BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Between You and Me: A Novel

Average Rating 3.5
( 25 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(3)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted June 5, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    When you real life is the circus where do you go for fun?

    Living your life in the spotlight to everyone on the outside always looks glamorous. To the person in the ring of fire it is anything but a nightmare waiting to happen. Kelsey feels old at the age of 27 since her life career began as a child. Her parents control her, the handlers manipulate her, and the true friends are non-existent.

    When Kelsey is reunited with Logan, a long estranged cousin the life that was barely hanging on by a thread snaps. Logan becomes her personal assistant trying to maintain Kelsey’s professional life and get her some personal space. Logan thinks the solutions to Kelsey’s problem are love, less work would help out, and letting Kelsey live her own life. Yet no one is going to let that happen, as the money train needs to keep moving to fulfill the dreams everyone is living through Kelsey.

    As the story unfolds and the dark secrets of the past are revealed the small tears become rips and there is no forgiving life altering mistakes.

    The journey that Emma McLaughlin and Nicola Kraus take you on is so realistically detailed you get the sense of standing in the room as a witness not a reader. You want to yell at all the people destroying this life in order to make their own better and at times, the tears are running down your cheeks as well as Kelsey’s.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2012

    Great Read About Pop Culture! The storyline immediately drew me

    Great Read About Pop Culture!

    The storyline immediately drew me in to the inside story of what happens behind the scenes of a child star. While Kelsey is not a child, she began as a child star was managed by her parents. As a celebrity magazine junkie, who also happens to follow Perez Hilton (who is mentioned in the book), I felt I was reading the life of Britney Spears, Jessica Simpson, Miley Cyrus, and other child stars who start out in the industry wanting to make a mark but are soon placed inside a fish bowl for the world to see them basically grow up in the public eye.
    In my opinion, it was a very realistic portrayal of how quickly a childhood dream can become an adult nightmare, and how important it is to have those who truly care for you to keep you grounded and be in your inner circle. It is a story that also sheds light into the way parents good intentions can quickly become consumed with material riches and how it is easy to lose sight of what is most important: the happiness and health of their child. While shedding lights on the negatives, both authors also bring to light the privileges and benefits to hard work and talent.

    It is a great read and one I would highly recommend to anyone that enjoys reading about pop culture, likes a good story without a fairy tale ending, and enjoys a great light read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2013

    Great and NICE BOOK

    Nice book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Between You and Me is a fast¿paced read with complex characters,

    Between You and Me is a fast–paced read with complex characters, a less than ideal family dynamic, heavy dialogue, and light sensibility. It showcases the good and evil of the media’s recognition of a celebrity’s success and pitfalls. .

    Some of the story was hard to follow and I found myself either turning back pages to figure out what was going on, or skimmed ahead hoping for clues. I couldn’t seem to get into the story, so I didn’t finish it.

    I wasn’t engrossed in this story. Perhaps it’s because it is written in present tense (I’m not a huge fan) or because I’m not interested in the media’s fascination with celebrities. If you’re one who follows famous public figures and enjoy following media’s hype of stardom, then you might like this book. It showcases the benefits and pitfalls of a famed life—much like what you see on TV.

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received a Review Copy free from the NetGalley book review program. I was not required to write a positive review. The options I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2013

    Between You and Me was a very moving and realistic tale about s


    Between You and Me was a very moving and realistic tale about second
    chances, forgiveness and letting go. The hint of a mystery hooked me from the
    beginning, and watching Kelsey and Logan relearn each other was an emotional
    ride. The twists and turns of the story kept me on my toes, and I often caught
    myself holding my breath because I wasn't sure what was going to show up on
    the next page.

    McLaughlin and Kraus wrote a riveting tale. From the opening scene to the
    epilogue of this story, I connected with Logan. Her story was quite palpable, and
    I felt tears running down my face numerous times. It was difficult watching her
    trying to navigate the waters of her friendship with an adult Kelsey. I wasn't sure
    what to think of Kelsey, at first. To be honest, I didn't like her at all in the
    beginning. But, as Logan's story began to evolve, I discovered that their lives
    were intrinsically linked by the secret that severed their ties. The reveal was 
    unexpected; it was a curve ball, though I am glad the incident was not what I
    was thinking it would be. I felt really bad for Kelsey by the end of the novel. 

