Customer Reviews for

Between Two Worlds: Escape from Tyranny: Growing Up in the Shadow of Saddam

Average Rating 4.5
( 18 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 19 of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2013

    Shails: Bound: Chapter Two

    Tails awoke to find himself strapped to a bed, ptting him in a most awkward situation. He blushed brightly, and struggled still. <br> "Ah, youre awake." His captor revealed himself. <br> "Shadow?!" The kitsune struggled that much more. <br> Shadow merely sat down in a chair beside the bed. "Where is he?" <br> "Who-" <br> "Sonic of course!!" The emo growled. <br> "Why?" Tails turned away from Shadow. <br> "Because he stole something from me and I need it back of course." Shadow stood back up. <br> The kitsunes stomach growled suddenly. <br> "Yes...you must be hungry." Shadow turned around, red eyes ablaze. "I guess I should feed you..." He then left. <br> .:-Later-:. <br> The hedgehog came back with a PB&J. "Is this suitable for your kind?" He sat down in the chair again. <br> "y-yes..." Tails stuttered. <br> Shadow placed it on Tails's stomach. "Go on then. Eat it." <br> "I cant with these handcuffs..." The kitsune gestured by shaking his arms. <br> Shadow grumbled and unlocked the handcuffs. "Now eat." <br> Tails nodded, and began to eat, not wishing to upset the hedgehog anymore than he had already. <br> "Now...wheres Sonic?" Shadow prompted. <br> Tails sighed and took a bite of his sandwich. "He went off to stop Eggman." He chewed and swallowed. <br> "And he didnt take you with him?" <br> Tails suddenly lost his appetite. "N-no..." <br> "Why?" Shadow noticed how Tails was no longer eating the sandwich. "Surely youre a big help-" <br> "I dont want to talk about it!" Tails hissed and threw the sndwich at Shadow. <br> "..." Shadw caught the sandwich and placed it on the nightstand. "Alright then." He locked Tails's hands back up. "Goodnight now." <br> Tails looked out the window, it was was already past sunset? How long had he slept? "Wait-" He protested, but Shadow was gone now. <br> The poor kitsune began to cry, feeling more lost and lonely than ever before. <br> TO BE CONTINUED...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2013

    Very inspirational and eye-opening.  Zainab is an example of how

    Very inspirational and eye-opening.  Zainab is an example of how one woman can make a huge difference in this world.  I could feel the shadow of Saddam hanging over me as I read her memories.  I am very grateful she shared her story with such honesty.  I also recommend reading Half the Sky by Nicholas D. Kristof and Sheryl WuDunn.  I will never view the world the same again.  I first read about Salbi in Half the Sky and that prompted me to search for her memoir.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2012

    Good book

    It is a good book about the inner strength of womem

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    A good look at a life of turmoil described by a courageous woman.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2011

    Highly recommend

    This shows how strength and love can sustain a family in any situation. Our own leaders and policy makers should read this book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2011

    amazingly emotional and insightful

    ive read this book about a dozen times and each time i read it i amazed all over again! great read i recomend this book to any avid reader i meet

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2011

    Love love love this book!

    A great book that truly explains what iraqis went through under husseins regime........ i would recommend this to anyone!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2011

    One of my all time favorites

    I loved this book. The book is written incredibly well. It was very interesting to read about how Saddam Hussein treated those people that were closet to him and the fear that they lived. Great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2007

    A+++ GREAT HIGHLY recommend it

    I was profoundly touched by the story. It¿s a sincere, emotional, sensitive, and reality book. I touched the author pain and anger throughout the pages. The author describes the tyranny under the regime of Sadam. Zainab finally overcome the fear and speaks up for her right and rights of others for letting people know what Iraqi people went through. And that was very hard step to take. It¿s hard to be imprisoned for a long time and that what she, her family, and all Iraqi were. They always lived in fear for their lives and the life of their families and were not themselves. They always have to be careful what they say and what they do because there always eyes watch and ears who listen and can tell (spies or informers). Some were able to escape abroad, others could not. She and her family decided to stay and suffer and not suffer in some ways. During that time, violence created in many ways: Rape, assault, killing, imprisoning, classification (racism+ discrimination+ ethnic cleansing), transferring, etc. There were no boundaries for violence. Being a president of Iraq at that time or a high authority allowed people to act as they wish without laws. They are the ones who implement laws for themselves. Her mom asked her: ¿Not to be a bird in cage. Be independent and free, never let anyone abuse you.¿ Zainab mom staid in the cage for a long time, even before she died and was not able to tell Zainab enough about what happened to her. But Zainab was able to escape the fear and to do what her mom could not do. Her mom was so proud of her. I sensed the tremendous bond between a mother and daughter. It touches a person heart. It was hard to put it down. There are times you will laugh and times you will cry. I highly recommend this book A+++ Darling book lots of people can relate to it in many ways: love, hate, loss, gain, fear, escape, silence, voice¿ups, downs. Enjoy:)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2006

    Worth Every Minute

    This book chronicles the life of a priviledged girl living under Sadaam's rule of tyranny. She details how tense and uncertain life with Sadaam really was. Her life story is amazing and her accomplishments are a testament to her courage and perspective. The story is very well worth the read. Unfortunately the writing isn't as spectacular as the life behind it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2006

    Story of life in Iraq

    I am so glad that I read this book - I learned a lot. The author tells an amazing personal story while sharing about the country and culture of Iraq. She acknowledges that her experience was from a privileged perspective, but she humbly takes you into the reality of Iraqi life under Saddam Hussein for all people. The recounts of her personal meetings with him are chilling and her family's struggle to come to terms with the relationship is very human. Salbi is an extraordinary person who is not only a survivor but has excelled by the incredible things she has done for others through her organization and her personal relationships. Her strength in caring for others is a wonderful lesson in the human spirit. Thank you to her for sharing her story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2005

    Engrossing

    I could not put down this book. It records the author's life in Iraq in a family close to Saddam Hussein, her life after she was sent to America to escape him, and the formation of Women for Women International. The author is an extraordinary person, who, after suffering in her own life, decided to help women in countries where they have also been persecuted and set about organizing an effective charity. This book helps to illustrate the insidious evil of Saddam, charismatic as he was, and it reads like a good novel. It deserves to be a best-seller.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 19 of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1