Customer Reviews for

Betwixt

Average Rating 3
( 72 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

I liked it.

I beg to differ to the other critiques on the book -- I actually really enjoyed. The characters, I thought, were actually a lot of fun, like Nix and Ondine. They were awesome, and I also liked the girl -- the blonde one with brown eyes? The daughter of that guy? Niamh, ...
I beg to differ to the other critiques on the book -- I actually really enjoyed. The characters, I thought, were actually a lot of fun, like Nix and Ondine. They were awesome, and I also liked the girl -- the blonde one with brown eyes? The daughter of that guy? Niamh, or Nieve, or whatever her name was. I liked her, too, for some reason.

I enjoyed it, and yes it did drop off at the end, but I found that to leave an air of mystery to it. It showed you that they were all heading the right way in some small ways. I enjoyed it -- and I think, really, that's what it is. An enjoyable book. A book you read for passing some lame hours.

posted by Concettina on May 6, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Betwixt

This book is definitely different. The overall story was interesting, but it was also very busy and it took me a bit to digest it. It's a quick interesting read about fairies or fay, and i thought it was alright.

posted by bookrooted on February 15, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 72 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted May 8, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Do not judge a book by it's cover.

    The cover looks awesome! The inside sucks! I didn't even know what the hell was going on. It is so all over the place and a mess. I only read a 100pgs and gave up.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2010

    Betwixt

    This book is definitely different. The overall story was interesting, but it was also very busy and it took me a bit to digest it. It's a quick interesting read about fairies or fay, and i thought it was alright.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Eh...

    I found the whole thing to be totally confusing. I think Miss Smith got too stuck in the mythology of fay and didn't really step back to think about what the casual reader may think of what was going on. I don't know about anyone else, but I certainly don't want to have to stop reading and Google the mythology behind what's going on so that I understand it. The writing is pretty well done, but I thought a couple of the characters, specifically Ondine, were pretty vanilla.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2009

    I liked it.

    I beg to differ to the other critiques on the book -- I actually really enjoyed. The characters, I thought, were actually a lot of fun, like Nix and Ondine. They were awesome, and I also liked the girl -- the blonde one with brown eyes? The daughter of that guy? Niamh, or Nieve, or whatever her name was. I liked her, too, for some reason.

    I enjoyed it, and yes it did drop off at the end, but I found that to leave an air of mystery to it. It showed you that they were all heading the right way in some small ways. I enjoyed it -- and I think, really, that's what it is. An enjoyable book. A book you read for passing some lame hours.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Betwixt

    It started out good and pulled you in but then was a little hard to finish

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2009

    Edgy but Sensational!

    Many people who have read Betwixt didn't like it. <BR/><BR/>I recently bought the book from Hastings, and to tell the truth, it's my type of book. I'm sixteen- so the whole, "supernatural" ordeal was actually pretty interesting. However, many parts seemed a little confusing, yet I still got the moral of the story. Delivered and Received.<BR/><BR/>Three teenagers, completely cryptic yet amazingly gifted in unique ways, discover their destinies and how they combine with each others. Nix-Saint Michael sees shadowed lights cast around people doomed to die. Ondine Mason watches paintings come alive and resurrect in her dreams and imagination. Morgan D'Amici, beautiful yet hostile, hears whispers in the forest, and sleep-walks into her scariest nightmares. <BR/><BR/>When Moth, a strange yet handsome man, invites them each to a secret rave in the woods- each teenager learns of their true meaning and paranormal discovery. All three, different yet the same, enhance on a journey that will change their lives forever.<BR/><BR/>I highly recommend this book. For ages 14+. Drug-use, Sexual approaches, and heavy vulgar use.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Jennifer Rummel for TeensReadToo.com

    Three teens, Ondine, Morgan, and Nix, find themselves alone in the world -- and a party thrown in the absence of Ondine's parents changes their lives. <BR/><BR/>They come into contact with Moth, who crashes the party with the purpose of bringing the three together and to a mystery party held later in the summer. <BR/><BR/>The mystery party is held in the middle of the woods. There they learn the truth about themselves and about the special powers that they've been noticing. <BR/><BR/>Unfortunately, someone else makes it his mission to turn the friends against each other. His task becomes easier with a rift already between the girls. Will they figure out their powers and reconcile before it's too late? <BR/><BR/>Tara Bray Smith enters the writing world with a bang and spins a good beginning of a supernatural tale which will leave readers thinking about the book long after they've finished it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2008

    Mesmerizing

    This book is honestly amazing. I have to admit that there some times in the book, although very few, that are a little slow, but once you finish it, it becomes obvious why those scenes were written like that. Other people may say that it's not a good book, but that is simply because they do not appreciate the complexity of the characters and the storyline. The characters are so intricate and so rich and deep. They are presented in a completely original way with a fresh writing style. It is a book that much be savored when read, and maybe reread a couple of times, so that you get the full impact of the story. Really good, overall. I'm reading it for the fifth time and I still think it's beautifully written.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2007

    Telling it like it is....

