Customer Reviews for

Between a Rock and a Hard Place

Average Rating 4
( 168 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(82)

4 Star

(52)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

An amazing true story

After reading this book,the original from 2006 "BaRaaHP", I didn't think of Aron as just another "unprepared" or "rank amateur" outdoors-man. The guy knows his stuff and was just a victim of fate/bad luck/karma... Here it is, another gripe about e-book prices: $11.99 fo...
After reading this book,the original from 2006 "BaRaaHP", I didn't think of Aron as just another "unprepared" or "rank amateur" outdoors-man. The guy knows his stuff and was just a victim of fate/bad luck/karma... Here it is, another gripe about e-book prices: $11.99 for nookbook is ridiculous. Get the paperback.

posted by murphious on February 26, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Between a Rock and a Hard Place or a Bed and a Pillow

This three hundred and fifty two page autobiography by Aron Ralston, is about a near fatal climbing accident. Aron Ralston was an outdoor enthusiast, who moved to Colorado as a young boy and fell in love with it slowly after. His love for the outdoors followed him all o...
This three hundred and fifty two page autobiography by Aron Ralston, is about a near fatal climbing accident. Aron Ralston was an outdoor enthusiast, who moved to Colorado as a young boy and fell in love with it slowly after. His love for the outdoors followed him all over the world. From mountains in Colorado and Washington, to the dessert of Arizona, the beautiful national parks in the U.S, to Japan's Mount Fiji. Aron was known for his reckless behavior through out his trekking adventures, he thought nothing of his behavior, and he claimed it was all part of the experience, until one mistake could have cost him his life. Between a Rock and a Hard Place, goes through Aron's life starting from a little boy, to graduating college at the prestigious Cargnie University, and his engineering career. The book switches from his present situation to the past. Slowly Aron runs out of food and water and stays three nights in cold unbearable desert nights, till he finally realizes what is needed to be done to save his life. The theme of this autobiography is survival, determination, and passion. Whether you're in a life or death situation, or how to survive just in the world. In Aron's case it was how to survive in a horrible situation. Having the determination to cut your own arm off, yet still not is afraid to go out and do what you love. After Aron's accident he is still determine to climb fourteners. His determination and passion for climbing and the outdoors, proves the themes of the book.

Personally this book was over rated, and nothing how critics claimed it to be. The best part of the book is the pictures. The entire book was a whirlwind of unnecessary information about, rocks, scenery, climbing gear, and outdoor conditions. Readers do yourself a favor and get to the juicy part of the book; skip all unimportant chapters and read chapters involving Aron trapped with his arm in the boulder. All other chapters are boring and put you to sleep. This is a book one must read sitting upwards. If you think this book is filled with juicy disgusting bits of how Aron sawed his arm off layer by layer, you are defiantly wrong and will be highly disappointed by this book. If you're an outdoor enthusiast like the author Aron Ralston, you would otherwise highly enjoy this book, and his descriptions of the places he has ventured to!

On a scale from one to ten this book would get a whopping rating of a three. It doesn't keep readers hooked. I found myself skipping chapters just to get through with the book. There is no doubt in my mind that what Aron did was admirable, but his writing style took a long time to get to the best part of the book. Hopefully this is the first and only book from this author.

posted by 1110062 on March 16, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted February 26, 2011

    An amazing true story

    After reading this book,the original from 2006 "BaRaaHP", I didn't think of Aron as just another "unprepared" or "rank amateur" outdoors-man. The guy knows his stuff and was just a victim of fate/bad luck/karma... Here it is, another gripe about e-book prices: $11.99 for nookbook is ridiculous. Get the paperback.

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2012

    Great

    I have never read the book but the movie was terrifec!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2012

    Great book, would recommend to everyone...

