Customer Reviews for

Between a Rock and a Grace Place: Divine Surprises in the Tight Spots of Life

Average Rating 4.5
( 14 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted December 17, 2010

    A Vital Book that Sticks with You

    Between a Rock and A Grace Place is a compelling book that stays with you. Transparent. Powerful. I read it on my Nook and kept going back to it when in waiting rooms, coffee shops, etc. When some family news jolted me, I turned to the book as a companion for scriptural insights. It ministered to me.

    Author Carol Kent's words flow as she shares her incredible personal pain and yet spiritual discoveries. Her accounts bring a sense of God's presence and hope, no matter what one faces. I appreciated the open journal entries from her husband Gene and those of her incarcerated son, Jason. They speak of their individual agonies. One can see the growth and perspective they found through closeness to God. Carol includes stories from others who, for some reason, are "in the pits." There's lots of take away value throughout the book. Practical helps, too. It makes an excellent gift for anyone on a tough journey. I recommend it as a valuable resource for public, collegiate and church libraries.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2011

    Excellent Resource for Those Going Through Difficult Circumstances

    Carol Kent has written an exceptional book, Between a Rock and a Grace Place, to help readers face the overwhelming obstacles in their lives and overcome them through God's grace. Although few of us will experience the heartache of having a son incarcerated for murder, we can apply her deep truths and teaching to our own challenging situations. Carol includes someone else's story in each chapter, and all have found grace-filled hope. The readers can also find "amazing grace" in the pages of this wonderful book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2011

    This Book is a Treasure!

    Jason's letters in Between a Rock and a Grace Place are a rare and extraordinary glimpse into the mind, heart, and life of someone who's struggling to survive behind bars. This being the latest of Carol Kent's continuing story is another exceptional read! As a pastor's wife I know that this book is also a tremendous help to the many parents of adult children who are silently suffering with heartbreaking disappointments.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2010

    Best Christian Book of the Year! You must read this one!

    Between a Rock and a Grace Place: Divine Surprises in the Tight Spots of Life (Hardcover) As I read my friend Carol's latest book, Between a Rock and a Grace Place, dealing with her family's journey through the incarceration of her son, I couldn't help but think of Paul's words about being "poured out as a drink offering" for the Lord. This sweet family has certainly taken what could have destroyed them, and through the Lord's matchless grace turned their lives into "drink offerings", even as offerings were poured out before the Lord in times past. My husband and I have a common bond with Carol and Gene, in that we have been through the experience of his incarceration. We, too, were and are strong believers. So I tell you from experience that opening up your heart and soul to the world and being transparent about the emotions and pain of suffering in this way is no easy thing. Yet, Carol and Gene have managed to do this in a beautiful and effective way. If you miss this book, you have missed a life-changing experience. Carol does not just tell her story, she applies Biblical truths to heart wrenching grief and pain not just in her families' lives, but also in the lives of others. This book is masterfully written and is one of those that is hard to put down. No one uses the English language like Carol. I would love to have a copy of this book to pass out to everyone I know. No matter who you are, what you are going through right now, or even what you may not be going through, you will be moved and challenged to "press into the Rock" in those times when life seems overwhelming. As I was reading through the chapter on gratitude again, I was impressed to realize that as much as we have prayed for Jason's release, God is using him so mightily as a godly man in prison. He is where no one would go voluntarily and yet I see God raising him up in this setting even as he used Joseph. It is our joy to communicate regularly with this young man and God is doing a powerful work in his life. Even in prison, Jason is letting his life be a drink offering, too. I credit that to the godly upbringing of his precious parents. I think this review has been as much about the Kents as the book but their attitude, their authenticity, and their intentionality of using this trial to further God's kingdom make this book tremendously powerful! They are what you see in the book and more. I fully expect this book to rise to the top of the Christian best seller list, but more importantly, I expect God to use this book to radically change the lives of thousands of people. Just an added note, this book is perfect for using in a small or large group Bible study. It has questions, notes and Carol's wonderful quotes to ponder as a group. God bless you as you read this wonderful story of God's amazing grace. Karen King, Columbia, S.C.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2010