    Okay, first things first this book wasn't AMAZING, but it definetly wasn't HORRIBLE either. It was pretty good. This author has amazing description and does turn this 'farie' genre (which has been used thousands of times) into her own a bit. The characters are very human and different from your average. This book is definetly for 15 and up with language, mild sexuality, and drug and alcohol use (which I should add is all underage). The ending is confusing leaving only certain questions answered (which gives the book room for it's coming sequel). To wrap it up, this book is good with plot twists, romance, action, mystery, suspense and amazing description. Though may leave you confused on some parts and is a bit slow in the beginning. I say it's worth the buy and once you get into you'll be hooked.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2007

    amazing!

    oh my gosh!! i love this book!! my eyes are glued to the pages!! everything in this book is all true, with drugs and what people do with their lives now a days. And how people have to deal with reality! i freaking love it!! im not completely done reading it yet, because i got a little spooked when i got to the middle! things got confusing, because everithing happened so fast. But after the rave, i think the actual real story is just beginning! i cant wait to read the rest, i really hope theres another one after this!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    Different in a good way

    There is nothing out there like this. It is a bit slow, but overall has a well thought out plot. I would recamend this book for anyone who is loking for something different than vampires and secret notes from "A".

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2011

    Snooze Alert!!

    This book was so boring I just could not get through it. It was also confusing. Her writing style I really liked, but it just couldn't make up for how slowly paced the book was.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Not at all

    This was so confusing. The idea itself,so original, but i really think the author did a horribe job turning into a book. She expected the reader to KNOW what these new words meant, and to know what was happening in all of the confusing chapters. Really poorly done. I was looking forward to a great book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2011

    A MUST READDD!!!!

    I don't understand what all these negative reviews are about. This book is AWESOME!!!! The characters are so real with each and everyone of them having a flaw about them and I seriously almost passed out in the end. I absolutly ADORE this book and I think this is seriously a MUST READ! She said she is working on a sequel and I seriously cannot wait even though it is taking a while....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2010

    Kind of weird

    I totally expected this book to be awesome, judging by the cover. Unfortunately it let me down. The whole story line was really confusing and hard to understand. It was really messy, the author didn't do a really good job at explaining what was going on and why. The characters where pretty cool but other than that the book was weird and confusing. After a while, it became tortuous to read because you just get so lost and it fails to be enertaining or meaningful. I finished the book but barely!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2010

    overall disappointed

    I'm a serial reader, making my way through books in hours as opposed to days. The cover looked really intriguing so I decided to give it a shot. I've been reading this book for WEEKS! I just can't get myself to WANT to read it. The story line isn't horrible, the writing isn't terrible, the characters aren't boring...I don't know what it is. I find myself bored instead of entertained and overall disappointed with it. It's borderline cliche.
    I try to finish every book I start and won't let this be the exception. Praying it can grab my interest...I've got a long list of books I really WANT to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Positive and Negative

    Betwixt is one of those books that in my opinion you will either really like or really hate. I found that the beginning of the book was easy to follow and I got pulled into the story very quickly, but by the end of the book I was a little confused and found myself having to go back and reread whole chapters. Some people really don't like rereading, but I think it's good to reread and clarify things you don't quite understand. Even though rereading was definitely needed, I still found Betwixt overall a very good book for those who like books that have a little bit of darkness in them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    This Book...

    Was an easy read, I guess. However, it wasn't anything like I thought it was going to be. The characters were well developed, but when it came to their "powers", I had a hard time understanding what exactly Morgan and Ondine had. And the ending, well, let's just say that the ending wasn't all that great.
    And although it says that the book "Appeals to the Twilight fans", I don't think that it really does. (I've never read the Twilight books, but I think I know enough about them to say that they would be better books than this one).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    not what it could have been

    this story had a lot of good points and the writing wasn't bad. what made this book horrible and hard to understand was the pacing. i think this book needed better editors or the writer was rushed into finishing it. other than that i think it would have been original. i still liked it despite its many flaws. The plot was good, the characters were good, and the setting was fitting to the story. if you plan on reading this just know that you will have to reread several parts in order to understand what is going on. you must be a patient reader for this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    WARNING!!!!! DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME ON THIS PATHETIC PECICE OF CRAP!

    ON THE BACK U SEE A REVIEW SAYING TWILIGHT FANS WILL STRONGLY APPEAL TO IT. WELL I GOT ALL MY FRIENDS TO READ IT AND ALL OF US ARE TROWING UP WITH THE TERRIBLE WRITING AND STUPID PLOT. IT WILL WASTE YOUR MONEY. AND YOUR TIME. DO NOT BUY.!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 72 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4