    This book Between a Rock and a Hard Place is about an outdoorsman Aron Ralston. While Hiking in Blue John Canyon Ralston was trapped under a rock for five days. This book shows how Ralston was fighting to free himself from his entrapment, he tried chipping down the rock, and sawing off his arm, both without success. He waited, hoping for someone to come along and rescue him or until he was reported as a missing person from friends and family. On the edge of death, Ralston receives a premonition with a three year old boy, who he knows is his. This premonition revives his will to live and he stabs his knife into his arm, and cuts it off. He then escapes the canyon he was trapped in and hikes for six miles back towards his truck when he comes across some hikers. He is then rescued.
    I liked how he described the way he felt in this predicament, also how descriptive he was while writing about the situation. I did not like, however, how the book would continuously bounce back and forth from an expedition to his past, and how he was trapped under the rock. The first few stories were nice because it gave a general background of who he was, but I wanted to read his situation trapped under the rock.
    I believe everyone should read this, so they understand what Ralston was put through, and how he got out. It would show them that life is precious, and you cannot waste it away. Ralston refers to the book Into the Wild, which I would suggest others to read as well as this book, because Ralston explains how it inspired him to become an outdoorsman.
    I would give this book a four out of five stars because although it was a great book to read, there were some parts that I wanted to skip through to get to the good part.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2011

    An inspiring read, but not one without faults.

    Trapped alone in a canyon, miles away from civilization, with little food and water; this is the fate that befalls Aron Ralston, an avid outdoorsman, in Between a Rock and a Hard Place. The novel is a first person account of Aron's entrapment in the Blue John Canyon in Utah, and his subsequent narrow escape and rescue. The story begins with Aron biking in Utah on his way to the canyon. Once there, he takes his meager supplies and begins exploring the fissure. After navigating some treacherous terrain, he reaches a large boulder blocking a narrow passage in the canyon. Attempting to climb over the obstruction, Aron accidentally dislodges the boulder and causes it to fall and trap his right arm. He immediately tries to free his arm, but to no avail. Throughout the rest of the book the narrative transitions from his present day predicament, to flashing back throughout his life. Aron is a passionate adventurer, and has done many diverse activities as climbing all of the fourteeners in Colorado during the winter, to narrowly drowning in a river, and other near escapes from death. After failing to free his arm through various means, such as chipping away the boulder and attempting to lift it, Aron resorts to trying to survive as long as possible. He depletes his meager water supplies in only a few short days however, and has to resort to drinking his urine to survive. After his friends and coworkers notice that he has been missing for several days, the police are notified and a search is mounted. Nearing what he believes is the end of his life; Aron uses his video camera to record his final thoughts in hopes that his family and friends will someday find his last message. In a final stroke of desperation he severs his crushed arm and manages to escape to civilization. The major theme in the story is that hope can overcome any obstacle, which is demonstrated by Aron's refusal to give up and die while in the canyon. The strong points of this novel were the fascinating story of survival, the inspiring dedication of Aron, and the message of hope. There were some annoyances found in the book however; Aron often comes across as an egomaniac as he recounts his many adventures and near death experiences, and he often makes obscure climbing references. These aspects of the book can become frustrating, but do not detract significantly from the overall read. Taken as a whole however, this book comes recommended, with a final rating of four out of five stars. Between a Rock and a Hard Place is an enjoyable read, but not one without its faults.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    The tale of a mans will to live

    Aaron Ralston showed the world that in a life and death situation, people are capable of going through amazing feats to survive. It starts off with him going on a typical solo trip through the Horseshoe Canyon in Arizona. He meets two girls along the way, but they end up splitting off onto their own ways, planning to meet at a bar later. He finishes his trip by completing the Blue John Canyon solo. He has a boulder dislodge on the way, crushing his right arm, and his six-day entrapment begins. I found half of the book quite interesting. The other half, however, I felt shouldn't have been put there. He splits off between him being stuck and past adventures, which I feel are probably highly over exaggerated. One of his passages describes how a bear followed him for a day. He described the bear following at a 20 ft distance, him falling in the snow, the bear gets to close, he throws a rock at it, the bear climbs up the tree, he gets up to walk away, the bear climbs back down and the process repeats. I feel like he is throwing in hyped up stories (possibly lies) to prolong the book. Without these stories, I think the book would be much better and more fun to read. I enjoyed reading about him being stuck, the thoughts that went through his mind, how he made due with what little supplies he had, and ultimately escaped what he thought was certain death. Simply reading this made me think about how I might have dealt with the situation, my ultimate solution was to avoid falling boulders, which made me keep on reading to compare ourselves. While he is undoubtedly not the best writer, he did a good job at describing his ordeal. While at times it can get slow, when he starts cutting his arm, it's hard to put the book down. If you like survival books, this book is well worth your time. Even though his tangent stories of bears and avalanches can seem far-fetched, they are still all tales of adventures and are often kind of comical. If you have a weak stomach, however, I wouldn't recommend reading his book. At times it can be quite graphic and burns unforgettable images into your mind. I would rate this book a hardy 4/5. He gave me what I wanted to read, and while I didn't enjoy the side stories as much, it's mostly because I felt that all this seems a little too extravagant to be true. If they happen to be true, more power to this guy, even after this accident he keeps on going with his adventures. I would recommend books similar to "Into the Wild" or "Hatchet", both good adventure/survival stories. I would also recommend trying a nice hike of your own, possibly one of Colorado's fourteeners for a adventure of your own rather than a tale of another's.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2005

