Customer Reviews for

Between the Lines

Average Rating 4
( 204 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(117)

4 Star

(25)

3 Star

(23)

2 Star

(19)

1 Star

(20)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

22 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

Between the lines is a really fun story. Deliliah is a 15-year-

Between the lines is a really fun story. Deliliah is a 15-year-old teenager who doesn't quite fit in with everyone else. She loves to read, and one book has become her favorite. The only problem is that the book she loves so much is a fairy tale for kids entitled &qu...
Between the lines is a really fun story. Deliliah is a 15-year-old teenager who doesn't quite fit in with everyone else. She loves to read, and one book has become her favorite. The only problem is that the book she loves so much is a fairy tale for kids entitled "Between the Lines." Try as she may, she just can't stay away from it. Deliliah is a bit of a social outcast and her only friend, other that her books, is Jules, who has the whole wild punk-rocker scene going on. (Her character is really fun and entertaining). Deliliah is enthralled with Prince Oliver, the main character in her book.......and Prince Oliver is enthralled with Deliliah, and desperately wants to get out of that book and into her world.


The story is written from Deliliah's point of view, as well as from Prince Oliver's point of view, and is also told from a narrative fairy tale perspective. I found the story to be delightful and entertaining, and everything you would imagine a YA fairy tale to be. I loved the interaction between Deliliah and Oliver as they plotted and planned trying to figure out a way to get Oliver out of the book, as well as all the adventure that took place in the process of trying to make this happen. I also enjoyed the other characters in the book, especially the mermaids. The ending was really a classic happily ever after one with a different twist. I would recommend this book for girls even as young as 9 or 10. I think I would have enjoyed it at that age. Between the Lines is a cute and imaginative modern day fairy tale that girls of all ages will love.

posted by AlwaysYAatHeart1 on June 26, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

It was a struggle to finish the book. And that sums up what I th

It was a struggle to finish the book. And that sums up what I think of this novel. I 'd give it 2 1/2 stars because there are some teen girls who will enjoy the fluffy romance but I hesitate to even label it YA as it reads much younger. A teen who loves one fairy tale a...
It was a struggle to finish the book. And that sums up what I think of this novel. I 'd give it 2 1/2 stars because there are some teen girls who will enjoy the fluffy romance but I hesitate to even label it YA as it reads much younger. A teen who loves one fairy tale and reads nothing else--as a librarian I would gently nudge her in the direction of something different, perhaps similar but at least different. The stories of the two protagonists were easy to follow but the story itself just wasn't plausible. Will Prince Charming get out of the story/off the pages and come into the princess' life? Who cares? Not me, at least in this story. And the ending leaves one realizing that if your life isn't going just right, you can easily change it; how realistic is that? But this is a fairy tale, after all. I just didn't see the point.

posted by Heidi_G on June 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 117 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2012

    My favorite

    Jodi has been my favorite author since i read my sisters keeper. As a 16 year old male i look for much more than simple romance in novels. But in this love story Jodi made me cry yet again. I absolutly love the plot; two partners working together til the very end even though the stakes are high. Its a common example of enduring hardships to just trynto he with the one you love. Delilah is a true sweet heart. Please read it and find out for yourself. Everyone deserves a happy ending.

    16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Fantastic. I couldn't put this book down. Highly Recommended

    Fantastic. I couldn't put this book down. Highly Recommended

    14 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Very good book. I loved the characters. makes a great summer rea

    Very good book. I loved the characters. makes a great summer read

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2012

    A sales lady at one of the BandN stores actually recommended thi

    A sales lady at one of the BandN stores actually recommended this to me and at first i thought it would be horribley cliche and childish but I LOVED it. Im 19 and I couldnt put the book down, but whether your 15 like one of the main characters Delilah or your in your fortys you will like this book. It shows just how much it means to believe in something and really pull through with it. Even though she looked crazy and nobody believed her she didnt care she wanted Oliver out and she was going to get him. Romance, suspence, humor, and all else is in this book and I very much reccommend this.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2012