    This books is rife with conflict, both external and internal. Logan was her
    worst antagonist, in the sense that she second guessed her very actions and
    thoughts, in my humble opinion. I understood her need to reconnect, but not at
    the risk of losing herself completely. I felt that, at times, she needed to be a lot
    stronger. However, the love she had for Kelsey was the foundation of her
    strength. I loved watching her change and grow throughout the novel, and it was
     because of her that I feel Kelsey might have learned a few things, which I think
    will aid her on the next go round with her family taking the lead. Logan was her
    saviour in a lot of ways, and I have to believe that she learned from her
    reappearance in her life. It was good to see that Kelsey's character grew a bit
    and changed throughout. It would be interesting to see what her story turns out
    to be after a few years.

    The only thing I was a bit confused about was Delia's "real" role in Kelsey and
    Logan's life. I feel there is something missing in the story to help clarify that. By
    the end, especially the scenes with the locket after Kelsey had to make a
    change, I want to delve more into her back story. Overall, the book was a great
    read, and I'm glad I requested it via Netgalley. I would have missed a gem.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2013

    I was given an Advanced Reader Copy (ARC, my first one!) and I f

    I was given an Advanced Reader Copy (ARC, my first one!) and I felt obligated to rush it in to my reading list.  (because I want MORE...more ARC's please!)

    The authors of this book are the same who wrote "The Nanny Diaries" which was very popular and even made into a movie.  I never read that book, I had no interest.  And I probably wouldn't have picked up this one either.  The description alone just didn't interest me...
    I usually like to get recommendations from other people for new books.
    BUT....this one was pretty good.  Especially because I'm into celebrity gossip (I know, I know! I'm trying to quit!) and because it's story really closely paralleled one of my favorite pop singers, Britney Spears. 

    I was fascinated. I couldn't stop reading. It was like a train wreck that I just couldn't bring myself to look away!  Btw, that train wreck comment refers to the character's story and life...not the writing.
    I wasn't particularly attached to any of the characters, I don't see this as a book that I will pick up again and again. But it's definitely worth it to borrow from a friend or the library...or buy a copy and pass along to your girlfriend and then gossip about how it parallels the celebrities we love to gossip about.

    The writing style was pretty good.  There were a few points where I felt the story line all of a sudden jumped and I couldn't tell if time had passed (or how much time) but that might have been because I had an advanced copy...I'm not sure.  It was my first one, so I really don't know how that all works.

    If you want a nice easy summer book, go for this one. There's a bit of romance mixed in, but nothing too naughty. Safe for teenagers and admitting to your mom that you read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2013

    In essence this more or less mirrors the story of Britney Spears

    In essence this more or less mirrors the story of Britney Spears with the exception of a few minor details of course. That isn't really an important factor, because it could be the story of any child star with a certain level of celebrity.
    The interesting aspects of this story were how we as a society believe that we own public figures. Singers, actors, stars or any type of public figure. Society believes they have a right to know every single detail about them at all times. The media provides the fodder for the feeding frenzy.
    I don't believe any person should be subjected to that kind of scrutiny. We do not own public figures even if they choose to live their life in the spotlight. They have a right to their privacy and to not have assumptions made about their characters or rumours produced about them to sell articles.
    In the fame game this is often the Achilles' heel. You need the media to make you a star and then the media becomes the weakness that can bring you down in one foul swoop.
    Anyway I digress.
    Aside from the basic mainframe of the plot the storyline and interaction was very over dramatic and in some scenes didn't make a lot of common sense.
    There was a very good lead up to why both main characters are connected to and feel responsible for each other. The solution or crescendo was realistic and made sense from a behavioural point of view.
    But...
    What happened after the great awakening didn't really gel well for me at all. No real confrontation or change in attitude. Everyone just carries on like before.
    How very depressing and disappointing.
    The story reminded me of a Jackie Collins minus the naughty scenes.
    I received a free copy of this book via NetGalley.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2013

    I felt as if I was at the epicenter of a name-dropping universe

    I felt as if I was at the epicenter of a name-dropping universe with Rachel Zoe, Jessica Lange, Zoe Deschanel, Elton John, Annie Leibovitz, Madonna, Gwen Stefani, Fergie, Kanye, and will.i.am to keep me company. And locations as diverse as Los Angeles, New York City, Rome, Munich, London, and Stockholm to help me in my travels.