    Fascinating primer on what not to do

    While I cannot, and will not condone the author's actions I must say this was a fascintating read. Use it as primer of what NOT to do in the wild. Mountains, like the sea, and aviation are extremely unforgiving of mistakes. The author made a reckless practice of pushing the edge of the envelope in his many endeavors. He delineates many, many occasions wherein the only reason he survived was pure stroke of chance. It was unfortuitous that he be caught, as he says, between a rock and a hard place but as you read about his (mis)adventures and the poor judgement he exercised it appears inevitible that if not here (in this slot canyon in Utah) then somewhere else. It would appear that he's not learned from his mistakes as from the tone of bragadoccio evidenced in this book. Nonetheless this is a great book to read; it kept me captivated from start to finish.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2012

    Poop

    Poopddndhdhwjaksbfhfkjshcjckdjdjejr hi mitherdjjskkd

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2011

    Between A Rock And A Hard Place

    It started out as a simple hike through the beautiful red rocks of Utah on a Saturday afternoon. Aron Ralston, a twenty-seven-year-old rock climber took a trip to Blue John Canyon where he first started out with two young girls he met along the way but by early afternoon he took off hiking alone with only Mother Nature accompanying him. Around 3:00 P.M. Eight miles from his starting point Aron was climbing down a deep cliff wedging himself between two boulders when a huge rock suddenly came loose, and in an instant, the falling stone slammed his right hand and wrist in between the cold canyon wall and the 800-pound boulder. With many efforts of attempting to release his arm, there was no hope. With the knowledge that he had told no one where he was going, he knew he had to find a way to save himself. And with only one Nalgene of water and two small burritos he knew it had to be soon. After 5 days of minimum food and water, and extremely cold nights Aron began to lose hope and started recording goodbye videos for all his family and friends, and documenting his last days in hope that someone would eventually find it. But six days later, after an astonishing inspiration on the crisp Thursday morning, Aron decides to make extreme efforts to save himself. Will he live or die?
    The major theme of this book is bravery and desire to live, because Aron has to push himself beyond his limits while being faced with a situation he was not prepared for. He shows bravery in many aspects of his journey by not giving up when there was nothing left and going to any extreme to save himself. He was not angry with the situation that had been placed upon him and he just did what he had to do to survive. "That boulder did what it was there to do. Boulders fall. That's their nature. It did the only natural thing it could do." I really liked the mood of the story as you get to truly know Aron's true personality which makes you feel much closer and have sorrow and worry for him as a person. I disliked Ralston's flashbacks into his childhood and past climbing adventures. It disrupted the intensity of the events in the story and was not needed to help tell the story and would most likely only appeal to experienced rock climbers. I highly recommend this book to readers who like thrill, adventure or happy ending novels. You should read this book because it is truly inspiring and gives you a new perspective on how powerful one's incredible desire to live can be.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2011

    Great Book!

