Customer Reviews for

Between the Bridge and the River: A Novel

Average Rating 4
( 91 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(42)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Fantastic!

Great Great book! I am a big fan of the Late late show and rarley miss an episode. If your a fan of his show and monoulouges you should defianetly read this book. The humour in the book, though very dark, is really funny. The story is very well crafted and constantly mo...
Great Great book! I am a big fan of the Late late show and rarley miss an episode. If your a fan of his show and monoulouges you should defianetly read this book. The humour in the book, though very dark, is really funny. The story is very well crafted and constantly movs along. I also loved the main characters. When the book was over I felt like I really knew these characters and wanted to read more. The whole book including the ending is satisfying though and it all ties up very well. Even though it is good I can see that the book is not for everyone, there is a lot of cursing and sex and dirty humour like that but try not to let that turn you off if it usually does this book is definatly worth reading through and through. Peace.

posted by Anonymous on August 23, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Review: House/Well I loved this book but man it made me feel stu

Review: House/Well I loved this book but man it made me feel stupid at times.  And don’t even think about putting it down to return to it later.  Take a day to read this front to back!
If you think you know where Craig Ferguson is going with this, you’re wrong.  At firs...
Review: House/Well I loved this book but man it made me feel stupid at times.  And don’t even think about putting it down to return to it later.  Take a day to read this front to back!
If you think you know where Craig Ferguson is going with this, you’re wrong.  At first you think you’re starting on the journey involving two young boys and then everything skews off course.  You’re introduced to characters from Europe and America and delve into their life ups and downs (some very down).  You think a comedian would throw in some jokes but the humor is far more existential.  You begin to realize that this high school drop out, former drug-user, recovering alcoholic is far more in touch with surrealism then perceived.  You should learn something in this book and may question your beliefs.  Boys become men, men grow into their own and question their reason for existence on this spinning blue marble and, some men, die.

I highly recommend creating some kind of character cluster tree to keep everyone straight, especially if you don’t plan on reading the whole thing in one sitting. I did read this over a period of time, put it down and came back, but I wanted to finish it.  I loved how it kept me thinking, not just about the immediate plot, instead, more about the reasoning behind the character experiences.

So, why not “Top Shelf”?  You lost me, multiple times; I wanted to connect with the dissection of reason, but you lost me.  You, sir, are far more superior in cognitive analysis than I.  I tip my hat to you.  I am not as learned in philosophy or psychology to know what the book was referencing, even though concepts were annotated.  I did put it down, I did get lost and have to back up and re-read to reconnect.  It’s still a beautiful book and should be experienced in your own time.  I do recommend it, just be ready to be a little lost and click on the TV to watch the Craig you love.

posted by TheBookBar on May 8, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 92 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2006

    Fantastic!

    Great Great book! I am a big fan of the Late late show and rarley miss an episode. If your a fan of his show and monoulouges you should defianetly read this book. The humour in the book, though very dark, is really funny. The story is very well crafted and constantly movs along. I also loved the main characters. When the book was over I felt like I really knew these characters and wanted to read more. The whole book including the ending is satisfying though and it all ties up very well. Even though it is good I can see that the book is not for everyone, there is a lot of cursing and sex and dirty humour like that but try not to let that turn you off if it usually does this book is definatly worth reading through and through. Peace.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2008

    Fun read from a Fun Guy

    Just finished reading the book, enjoyed the read and the story about Craig is a wonderful one and really fresh and needed considering the options of the clown that comes on after Jay Leno and is projected to take Jay Leno's position. Craig will take the number one spot soon.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2010

    I could'nt put it down!

    I thouroughly enjoyed reading this book. Craig's writing style kept me hooked and I didn't want to put it down. It was gritty, honest and soul searching, with more than a few laughs to lighten the mood. Love his humor and candid observations. I highly recommend it!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2010

    amazing

    think craig ferguson is only a genius with puppets? Think again! This novel is an incredible combination of surreal humor, roadtrip adventure and genuine, unique emotion.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2010

    shocking, honest, real

    craig ferguson's depth and his profound talent for writing outshines any novel i've read. the honesty behind what he says is something the world needs more of. he honestly questions life and the meaning of it, and i feel that's an important quality of a person that is often overlooked. his writing style is one that makes you step back and feel as if you are in the presence of a genius, which i said to myself several times as i read the book. between the bridge and the river is my favorite novel and will keep me interested no matter how many times i read it. it's not a comedy shtick and it's not a celebrity trying to write a book, it's a genuine person telling one hell of a tale.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    This is my favorite book.

    Thank you Craig!It inspires me to write, to think,and to be a good person while striving to be better.With pride I pass this book on to friends and family.This is a story of love, faith, hope, and redemption.I encourage everyone to buy two because you'll never want to lend out your copy.It is more than I expected and better than the world deserves, but desperately needs more of.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2009

    honest, smart, and very funny!

    I love Craig Ferguson. I only knew he was a great comedian, so I had no idea what I would get with this book. It surprised me, of coarse, to read this tale! Wow, Craig has a lot of insight to life, human behavior and people's motives for doing things. His writing is very fast paced, honest, hilarious, at times! His characters are tragic, touching, and real. It's hard to find a celebrity who is so honest about the realities of Hollywood, and they are so dead on to what WE know about it too! His politically incorrect dead honest truth of things is very refreshing. I want more!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2006

    Excellent novel ...highly recommend it!!