    Needless to say, BETWEEN YOU AND ME reminded me of some sort of alternate universe with the Wade family bringing new meaning to the term dysfunctional family. If there was ever a family that could make the Lohans and Kardashians look good, the Wades would lead the parade with trombones, saxophones, and trumpets in tow. Let’s start with Andy and Michelle Wade who treat their only daughter Kelsey like some sort of moneymaking machine, redefine crazy, own her like she’s property, practically kidnap her, and yank her marionette strings hard enough to dislocate both shoulders and seriously realign her miniskirt. Kelsey, on the other hand, is a train wreck filled with enough nuclear devices to blow up Russia. *BEGIN SPOILER* She rips her bikini line during the European Music Awards in Stockholm. Her label drops her faster than a pair of panties on a college co-ed who consumed a Rohypnol and seven alcoholic beverages; her management e-faxes dissolution papers; her agency releases her; and her publicist becomes publicly vocal about quitting. She chooses to hang with a cocaine-snorting whore, screw a paparazzo with Logan asleep in the next room, and send divorce papers to her husband Aaron crammed in an envelope, hoping that’ll win him back. *END SPOILER* And she takes uncommunicative to a whole new level even with her cousin Logan, showing she can be both spoiled and self-absorbed in equal increments. Her concept of reality may be a little skewed, but she can thank her extremely screwed up parents for her current predicament.

    This novel made me thank my lucky stars that I’m not talented enough to be in the entertainment industry. From fame whores to assembly line interviews to back-to-back-to-back tour dates to conservatorship contests to telephoto lenses to unfeeling parents to attention-seeking doctors and ridiculous lawyers to stairwell sex, this novel had it all, and not always in a good way. But, in the end, nothing is as bad as it seems, especially if you can pop a few Vicodin.

    I received this book for free through NetGalley.

    Robert Downs
    Author of Falling Immortality: Casey Holden, Private Investigator

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Emotionally Intense

    Between You & Me is an emotionally haunting look into the lives of two cousins, separated by time and reunited by circumstance. Logan Wade is struggling to keep her head above water in New York after escaping her life in a tiny Oklahoma town. Kelsey Wade is the hottest thing on the popstar scene. When the opportunity arises for Logan to visit her cousin and former best friend who vanished mysteriously out of her life many years prior, she heads to California and “falls” into a new job and a new life, which could be compared to falling down the rabbit hole!

    Ever wonder about what the private life of a celebrity might be like? I mean beyond the glitz, the hype, the glamor, the money, but behind the scenes, the reality of living in a fish bowl, your every move controlled by someone who is probably making money off your public persona. Take it a step further, make those “handlers” your over-bearing, over-controlling and quite possibly not quite stable parents. Kelsey is on the verge of breaking and Logan becomes her solid grounding point, as well as part of the damage control team. As Kelsey becomes more unstable, Logan finds she is too caught up in the drama and yet, cannot help from wanting to save her cousin from both herself and the poisonous relationship she has with her parents. But can she, or will she, too get lost in the abyss Kelsey is spiraling down into? Who’s to blame? How far back does the damage go? What skeletons from the past lie in wait, ready to pounce? How will they affect the relationship between Logan and Kelsey?

    Authors Emma McLaughlin and Nicola Kraus have created a blistering tale of both the dynamics of a dysfunctional family and the pressures of living life in a fishbowl, the lone guppy among the sharks. I was immediately drawn into the story’s drama and tension, almost feeling guilty for intruding on the personal turmoil of these characters’ lives. They drew flawed characters I couldn’t help but feel for! The pacing fit the moment, high stress felt frenzied, the brief moments of calm slowed down, giving me a chance to take a breath. As things unraveled in the story, the pace mirrored the feeling with a jittery feel! Would I recommend this book? Definitely, with the caveat that only the strong will survive!