    Ever wonder what it would feel like to be stuck in a matter of life and death? Well if you haven't a book that very well demonstrates it would be Between a rock and a hard place, by Aron Ralston. If you like true life survival stories, then this is the book for you. Aron tells an extraordinary story about how he was trapped for six days in Blue John Canyon, with his right arm pinned between a 800 pound boulder and the canyon wall. The only things Aron was carrying with him at the time was multi-tool, rope, food, water, and some cameras. Throughout the day Aron drank most of his water and ate mostly all the food he brought, because he had figured he'd only be out in the canon for the day. But what he didn't know is that he had to survive for six days with whatever he had left. The Blue John Canyon is in Colorado so Aron was not prepared with any extra clothing for cold nights. Trapped 100 feet down in the bottom of the canyon, Aron had made the mistake by not telling anyone where he was going. Aron took his video camera, and recorded his sad and joyful farewells to family and friends. He would talk, think and flash back over his life, remembering all the good memories he had with family and friends. Then his family and friends within a few days after, they noticed Aron missing and put out a search for him.
    Day to day Aron was fighting 3 serious challenges that could kill him any moment. Those challenges were mental, him starting to be delusional, and his fatigue by dehydration. On the third day Aron states his prognosis. "Like you're going to get free. You're lazy and you know it. You're in the fight of your life---a fight for you life, no less--and you're to lazy to get over a little fatigue and do some work. You slothful waste. You're killing yourself here. You're going to die." He thinks if he cannot meet the needs of his body then he will only be alive for a day an a half or two. This is critical because it shows Aron becoming a bit delusional and can't focus his mind on what he needs to do because of his lack of energy.
    Finally enough time has gone by that Aron has cancelled out all his other options of saving himself because, "Waiting and chipping, and lifting have all played out unsuccessfully." Now he is left with a very hard choice. He is left to either wait and see if anyone would come and find him and eventually die if no one did, or amputate his own arm. Then Thursday came around and at 10:32 a.m. he began to amputate his arm with his dull multi-tool knife. Aron kept a pattern while in the process, sort, pinch, rotate, slice. Then grip, squeeze, twist and tear. At 11:32 a.m. he was finally free from the boulder that held him against the cannon wall for six whole days. Dazed in trance, before Aron begins his climb out of the canyon he takes a picture of the remaining part of his arm against the wall. Six days after being trapped 100feet down in the canyon he finally reaches sunlight to warm his body. Standing on a ledge, he looks over and see's a "bathtub's amount of water in a shallow turgid pool below." In order for him to get to the base/bottom where the pool of water is, he will have to repel himself down. He gets down safely and lands near the pool of water. He then takes his Nalgene and scoops water in it from the pool. This water was a big reward for Aron after being trapped.
    Now in the process of making it back to his truck eight miles away, when he is walking all the miles to his

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2011

    what a great story

    I love this book. This is one of the only non fiction books I have ever read. It tells such an amazing story about some ting that actually happened. Also the writer is telling it in first person because its about his adventure. This allows the book to have lots a of details about how he survived this amazing story. I would recomend any one that needs a good book to read Between a Rock and a Hard Place.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2011

    made me cry

    touching, makes you stop and think! loved the movie too!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2011

    Great book

    This was a great book it really makes you stop and think.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2010

    High recommended help me a lot!!!

    In the memoir of Aron Ralston you might have confusion in the story for a little because of the way the book is set up. I highly recommended this book; this is one of the first book I was able to read without falling asleep. Although numerous of the words were confusing and a little hard to understand, there is a glossary of some words you may or may out need help on. If your a reader who needs a picture to obtain a better feel about his problem and how peaceful the area Aron was in they are pictures of before, and after his horrible problem in the Colorado canyon. I also have to warn about the jumping around in his adventures as well. This has everything a great book should have, adventures, a little romance, a lot of foreshadowing, and has a little laugh in it as well. This book started my love of reading and hopefully this helps others as well.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2010

    A canyon's death row or the sight of bone marrow.

