Customer Reviews for

Beverly Hills Dead (Rick Barron Series #2)

Average Rating 3.5
( 23 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2011

    Y

    Obxw.qs

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2009

    Just OK!

    I have enjoyed past books by Stuart Woods. This one is just OK. It was interestingly set in the 40s which made it a little different. Simple story and a one time read. --K--

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2008

    Woods Fans Will Enjoy

    While I agree this is not Mr. Woods best book, it is an easy read, entertaining, simple story - what I would call a beach read or a day at the pool. If you read the Stone Barrington series, you will wonder what, if any, the end of this book is setting up..........

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2008

    Not great, but better than Woods' last few efforts

    At least this novel had the benifit of being somewhat fresh as it's only the second installment in this series. One of the flaws in this book 'and most of Woods' works' in my opinion is that all the characters that meet socially become instant fast friends and all business dealings go smoothly and everyone can't do enough good things or pay a high enough price to the people they deal with. I tend to think that the road to fame and fortune is a little rockier than depicted in this book. Oh, and Vance Calder, who is 19 years old, could easily be mistaken for a 40 year old.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2008

    Should Be Beverly Hills DUD'

    As a reader of 60-70 novels per year, I come across all types of writers. Alas, I am afraid that Stuart Woods has joined the ranks of writers who just add their names to another writers work. Case in point, James Patterson. BH Dead must have been written by a high school english major. It reads like the writer was double parked and had to finish before the meter maid came. In a word....Terrible.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2008

    JDO

    Now this is more like it! I read this book in a day! Woods' last book 'Shoot him before he leaves' in my opinion was a very weak effort & it was the first book of Woods' that I hated. This book really captured the era of the Hollywoood blacklists. I liked it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2008

    Not a classic but well worth a look

    A number of reviewers have written that this book falls far short of the standard of quality we've come to expect form Mr. Woods. While I agree this is not his best effort, there's quite a lot to like about it. His recreation of the period is vivid and almost 'cinematic' in detail. The plot contains enough surprises to keep you guessing all the way to the end. No masterpiece, but a solid diversion nonetheless.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    fine historical mystery

    Beverly Hills Dead Stuart Woods Putnam, Jan 2008, $25.95 ISBN: 9780399154690 In the 1940s the House on Un-American Activities Committee is just beginning its witch hunt and Hollywood is starting to feel the effect. Rick Barron, head of production of Centurion Pictures, has no interest in politics, but his antenna quivers when Communist Cards are sent to him with the names of Bitter Creek screenwriter Sid Banks and Laurie Brecht, who happens to be his movie star wife Glenna Gleason. Rick arranges for the matter to be taken care of quietly, but Sid is blackballed when he refuses to name names to the HUAC members. Most of Hollywood runs from Sid to avoid being painted with his taint. His movie is near completion with new stars Vance Calder and Susie Stafford in the lead. The pair becomes romantically involved and she is to move into his home when she vanishes. Soon afterward she is found dead in a dump. Rick demands the police find her killer while Sid becomes a willing friendly witness for HUAC, which restores his name. However, both Rick and Sid know HUAC has unfinished business with them as the Congress will leave no stone unturned. --- This historical mystery focuses on the beginning of the HUAC ¿Red Scare¿ witch hunt that terrorized much of Hollywood in the late 1940 and early 1950s when the studio heads were more concerned over the bottom line than the ¿J¿accuse¿ mentality of DC. The murder mystery is cleverly devised so that red herrings and twists keep the audience guessing the identity of the killer. However that also detracts from a deep look at the opening phases of the HUAC on film making. Still this is an entreating tale that will have fans seeking the previous entry THE PRINCE OF BEVERLY HILLS. --- Harriet Klausner

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2