Customer Reviews for

Between the Lines

Average Rating 4
( 204 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(117)

4 Star

(25)

3 Star

(23)

2 Star

(19)

1 Star

(20)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

22 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

Between the lines is a really fun story. Deliliah is a 15-year-

Between the lines is a really fun story. Deliliah is a 15-year-old teenager who doesn't quite fit in with everyone else. She loves to read, and one book has become her favorite. The only problem is that the book she loves so much is a fairy tale for kids entitled &qu...
Between the lines is a really fun story. Deliliah is a 15-year-old teenager who doesn't quite fit in with everyone else. She loves to read, and one book has become her favorite. The only problem is that the book she loves so much is a fairy tale for kids entitled "Between the Lines." Try as she may, she just can't stay away from it. Deliliah is a bit of a social outcast and her only friend, other that her books, is Jules, who has the whole wild punk-rocker scene going on. (Her character is really fun and entertaining). Deliliah is enthralled with Prince Oliver, the main character in her book.......and Prince Oliver is enthralled with Deliliah, and desperately wants to get out of that book and into her world.


The story is written from Deliliah's point of view, as well as from Prince Oliver's point of view, and is also told from a narrative fairy tale perspective. I found the story to be delightful and entertaining, and everything you would imagine a YA fairy tale to be. I loved the interaction between Deliliah and Oliver as they plotted and planned trying to figure out a way to get Oliver out of the book, as well as all the adventure that took place in the process of trying to make this happen. I also enjoyed the other characters in the book, especially the mermaids. The ending was really a classic happily ever after one with a different twist. I would recommend this book for girls even as young as 9 or 10. I think I would have enjoyed it at that age. Between the Lines is a cute and imaginative modern day fairy tale that girls of all ages will love.

posted by AlwaysYAatHeart1 on June 26, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

It was a struggle to finish the book. And that sums up what I th

It was a struggle to finish the book. And that sums up what I think of this novel. I 'd give it 2 1/2 stars because there are some teen girls who will enjoy the fluffy romance but I hesitate to even label it YA as it reads much younger. A teen who loves one fairy tale a...
It was a struggle to finish the book. And that sums up what I think of this novel. I 'd give it 2 1/2 stars because there are some teen girls who will enjoy the fluffy romance but I hesitate to even label it YA as it reads much younger. A teen who loves one fairy tale and reads nothing else--as a librarian I would gently nudge her in the direction of something different, perhaps similar but at least different. The stories of the two protagonists were easy to follow but the story itself just wasn't plausible. Will Prince Charming get out of the story/off the pages and come into the princess' life? Who cares? Not me, at least in this story. And the ending leaves one realizing that if your life isn't going just right, you can easily change it; how realistic is that? But this is a fairy tale, after all. I just didn't see the point.

posted by Heidi_G on June 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted June 26, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Between the lines is a really fun story. Deliliah is a 15-year-

    Between the lines is a really fun story. Deliliah is a 15-year-old teenager who doesn't quite fit in with everyone else. She loves to read, and one book has become her favorite. The only problem is that the book she loves so much is a fairy tale for kids entitled "Between the Lines." Try as she may, she just can't stay away from it. Deliliah is a bit of a social outcast and her only friend, other that her books, is Jules, who has the whole wild punk-rocker scene going on. (Her character is really fun and entertaining). Deliliah is enthralled with Prince Oliver, the main character in her book.......and Prince Oliver is enthralled with Deliliah, and desperately wants to get out of that book and into her world.


    The story is written from Deliliah's point of view, as well as from Prince Oliver's point of view, and is also told from a narrative fairy tale perspective. I found the story to be delightful and entertaining, and everything you would imagine a YA fairy tale to be. I loved the interaction between Deliliah and Oliver as they plotted and planned trying to figure out a way to get Oliver out of the book, as well as all the adventure that took place in the process of trying to make this happen. I also enjoyed the other characters in the book, especially the mermaids. The ending was really a classic happily ever after one with a different twist. I would recommend this book for girls even as young as 9 or 10. I think I would have enjoyed it at that age. Between the Lines is a cute and imaginative modern day fairy tale that girls of all ages will love.