    Aron Ralston's book, Between A Rock And A Hard Place, not only gave me a greater appreciation for the beauty, and the dangers, of the mountain ranges in my home land of Colorado, but also a new understanding of the real and most important battle a human will ever have; The battle with yourself. When placed in a devastating situation, all by yourself, is the time when you really test your soul and find out who you are and analyze what you have done with your life. What I took most from this book was that the greatest key to the most devastated lock, is believing in yourself. Aron would have died in two days, if he had not had the emotional, physical, and metal strength that he had. Aron's imagery and descriptions of his predicament were by far, the most vivid and amazing details I have ever read. I felt as if I was kneeling next to him in this dark, concrete, jail, watching the tiny balls of sweat drop down his dirty, dying, face. I could see as he looked to the blue, empty sky. His trembling lips whispered mercy to the land that gives him a reason to live each day. Aron wrote about not only his trapped arm, but also explained and told the stories of his past adventures in avalanches, bear encounters, lost trails, and good and bad memories with beloved friends. I do wish that there would have been more about this story about being trapped than all his past memories. I felt as if there were too many stories going on, that it took away from the main topic of the trapped arm. Over all, this story is defiantly one that will make you want to tell Aron's incredible journey to all you know. It will take you on an exhilarating roller coaster ride of feelings that will make you cringe, wonder, speculate, awaken, weep, rejoice, and learn. "Like looking through a telescope into the Milky Way and wondering if we're alone in the universe, it made me realize with the glaring clarity of desert light how scarce and delicate life is, how insignificant we are when compared with the forces of nature and the dimensions of space" (pg. 6, Ralston).

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2010

    A remarkable story

    Aron has written his remarkable story as well as he has lived life. This amazing young man lived to the very fullest, giving his "all" to his endeavors. He can now claim "accomplished writer" as one of his achievements. The book is fascinating; he leaves out no details therefore, beware if you are squeamish.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2009

    Excellent and Inspiring!

    Aron Ralston just wanted to go on a simple hike in Utah when a boulder fell and pinned his right wrist against the canyon wall. He went through six brutal days with little water and food. He lost hope that anyone would find him so he cut off his arm to go get help. This book was excellent. It amazed me how far someone would go to live the rest of their life. Aron was certain his life was over but then he began thinking about all of his loved ones that he wanted to be with. I believe that they inspired him to continue his life. He did what he had to do and I praise him for that. One thing that I disliked about the book was the format that it was written in. I expected the book to be all about this adventure, but instead it talked about his childhood and different parts of his life. They talked about his family and his boss at work and I didn't like how this novel was written like that. Overall though, it was a very interesting book. I would recommend it to everyone who is looking for a brilliant story.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2008

    Excellent

    'Between a Rock and a Hard Place' by Aaron Ralston is by far one of the best books I have ever picked up. Reaccounting the the horrifyingly ture and extraordinary dilemma of the outdoorsman stunt junkie, Aaron Ralston, this book is bound to keep you on the edge of your seat until the very last page. Through the brilliantly written plot of the story, the reader witnesses every graphic detail and gains an overall understanding of the excruciating punishment the human body can handle. The decisions Aaron is forced to make in order to survive spurs pure inspiration. I highly recomend this book for any reader who is looking for an action packed, totally true account of a canyoneer's worst nightmare.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2007

    A reviewer

    Aron Ralston¿s story describes the suffering and struggling he went through while being trapped in a canyon in Utah. Aron Ralston is a well-rounded mountaineer and outdoorsman who hikes and partakes in various other hazardous activities. One day while exploring the canyons in Utah, his love for adventure nearly cost him his life. While making an excursion through Blue John Canyon, Aron entered a narrow canyon slot and almost instantly a 600 pound boulder fell upon him and pinned his right hand and wrist against the crevice walls. Impossible to move, and causing excruciating pain, the boulder created six days of hell for Aron as he fought for life. One of the leading factors that caused torment to Aron was the idea that no one knew where he was since Aron told no one of his exact location of travel. The only means of food and drink Aron had was two burritos and a half liter of water. Throughout Aron¿s dark, lonely imprisonment in the canyon, he struggled for survival in every possible way that he could think of while constantly dreading the idea of very probable death, and then recording good-bye¿s to friends and family on his digital camera. His story is also full of other hiking experiences throughout his life where he was in danger as well. As the days went by, Aron started to contemplate the amputation of his arm more and more, but was stopped by the thought that excessive blood loss would cause death. However, he performs this unthinkably courageous act and survived the six days of torture. One of the major messages of this book is that one should NEVER hike solo or perform adventurous and dangerous outdoor activities without letting family or friends know where this will take place. It is the obvious message of letting someone know where you are going at all times for safety. During his story, Aron displays a theme of wariness, but also of hope, as he constantly worries about when he will die, or when he should¿ve died. But throughout this he never gives up, he persists to survive and shows willingness and desire to live. What I liked about this story was the whole idea of a man sacrificing his arm to live. Not only that, but personally cutting off his own arm ¿ it shows outrageous bravery to me and the amputation process and his thoughts during it are extremely interesting. However I disliked the fact that Aron seems to be bragging about all the mishaps he survived, while still interesting, it seems that he does not totally appreciate life. Aron does prove to us though by cutting his arm free and saving his life that he does appreciate life, and this is where inspiration is created. I would strongly recommend this book, it is not only tremendously inspiring, but it is quite possibly the most fascinating tale of survival I have heard of. Aron exhibits important messages through his story and provides everyone with faith in themselves.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2005

