book so fast...it was that good .

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2004

    Wonderful!!

    This is the 1st book I've read by Kristin Hannah but will not be the last! I loved this book. Going to shop for more of hers today!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2003

    Awesome

    I love to read and I couldn't put this book down, I had to near the end because I had to get more kleenex :( A must read for all!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2011

    Must read

    This book is absolutely amazing! I love this book and every other book that Kristin Hannah has written are amazing. Definitely a must read. LOVE IT :)

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2003

    have not read it yet but it sounds like another hit book

    kristin hannah is a wonderful writter i just finished the book summer island and i loved it so much that i got online to find anymore books that i could read from this new author i found and then i found some other books that i never knew existed.so then i found a new released book and had to have it ,but i guess i have to wait until april i can hardly wait, you are a remakable writter and keep up the good work

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2014

    Between Sisters

    Excellant read i would read another one of her books for sure

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2014

    Enjoyed this book.

    I really enjoyed this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2014

    A sister's love

    Touching book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2013

    Very Moving

    This book was excellent. The characters were well feveloped and it kept me very interested until the last page. Very moving story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2013

    loved it !!!

    well written,honest relatable a very good read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2013

    I thought this book was outstanding! Read it twice!! ¿

    I thought this book was outstanding! Read it twice!! ♥

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2013

    Up to her usual high standards

    Kristin Hannah's works are always great reads and I usually have to finish her books in one sitting--even if it means staying up for hours after my usual bedtime!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 135 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7