Customer Reviews for

Bewitched, Bothered, and Biscotti (Magical Bakery Series #2)

Average Rating 4
( 29 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2013

    Loved it

    I absolutely love this series this book was so excellent!! I could not put it down. Definitely outshined the first one! My finals are next week and this book was such a page turner that I completely put off studying to read it!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2014

    Loved

    I really enjoyed this book! I loved the way Ms. Cates writes. On to book 3.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Originally Written for the Paperback Cafe Book Review Blog. Boo

    Originally Written for the Paperback Cafe Book Review Blog.

    Book two of the Magical Bakery series, I have to say that I enjoyed Bewitched, Bothered and Biscotti by Bailey Cates even more than Brownies and Broomsticks, the first book of the series.

    Yet again, Bailey Cates catches my attention with her adorable book covers. Honestly, I love what the cover artist did here. I only wish that instead of showing Honeybee, her aunt's cat who never comes to the bakery, they would have used Mungo, our heroine, Katie Lightfoot's trusty Cairn terrier familiar who plays a much bigger role in the books. Other than that, great job as always on the cover.

    What's inside, is even better!

    The pacing of Bewitched, Bothered and Biscotti is definitely faster but I think that's always the case with the second book in a series.

    We open up in beautiful Wright Square in Savannah, GA as Katie and one of her two love interest, Declan the Firefighter, are on a romantic picnic which is interrupted by the discovery of a dead body. Don't you just hate when that happens?

    Katie is a training hereditary Hedge Witch - meaning she does a lot of herbs and gardening to produce magic - and owns a local bakery with her witchy Aunt Lucy and Retired Firefighter Uncle.

    This book takes place just a few months after Brownies and Broomsticks and Katie finds herself wrapped up in yet another murder investigation. But not all is as it seems. What might seem like a heart attack turns out to be murder by magic.

    Someone's out to release an ancient evil and Katie and her Magical Book Club coven must band together and figure out what is going on before its too late.

    I absolutely love how Cates captures the rich culture of Savannah. Its such a beautiful town. If you haven't been, GO. Don't think, just GO. Its wonderful. Take tons of ghost tours.

    There is no doubt in every page you read that Savannah is the town Katie lives in and I love that. So many authors just sort of put up a generic backdrop and give it a name but not Cates.

    On top of this, as a practicing witch myself, I have to say that Cates knows what she's talking about. She matches up herbs and how a hedge witch would think while cooking or really doing anything in her life.  There are so many aspects of magic and so many authors throw it to the wind to get done what they need done. That's perfectly fine because its their world but its always refreshing to see someone who seems to know what they're talking about.

    This is also a great book and series for Foodies! Cates has a great way of capturing you with Katie's unique twists in her bakery. Many of these recipes I'd love to try for myself.

    I would have to say if I have one complaint about the book on a whole its what Mungo, Katie's dog, eats. Once she mentions he loved raisins and another time she talked about eating onions. He also seems to eat a lot of sugar.

    Every time that was mentioned, it really pulled me out of the story.  Raisins and onions are actually highly toxic to dogs and too much sugar, just like with humans, isn't good either.

    That being said, I did notice that on her blog, The Lightfoot Chronicles, Cates does acknowledge this in the post Forbidden Fruit -- At least for Dogs. The blog is written from Katie's pov so be sure to check it out.

    As I said, I really loved this book even more than the first. Can't wait to sink my teeth into Charms and Chocolate Chips, book three of the Magical Bakery Series already available.

    Especially because of a couple of twists at the end!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2013

    Love it

    I really liked this book. It is a great read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2013

    Great cozy series.

    Great cozy series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2013

    Great Read, I highly Recommend It

    This is the second book in the series and I really enjoyed it. It's a fun escape from the every day and I can't wait to read more by this author and this continuing series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2013

    This was a good read as Katie continues to learn about her magic

    This was a good read as Katie continues to learn about her magical powers and her role among the coven.  In her latest adventure, she finds a dead body and uncovers another group similar to her own.  When their world collides, it will take the strength of both these groups to bring a killer to justice.  

    I like this one because there was a good solid plot; strong character development; whimsical conversations; a great mystery that kept me guessing and fun times with the whole gang.  The author did a great job in delivering an entertaining and magical enchanting whodunit that I could not put down from start to finish.  I really like Katie and her friends and I’m looking forward to their next escapades in Savannah.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2013

    It was fun to be back at the Honeybee Bakery! Katey is learning

    It was fun to be back at the Honeybee Bakery! Katey is learning to use her magical skills and gets to know her coven. I liked the twists and turns as Katey delves into the mystery of the tatooed man. She is developing her relationship with Declan. This is a fun, light read with just the right amount of witchcraft! I look forward to the next book in this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1