    A review copy was provided by NetGalley and Atria Books in exchange for my honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 12, 2012

    Logan Wade did not expect the call that changed her life. Logan

    Logan Wade did not expect the call that changed her life. Logan’s famous cousin, Kelsey, needs a personal assistant. The two had been best friends as children, but they were torn apart by events outside their control. Accepting the job means Logan and Kelsey can rebuild their relationship, but constant problems plague them as Logan tries to help Kelsey succeed and live a happy life.
    McLaughlin and Kraus draw their readers into Logan’s world. By page three, a restless determination overtook me. I could feel Logan’s dissatisfaction with her life, her desire for change. Logan finds her change in Kelsey, her famous cousin that she has not seen in years. Kelsey needs change, as well. Smothered by her parents and always overworked, Kelsey’s life is not glamorous. The two girls respond to each other and rekindle their friendship, but problems from their childhood threaten their abilities to move forward and live.
    McLaughlin and Kraus are creative and fashioned interesting characters. Young adult adult readers would enjoy this book. I give this book four out of five stars. I do not love this novel, but definitely think it is worth a read. Between You and Me has the flavor of a reality TV show, but with better characters and a better storyline.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 8, 2012

    This book was a painfully long story about painfully ignorant ch

    This book was a painfully long story about painfully ignorant characters. I realize that we have been conditioned as a society to think that stars are "special" and deserve to be treated different but this story portrayed everyone as blissfully complicit in their denial of anything true. The entire time I read this story I felt as though I was reading it through a fog. It was as if there was a true story behind the filmy lies that all of these characters lived.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Behind the Scenes of a Celebrity's Life

    Logan Wade is the older than her famous cousin, Kelsey Wade, by two years. They used to childhood best friends, but then something happened that caused a rift between their families when Logan was in her teens, and it's been years since they've seen each other, which is difficult for Logan to understand because she can't remember what happened to her Logan has left her the bad memories of her childhood in Oklahoma behind, and is now working in NYC. On the day of her birthday, she gets a phone call from Kelsey's assistant and doesn't think anything of it. What was supposed to be her day ends with her "boyfriend" putting her in a cab to her home, alone. Logan is fed up with the way her life is going, and when she returns the call to Kelsey's assistant, she's surprised at the offer to fly out to California and see Kelsey, at her own request. Once she gets there, she finds things have changed and is astonished to find how things really are and surprises herself when she agrees to become Kelsey's assistant. With everyone wanting a piece of Kelsey, will Logan be able to be protect her and be there for her, while keeping herself safe too?

    This book isn't very long, coming in under 275 pages, but what it lacks in length it completely makes up for with the story itself. The book is packed with action, drama, and a little comedy. Seeing how hectic and out of control a celebrity's life can be, even on paper, makes me glad my childhood day dreams of becoming a susper star of some sort to impress a crush never came true. Always having to be on your guard and weary of people must be exhausting! Emma McLaughlin and Nicola Kraus have done a phenomenal job with this book. It hooks you from page one and keeps you there until the book is finished. I was left with wanting more once I turned the last page. The mystery as to what it was that caused the rift between Logan and Kelsey's family is also a huge mystery that is slowly and skillfully revealed, and when it is, you're in for a doozy. You can't help but like and feel for both Logan and Kelsey. Kelsey because she has absolutely no control over her own life, and she and the people closest to her, are her worst enemies, and Logan because she tries so hard to make sure Kelsey gets some of the normality that she wants even at the sacrifice of herself. My only regret about this book is how it ended. The ending was powerful, but it left so many unanswered questions. I am hoping for a novella or a sequel and will be keeping my fingers crossed!

    Emma McLaughlin and Nicola Kraus have written many a best seller together. They are the duo behind The Nanny Diaries, The Nanny Returns, Citizen Girl, and Dedication, to name a few. Between You and Me is their latest adult release, with their next young adult release slated for August of this year. They keep coming out with amazing books, so be sure to keep your eye out for them!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Between You and Me

    My thoughts on audio:
    Between You and Me is read by Susan Bennett. Bennett did a great job reading the multiple characters in this book. She seemed to really have a feel for how the characters should sound. I enjoyed listening.