    Amazing Grace in a Difficult Place

    If you ever wondered if God could take your brokeness and do amazing things you need to read Between a Rock and a Grace Place. Not only has God taken Gene, Carol and Jason's situation and created amazing grace places. The book illustrates others jouneys through hard times and their stories of grace places. If you or someone you know is looking for their grace places you will not want to miss reading this boo

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2010

    Amazing Grace in Difficult Places

    If you ever wondered if God could take your brokeness and do amazing things you need to read Between a Rock and a Grace Place. Not only has God taken Gene, Carol and Jason's situation and created amazing grace places. The book illustrates others jouneys through hard times and their stories of grace places. If you or someone you know is looking for their grace places you will not want to miss reading this boo

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2010

    Excellent read that will encourage and inspire!!

    Carol Kent's latest book, Between a Rock and a Grace Place, caused me to both laugh out loud as well as weep like a baby. Carol's humor came at just the right time - when I thought it could not get any heavier. The tears came both from sadness as well as wonder at the amazing God who is more than willing to display Himself to us in the tight spots we find ourselves in.

    You may think, "Life is great right now...why would this book speak to me?" I thought the same thing until I started reading. It provided inspiration to continue pressing on for His glory today and the dog-eared pages and underlines will be there for me when I find myself in the tight spot. And as we all know, they are coming.

    The highlight of the book was J.P.'s letters penned behind the razor wire. I had to make myself not skip ahead to just read them!!

    Lastly, the book was worth the read if only for the story of Tammy and Matthew. Their story is not completed but what we know so far will cause you to relish in the awesomeness of Jehovah!

    Get this book for yourself and give a copy to someone you know who is in a tight spot! The spot might not get any bigger but they will be able to lean into the side that is the Grace Place much easier.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Life in Prison

    "Job encountered unthinkable circumstances-livestock stolen or destroyed, servants murdered, children killed, health disintegrated. His wife said, 'Curse God and be done with it!' Job's response is shocking in light of his trials. He said, "we take the good days from God-why not also the bad days?' When you encounter a major crisis, is your response more like Job's or like Job's wife, or somewhere in between?" - Carol Kent Life in prison. That's what Carol's son received at his arraignment. Jason shot the father of his step-children in a moment of rage. The father was a danger to his children and Jason forgot to rely on God. For Carol and Gene, their lives flipped upside down and became surreal. What follows is a story about heartbreak and redemption. The book holds stories of real people enduring real trials. It also tells Jason's story-what he was like before he forgot to trust God and what happened while he endured a maximum security prison. "Mom," He writes. "I hate prison. But I refuse to waste prison. I choose to believe that God still has a purpose for me in spite of what I have done and the consequences I am living with. I am committed to looking for opportunities to make a positive difference in the lives of the men around me. And my prayer is that these men, if they are eventually released, will never return here. I'm praying they will be good husbands and fathers and productive members of society when they leave this place. If that happens, my time here is not a waste." What follows is a heartbreaking testimony of Carol and Gene's struggle to cope and how they have positively impacted other people. It is truly amazing what Jason is doing in prison and even more amazing what Carol and Gene are accomplishing by living transparent lives. These are people who praise God in the hardest of circumstances. Jason models his behavior after the Apostle Paul. He can choose to live in misery allowing his circumstances to dictate his moods, or choose to find joy in this stark place. I love what Carol Kent says on page 100, "This week I called my mother and told her I was deeply disappointed over a set of circumstances that filled me with anxiety and anger. She listened with compassion, as always, but I wasn't surprised by what she had to say, 'Carol, have you thanked God yet? There's power in intentionally giving Him praise. Taking that action will keep your heart and mind in the right place. If you choose thanksgiving over fear and resentment, you will find a hidden treasure, even in this situation.'" Following every chapter is a set of questions with scriptural references. It is a great Bible study whether or not you are walking through a valley or struggling to climb a mountain. I didn't know what to expect and I admit to procrastinating before reading this book. Jason takes responsibility for his crime and he doesn't waste his time in prison. His reputation grows even outside the prison walls. You want to cry when the Clemency Committee turns him down. Jason has a good attitude. God has him in prison for a reason, and those reasons are becoming more and... To read more go to thehahnhuntinglodge

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1