    Reflect on a Rock and a hard place

    This book is about what one man did to save his own life when he was trapped alone in a canyon in Utah. No one knew where he was, in fact, they thought he was skiing somewhere in Colorado. He changed his skiing plans because he wanted to try something a little more challenging. His plan for the hike was to park his car at one end of the canyon and ride his bike to the other end. He would then hike through the canyon approximately eleven miles to his car and then drive back down and pick up his parked bicycle. All this was to be done in one day. He successfully travels by bike and begins. He hiked in about a mile and met two girls who were also hiking the same way. They hadn¿t planned on hiking all the way through the canyon. They hiked together for a little while and then the women left and went back up to their car. Aron continued on with his hike and got about a mile further and came to a slot canyon, which is a very narrow canyon that only one person at a time can go through. While climbing he was hanging onto a boulder when it became loose and fell onto his right arm and pinned it to the wall of the canyon. The boulder weighed around 600 pounds so there was no way he could move it. He was in a standing position while stuck so there was no way for him to sit down or rest at all that way. Some of his first thoughts were that his adrenaline would kick in and he would be able to lift the boulder and free himself. When that never happened he was very disappointed and then began to wonder how he would be found. He remained there for 6 days with only two burritos for food and a half of a liter of water. He was prepared with a pocket knife, and his climbing gear. He had no idea he would be alive for that long because he guessed that he would probably be dead with a couple of days. Probably what kept him alive for so much longer was his willingness and desire to survive. Every other chapter he talks about past hiking experiences where either his life was in danger or he had to save somebody else. One of the stories is about a skiing trip with two friends. There was an avalanche and one of them became trapped under the snow. They had to dig him out of the snow when they finally found him and then get him warm. Another time he went on a solo camping trip and was stalked by a bear. The bear tried to get his food but when the bear finally got his backpack, Aron grabbed a stick and yelled and threatened the bear and the bear dropped the food and ran away. The next day the bear came back and started stalking him on the way back to his car, and this time he threw rocks at him every thirty minutes or so until he got safely to his car. These experiences helped him survive this time because he could remember the many tough situations he had been in before and so he knew that he could get out of that one if he had to. He wondered is he might have to cut off his arm to get out, but he kept telling himself that he would probably lose so much blood that it would be like committing suicide. Aron¿s car had been found the day before and a search was underway. Rescue teams searched the canyon in hopes of finding him alive. Maybe he would have been found and kept his arm if he would have stayed, but there is no way of knowing. Most likely he wouldn¿t have lasted much longer. Aron demonstrated extraordinary courage by being willing to do whatever it took to survive. Today Aron is still climbing and hiking with the help of an artificial arm and pick connection. Even though he lost his arm he hasn¿t lost his love for climbing and hiking. He continues today right where he left off.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2005

    Even interesting to a non-climber

    I initially picked up this book with the intent of just skimming it. I thought I already knew most of the story from seeing Aron Ralston on tv while he was hitting the talk show circuit. However, I ended up reading the entire book. I found the story compelling even though I knew he survived, I kept wondering how the heck did he manage to stay alive for so long under the circumstances? It was interesting to hear the details. I am not a climber myself, but found it easy to follow for the most part.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3