    My thoughts on the book:
    Pick any young celebrity, such as Lindsey Lohan, Britney Spears, or Paris Hilton and insert them as the main character, Kelsey Wade. Listening to this book was like listening to an E! True Hollywood Story. I would say for the most part, the authors were heavily influenced by Britney Spears during her train-wreck years. Logan Wade is the cousin of the famous singer, Kelsey Wade. They've lost touch over the years. However when Logan gets the call to come and visit her cousin, she does. Things happen and she becomes the personal assistant to Kelsey. The events that surround Kelsey are a circle of chaos. There are times that I felt sorry for her, but there were also times I wanted to scream 'you're an idiot'.
    Logan is shocked at how everyone pretty much caters to Kelsey. In all sense, she is kept like a child; not really being able to do things for her self. Logan has to deal with Kelsey as she makes mistake after mistake, and falling deeper and deeper into trouble. Logan has struggles as well in dealing with a past, she can't quite remember. Her family is torn apart and she doesn't understand why.
    The characters is this book are good, but sometimes very annoying. At times I wanted to slap them. Practically all of them. However the authors gave a pretty accurate portrayal of some of the celebrities out there today. The plot was like watching the slow downward spiral of a pop-star portrayed on any entertainment show or site. Overall the book is enjoyable, but I wasn't overly impressed with it. The ending was abrupt as well. I had hoped for more resolution.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 11, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Emma McLaughlin and Nicola Kraus came very highly recommended.

    Emma McLaughlin and Nicola Kraus came very highly recommended. I am excited and eager to share their latest work.
    Synopsis:
    Logan has not seen her cousin Kelsey since one fateful night in her childhood. She flashes back to those events periodically wanting to find meaning from the past. Life takes Logan to New York and NYU and then a job. Life couldn’t be more perfect but on the night of her birthday her boyfriend leaves her wanting more. Then her aunt and uncle offer the job of a lifetime to assist her cousin Kelsey who is a famous celebrity with her on entourage and parents. Logan is excited to spend time with Kelsey but can she really help her?
    My Thoughts:
    Whew! What a book! I finished the book yesterday and still have thoughts about the characters and their actions. I don’t know that I saw much of the humor. I did feel for Kelsey and her situation. I felt Logan’s frustration at the drama in her job. Great authors can convey great emotion through their characters! I feel that Ms. McLaughlin and Ms. Kraus have a formula that works for plotting great stories. I did enjoy the book!
    Conflict is what drives a story. McLaughlin and Kraus use the family dynamic to drive this story. I think we can all relate to family drama. I have had so many questions going through my mind concerning this story. How would you feel about Kelsey? Do her parents deserve to be in the position that they are in her life? What do you think?
    Rating:
    4.5/5
    Please visit Emma and Nicola on their website.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2012

    I could have done without.

    This book was suggested to me through an email and I had also seen it advertised on a website. I wasn't that thrilled with it. Though it was interesting to see into the lives of the famous, it wasn't that interesting. I found the story to be a little confusing in the beginning of the book, however that could have been because I wasn't that engrossed in it. Overall, I don't feel it was worth the $12 I paid for it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2012

    Not worth the time

    Shallow read not well written

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2012

    Confusing at times, but ultimately...decent chick lit

    This book was a pretty easy read, but i have to say, it had its confusing moments. There were some grammatical errors throughout the book as well. Ultimately, it was an interesting book that kept my attention.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2012

    Good summer read

    It reads more like a People magazine, but was an enjoyable, quick read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2012

    Check out the full review on Kritters Ramblings An interesting

    Check out the full review on Kritters Ramblings

    An interesting take on the behind the scenes of a singer who is becoming quite famous and how her world completely unravels. I would say it is almost a semi biography of the Britney Spears crazy years. But just like the main character who goes a little nutso, this book was a little nutso.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2012

    Unlike other reads

    Easy read, great story line,I really enjoyed this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2