    22 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2013

    Sweet and creative

    This was a lovely quick read. Definitely a special book. Would make a great gift for any teenage girl! I'm 24 and loved it :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2013

    It was a very fun story to read. I would recommend it to anyone

    It was a very fun story to read. I would recommend it to anyone who loves fairy tales.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2013

    very good

    Such a good read. Jodi is an amazing author and her daughter does an amazing job bringing this story to life. It was such an interesting twist and not what I expected. Wonderful Job!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2013

    Between the Lines

    This was a good book filled with deep philosophical issues. Definitely different than Jodi's other books. I recommend it, especially if you're a Jodi Picoult fan.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    Great story

    Quick read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2012

    This is a great book for teens and adults, it was fun!

    I really enjoyed this book. It was a lot different from what Jodi Picoult usually writes, a great book for teens. I think my daughter would enjoy it too!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2012

    Faith

    :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2012

    Wow. Wow

    Thats all i have for this charming tale: wow.


    I started this in my english class but it was not on the approved reading list, so we could not read the whole thing. I came home and immediately got it and LOVEEEE IT!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2012

    Between the rates

    Good very good but at the
    Same time vry very long

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2012

    Awesome

    This was a great book. The charaters were great it was a little confucusing at first. But it a great twist on a fairy tale where it is the prince is the one who needs saving not the princess

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2012

    A very interesting read.

    I found this book interesting. I was able to complete it from beginning to end...but there were times in the middle of the book that I could feel myself lose interest. An ok read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2012

    (Source: I borrowed a copy of this book.) 15-year-old Delilah is

    (Source: I borrowed a copy of this book.)
    15-year-old Delilah is not popular. In fact, since she accidentally broken the head cheerleaders kneecap, she’s been a bit of an outcast. This doesn’t bother Delilah much, she has her best friend Jules (who her mother claims looks like a vampire), and she has a book that she’s recently fallen in love with. An old, one-of-a-kind fairy-story called ‘Between the Lines’.

    Oliver is the prince in ‘Between the Lines’. He’s been replaying the same scenes every time someone opens the book for years, and he’s fed up of it. He’s had enough of the princess Seraphima (who is not very bright), and sick of reading the same lines over and over again. He wants out of the book, and he wants a real life.

    One day Delilah notices something different in the book – a chess board in the sand that the prince has forgotten to erase. Suddenly Oliver begins to believe that maybe if he tries to communicate with Delilah, she will hear him and help him.

    When Oliver does manage to try and speak with Delila, it turns out that she can speak with him, and together they begin devising strange plans to try and get Oliver out of the painting. How will they ever find anything that works though? And if something does work, will Oliver be sucked back into the book the moment someone opens it again?
    Together Delilah and Oliver must puzzle out a way to get Oliver out of the book so that instead Delilah and Oliver can live happily ever after.


    This story has an interesting premise – the prince who doesn’t want to live happily ever after, but having read it, I’d probably describe it as ‘alright’. It’s not bad, but it’s not a favourite either, and I don’t think I’ll be reading it again.
    To start with I was enjoying the book, there was a real ‘fairytale’, magic feeling going on, and it was actually quite enchanting. Unfortunately it lost its magic for me about a third of the way in, and started to just fall a little flat.
    Delilah is a ‘nice’ character, and although she obviously felt that Oliver was real, how delusional do you have to be to believe that a fairytale prince is not only talking to you, but is real and wants to escape from his book? You can see why her mother wanted to take her to see a psychiatrist can’t you? Other than this though I don’t have much to say about Delilah, for me she was just a bit ‘meh’.
    Oliver also came across as quite nuts at times. He seemed to be quite happy to risk life and limb in this bizarre quest to escape from his book, and didn’t seem to think anything of the consequences. I mean, I know this sounds a bit pessimistic, but what the hell did he really think he was going to do once he got out of the fairytale? He has nowhere to live, no friends or family, no qualifications etc, etc.

    Anyway, onto the ending - While the ending was fitting, I really don’t see any kind of happily ever after though, which is kind-of expected from a fairytale isn’t it? I was also a bit annoyed that after trying so many things to get Oliver out of the book, there is no explanation as to what they actually did in the end to make it work! A bit annoying really.

    Overall; an interesting, fairytale-ish story, but just falls a bit short for me.
    7 out of 10.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2