Customer Reviews for

Betwixt

Average Rating 3
( 72 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Reviewed by Jennifer Rummel for TeensReadToo.com

Three teens, Ondine, Morgan, and Nix, find themselves alone in the world -- and a party thrown in the absence of Ondine's parents changes their lives.

They come into contact with Moth, who crashes the party with the purpose of bringing the three together and t...
Three teens, Ondine, Morgan, and Nix, find themselves alone in the world -- and a party thrown in the absence of Ondine's parents changes their lives.

They come into contact with Moth, who crashes the party with the purpose of bringing the three together and to a mystery party held later in the summer.

The mystery party is held in the middle of the woods. There they learn the truth about themselves and about the special powers that they've been noticing.

Unfortunately, someone else makes it his mission to turn the friends against each other. His task becomes easier with a rift already between the girls. Will they figure out their powers and reconcile before it's too late?

Tara Bray Smith enters the writing world with a bang and spins a good beginning of a supernatural tale which will leave readers thinking about the book long after they've finished it.

posted by TeensReadToo on October 26, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Do not judge a book by it's cover.

The cover looks awesome! The inside sucks! I didn't even know what the hell was going on. It is so all over the place and a mess. I only read a 100pgs and gave up.

posted by Ellabobella on May 8, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted May 8, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Do not judge a book by it's cover.

    The cover looks awesome! The inside sucks! I didn't even know what the hell was going on. It is so all over the place and a mess. I only read a 100pgs and gave up.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Eh...

    I found the whole thing to be totally confusing. I think Miss Smith got too stuck in the mythology of fay and didn't really step back to think about what the casual reader may think of what was going on. I don't know about anyone else, but I certainly don't want to have to stop reading and Google the mythology behind what's going on so that I understand it. The writing is pretty well done, but I thought a couple of the characters, specifically Ondine, were pretty vanilla.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2010

    Kind of weird

    I totally expected this book to be awesome, judging by the cover. Unfortunately it let me down. The whole story line was really confusing and hard to understand. It was really messy, the author didn't do a really good job at explaining what was going on and why. The characters where pretty cool but other than that the book was weird and confusing. After a while, it became tortuous to read because you just get so lost and it fails to be enertaining or meaningful. I finished the book but barely!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2010

    overall disappointed

    I'm a serial reader, making my way through books in hours as opposed to days. The cover looked really intriguing so I decided to give it a shot. I've been reading this book for WEEKS! I just can't get myself to WANT to read it. The story line isn't horrible, the writing isn't terrible, the characters aren't boring...I don't know what it is. I find myself bored instead of entertained and overall disappointed with it. It's borderline cliche.
    I try to finish every book I start and won't let this be the exception. Praying it can grab my interest...I've got a long list of books I really WANT to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Pointless Book!

    This book had no ending. There was too much going on and most of the time I had to go back and reread a chapter or two. The story its self was written poorly and jumped around too much. The ending of the story was what atonished me the most - its like it stopped in mid sentence. I even looked online thinking there might be a second book... nope. In the end the book just left me hanging and in a way I was glad it was finally over.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Confusing

    When the book ended, I was completely confused. The entire thing was sort of difficult to follow, and all of the characters were interconnected in enough ways that you got mixed up and forgot who knew who and how. Maybe rereading it will help it make sense. I do hope there's a sequel that will tie everything together or explain it all much better than Betwixt did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2009

    All together it was OK.

    To me it seemed as if the book was putting everything into it, everything to make it great and then at the end it sank. I did not like the ending at all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2008

    Uh...

    Was it just me or did this book seem to make very little sense? I've tried to figure it out, but...wow, I'm still missing it. I do not think that I would recommend this, except in hopes that someone else could possibly get it and provide a decent explanation. Maybe book 2 will make more sense?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2008

    Waste of time

    I just finished the book and all I can say is that it was really disappointing. Though it had interesting and weird characters and a pretty cover, it was basically a waste of time. It was a slow read and a lot of the plot was vague. The ending was really abrupt.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2008

    Not worth anyone's time

    I didn't expect much going into the novel, and I remained completely unsurprised up to the end. The characters are more believable than those of Stephanie Meyers' Twilight Series, but the way fantasy elements are handled is sloppy and vague.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1