    This book is without a doubt a book that once you start reading, you will not want to stop reading and laughing your brains out. Craig Ferguson definitely expressed himself well in this book and added a lot of comedy elements to it. Fraser is a piece of work!! George found love, Claudette but he is equally a piece of work!! The twins, Leon and Saul, Hmmmm!! Craig Ferguson is truly an outstanding writer (and also an excellent talk show host of the Late Late Show) and I cannot wait to get the next book...I know that it will be funnier than this one!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2013

    Review: House/Well I loved this book but man it made me feel stu

    Review: House/Well I loved this book but man it made me feel stupid at times.  And don’t even think about putting it down to return to it later.  Take a day to read this front to back!
    If you think you know where Craig Ferguson is going with this, you’re wrong.  At first you think you’re starting on the journey involving two young boys and then everything skews off course.  You’re introduced to characters from Europe and America and delve into their life ups and downs (some very down).  You think a comedian would throw in some jokes but the humor is far more existential.  You begin to realize that this high school drop out, former drug-user, recovering alcoholic is far more in touch with surrealism then perceived.  You should learn something in this book and may question your beliefs.  Boys become men, men grow into their own and question their reason for existence on this spinning blue marble and, some men, die.

    I highly recommend creating some kind of character cluster tree to keep everyone straight, especially if you don’t plan on reading the whole thing in one sitting. I did read this over a period of time, put it down and came back, but I wanted to finish it.  I loved how it kept me thinking, not just about the immediate plot, instead, more about the reasoning behind the character experiences.

    So, why not “Top Shelf”?  You lost me, multiple times; I wanted to connect with the dissection of reason, but you lost me.  You, sir, are far more superior in cognitive analysis than I.  I tip my hat to you.  I am not as learned in philosophy or psychology to know what the book was referencing, even though concepts were annotated.  I did put it down, I did get lost and have to back up and re-read to reconnect.  It’s still a beautiful book and should be experienced in your own time.  I do recommend it, just be ready to be a little lost and click on the TV to watch the Craig you love.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2011

    Brilliant

    a bunch of intertwined little stories, that make one big story, that makes you think.

    The writing was engaging and you fell in love with the characters no matter how unredeeming they seem.

    Please write more Mr. Ferguson

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Instant Favorite

    Instantly became my new favorite book and holds that place even still.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2009

    Surprising

    I didn't make the "Oh, THAT Craig Ferguson" revelation until I got it home.
    A really interesting and original read. Funny at times, exciting, and touching without syrupy sentimentality.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2008

    Just someone who likes a good read now and then.

    I first wanted to read this book simply because Craig Ferguson had written it. Truthfully, I didn't really expect it to be that good, but it definately made me regret my expectations. It's such a funny, well written, well characterized novel that once you pick it up, it's like you're watching a movie with real characters set in front of you. I could almost imagine every scene in the book while I was reading it. It's absolutely amazingly written. Well done Craig Ferguson!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2007

    A reviewer

    I don't even know where to start. When i bought this book i was just looking for a quick read, and i guess this was the right choice in that sense. I enjoyed it so much i couldn't stop. It's not only funny, but there is such a depth to it. Though the words are crude at times, and make you feel embarressed for even reading it, once done you realize that it was only there to help get you to the greater meaning. I don't want to give too much away so i'll just say READ IT. It's amazing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2006

    best book ever

    As Craig Ferguson's biggest fan, I would have recommended this book without reading it just because I would never badmouth anything with his name on it. But it was truly the best $20 I've ever spent. I never read for fun because I am a lazy college student, but now I realize how much we can learn from them. It's also so funny. If you love his show, definately get this book and read it. I never wanted to put it down because I became so interested in the stories. There are also about 3 or so clever short stories that were very interesting as well. Craig is so knowledgeable and a very talented comedian and writer.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2006

    seriously considering this as my all-time favorite

    just beautiful. biting and bawdy but beautifully done. a rare and poignant mix of the painstakingly real and the gilded (and perhaps trippy!) fable. everyone should read this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2006

    If you love comedy you'll enjoy this book

    This is an excellent novel. When I was reading Between the Bridge and the River, people kept asking me why I was laughing so much. I just pointed to the front cover and said, ¿Get this book, it¿s very funny.¿ Two of the main characters, George and Fraser are Scottish like the author, Craig Ferguson. If you¿ve seen his comedy monologues on the Late Late Show you¿ll understand the Scottish comedic nature of this novel. The other two main characters are from the deep south. I found it to be very interesting to read about the U.S. culture from a Scottish tongue-in-cheek perspective. It¿s hard to read a book when you keep laughing. I had a lot of fun with it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2006

    laugh think and learn

    What a treat!! If you love Craig's monologue before his show as much as I do, you will love this book. As was said earlier, it was a pleasure to be able to laugh and at the same time be stimulated intellectually. Mr Ferguson isn't just another 'celebrity' writing a novel- he could be a celebrity based on his writing ability alone. Thank goodness we don't have to wait for the next book to enjoy his talents. A Rare Fan

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2006

    Can't wait for the next one!!!

    This is the 1st of a trilogy. I loved it. Cried and laughed so hard, it hurt... Oh, please, please, Craig...hurry and get the next one out!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2006

    Truth Really is Stranger than Fiction

    Between the Bridge and the River is a story of adventure and growth that contains profound truths tucked between observations of human nature that are always painfully funny and accurate. Reality offers no constraints to the story line and yet everything seems logical. Frequently I had to back up and re-read a passage, not believing the author had just said what I thought he said. Ferguson writes faster than I can read. It was refreshing to be challenged by a book that invited me to think.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 92 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5