    Look's like a good book. :)

    This is a nice switch from the same kind of teenage love story. it is not too old so it will be easy for tween's and teen who what a love story butt not too old to read. :) :)

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2012

    Best book ever

    Lovvveed it great summer read could not put it down

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2012

    Light and Entertaining, Fun for All Ages

    I think that this story does exactly what it is supposed to do-- it provides a sweet and imaginative read for people of all ages. It's very easy to get through, and though it is a young adult novel, it paints a real picture of what teenagers (and adults) feel when they are alone and isolated, and is peppered with little insightful quotes you can come back to again and again. I would recommend it for young readers, but it's a fairy tale that doesn't compromise on intellectual integrity-- making it just as entertaining for adults :)

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2015

    Loved it!

    Such a great story! Loved it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2013

    Between the Lines is a modern day fairy-tale that captivates th

    Between the Lines is a modern day fairy-tale that captivates the reader and teleports them into the authors fantasy world. The novel portrays a high school girl who is taunted about her obsession for reading. It is a very well written story that is extremely relatable for any teenage girl when it shows the struggle of being teased and bullied in school. The main character Delilah falls in love with a character from this story and begins to wonder about life inside a story. Jodi Picoult and Samantha Van Leer write about a story about a story that is full of twists and turns that will leave the reader wondering about what is to come next. I would highly recommend any person to read this passionate novel.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2013

    Read this book

    I love this book it funny and a great love story of two who have to find a way to be together

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2013

    To put it simply... AMAZING!!

    This book was so good! It had such a unique plot, characters, and twists that you are entertained throughout the read. Loved it and is definitely one of my new favorites

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2013

    I read this book months ago but I still remember everything that

    I read this book months ago but I still remember everything that hapened. For a reader or a writer this has to be something from some of your dreams. I always wonder what it would be like to talk to the people in the stories I read and Delilah actually gets to. One of the things I really liked about the book was how the story would go from Delilah to Oliver then to Oliver in the actual book. I liked this book a lot and would recomend it to anybody.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2013

    AWESOMENESS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    This is an AMANZING book. People think it's about this romance and that's it. Well let me tell you it is not like that. Sure there is some romance in it but there is also a girl who has a hard time at school and grew up with no father. I'm almost 13 and I LOVED this book. You need to have an imagination, but tthat is not that hard to find. Deffinitaly recomend getting this book, so worth the money. Happy reading!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!:)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2013

    I loved it!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Omg this is easily my fave book ever!!! I love the friendship between Delilah and the guy in the book ( dont remember his name lol) If u are questioning weither or not to get this book .............. GET IT !! It wont b waste of ur money!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2013

    Loved it

    This was a great book.It was not sophisticated or very cultural but sometimes we just need a good old fashioned fairy tale :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2013

    Love!

    I loved how you could see the different points of views of each main character and the actual story in which Oliver was stuck in. It was an amazing plot and I loved the illustrations and font change and color! You have to get this in actual book form not e-book. It's soo much prettier and more enjoyable! You have to read. Even though I wasnt completely satisfied with the ending, all in all, it was a good read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2013

    Beetween the lines

    This is a great book that i would recomend to my friends

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2013

    Between the Lines

    Loved it! It was very creative and very well written. Highest recommendations if it appeals to you.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2012

    Spongebuddy13

    This is a very good book. Has a great plot and set of characters. Read this book in less than a day. I just couldn't put it down aand just fell in love with it. It is definetly a must read. Jody Picoult and her daughter did a fantastic job!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2015

    This is my favorite book!

    I read this book a couple of years ago and not only did I stay up until 3:00 in the morning to finish it, ive reread it several times since. Ive always loved fairytales and stories about true love and I think that this book encompases all of that. If I could give it more than 5 stars I would!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 117 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6