Customer Reviews for

Bewitched and Betrayed (Raine Benares Series #4)

Average Rating 4.5
( 77 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(49)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 78 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted June 8, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    I thoroughly enjoyed Bewitched and Betrayed!

    I'd love to write as much as possible, be as descriptive as possible but I don't want to put any spoilers up. For those of you who are new to the Raine Benares series, I say start at the beginning--you'll be so satisfied! The experience of reading the first up to now is very fulfilling. However, it is totatly possible to read this book first of all the others and still gain a deep appreciation for the character, plot and setting developments. This is very much do to Lisa's thrilling style and serious, romantic with quite a bit of comedy tone; as well as her fantastic ability to make the reader feel like they are one of the characters directly experiencing the action, the feelings, and the mystery.
    This most recent book clarifies relationships, adds new twists, deepens the villains characters and introduces new magics! I won't say which ones (characters & magics) but the gang has a grand time kicking bad guy butt!

    I don't know what the 'offbeat' area means--this series is definitely full of adventure, fun, exciting fight scenes, original dialogue that will make you laugh out loud! I had to pause at some surprises--wow. Just wait till you read it!

    I am patiently or not so patiently waiting for the next one! (in the meantime, I've also picked up Devon Monk's "Allie Becksrom's 'Magic' " series and C.E. Murphy's "Joanne Walkingstick" series. Just so you know some background of what I like to read, I enjoy stories by Kim Harrison, Jeanine Frost, Vicki Petterson, Karen Chance, Caitlin Kittredge, Laurell K. Hamilton, Charlaine Harris, Karen Marie Moning, and more. If you've ever read any story by an one of the above mentioned authors I think you will feast on Lisa Shearin's books! I'm finding more authors all the time! Check out this website and see for yourself: http://www.deadlinedames.com/

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2010

    ADDICTIVELY WONDERFUL! IT JUST GETS BETTER AND BETTER!

    Bewitched & Betrayed has definitely made it into my top books of the year list. I wasn't sure that I would survive the wait for it, but I did and it was TOTALLY WORTH IT! The snark and comedy is back in full force, with added jumbo helpings of drama, action and romance (and it's some romance). Ms. Shearin's writing style is as wonderful as before. From page one I was so into the book that I wanted to pick up a sword and fight. I was constantly laughing or squealing or swearing as I followed Raine, and when I was done I wanted nothing more than a time machine so I could jump to the future and read the next book. A lot of things happen in B&B. If you read the sample chapters on Ms. Shearin's website then you'll know that Sarad Nukpana is basically eating important/powerful people's souls to regenerate his body and get all of their memories and powers. If he consumes enough he could become a sadistic demigod, so there's a pretty big hunt going on for him. We get to meet some new characters, like Imala Kalis (the head of goblin), Markus Sevelien (head of elven intelligence) and Vidor Kalta (natchmagus and brother to Lucan Kalta). Also Tam gets arrested, Mychael has a dark side, Talon flashes some new skills, Raine loses one enemy (kind of), some interesting information about Taltek Balmorlan is revealed, Raine gets to blow something sky high, Vegard shows his soft side (Vegard got a major popularity boost in this book) and there's a mega-shock involving Raine, Tam and Mychael's umi-atsu bond. Honestly Bewitched & Betrayed is a ten star book. It's an awesome addition to the Raine Benares series, I loved reading it and I can't wait for the next book to come out next year!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2012

    Very good

    The fourth book in this series is an action packed thriller. Raine has two magical bonds, five spectroms on the lose, and an angry rock to deal with. Of course, it's all in a days work for her.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2010

    VERY ENERGETIC, MORE THAN SATISFYING!

    Raine Benares's 4th adventure begins with a bang! Naked bodies, ghouls, and a 3-way bond between Raine, her goblin friend Tam Nathrach, and her elf might-be-more-than-a-friend Paladin Mychael Eiliesor are the least of her problems. The book is a fast-paced roller-coaster ride. Raine's attitude is as snarky as ever and continues to get her into trouble. Several new characters are introduced in the book as the line between the good guys and the bad guys is more clearly defined in this story. Ms. Shearin has developed the story line in a way that will allow her to continue Raine's adventures and create additional stories for several of her other secondary characters. This is good news for her readers!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The fourth instalment in the rian benares series

    This book is a wonderful continuation of the rain benars series. This is the fourth book and I would not recomend reading them out of order. The books are in this order: Magic lost, trouble found, armed and magical, the trouble with demons, bewitched and betrayed.

    I realy recomend the series and think the books are absolutly amazing! It has just the right amount of sarcasm and adventure with romance and some awsome fight scenes. This book continues right were the last book left off: Rain is trying to find the escaped souls from the sagrahed and trying to escape the reapers. As the cover said war is the least of her problems. A war is brewing between the goblins and the elves and both of them want to use rain for their benifit. She doesnt like being used.

    I realy enjoyed this book and if you loved the last three books as I did you will love this one too.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2012

    Loved It

    Funny, sexy, and exciting could not put them down. My husband would look at me funny as I would burst out laughing at parts in the books. Even got him to read them, and his take on the series was that who ever wrote them must have been around me for some of the creative one liners and sarcastic comments.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2011

    Silly Name and Cover but AWESOME series

    I've so far read 1-4 out of this series and have yet to grow bored with the plot line( which with series that pass 3 installments I tend to do). These books have the intense evil-incarnate like The Ring in Lord of the Rings, the clever wit of Karen Chance novels, The delicious sexual tension and dilema over which man like early pre-nympho Anita Blake( don't get me wrong I'm not anti- sexually free Anita, I've just acknowledge to over done amount) and a flowing plot line like many PI novels. I love the minor characters like Raines' cousin Phaelan, a pirate captain, insatiable flirt, questionable morals but endearing sense of loyalty ( I'm so hoping Shearin does a Kelly Armstronge and writes another novel on Phaelan). The villains are ur classic love to hate men that make you want to scream and pull your hair out with their persistance with their evil plots. The magic thats described is easy to accept and follow, while I love fantasy/sci fi I have to be convinced of the paranormal aspect, it has to make 'sense' or be explained in a reasonable sense for me to not laugh at it and Shearin does it well. My favorite part in #4 is that Raine gets to break that nice 'tension' with one of her two eye candy men, perfect timing I might add. Don't pass this up, if you like Karen Chance, PI novels and the perfect amount of sensual heat this series is for you!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2011

    Rich and satisfying

    Intelligent and absorbing. Massively enjoyable!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    OMG - Keeps Getting Better!

    I had no idea when I picked up the first book of this series by Lisa Shearin that I would be so throughly hooked! The books are well written, funny and exciting. The main character is no one's pushover, torn between sexy and good guy Mycheal and sexy and decidedly quasi wicked bad guy Tam... The books continue to be a page turner from beginning to the very end leaving you wanting more more and more. I look forward to every book. Would also recommend anything by Jim Butcher, Kim Harrison, LA Banks and Jennifer Estep to name a few.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2010

    A great read!

    This book was great it wrapped up a few plot lines (always nice to get some sense of progress) and opened a few others. Raine finally makes her choice and does it without the drama that makes you wonder if the character is 13. And what a way to make a choice! *fans self* Great for the fantasy lover who likes a little well written romantic tension.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Kicking it into High Gear

    The fourth book in the Raine Benares series takes the conflict set up in the prior three and turns it up a notch. More is at stake and Raine is called upon to use her new found abilities and rapier wit as she has never before. Swashbuckling adventure, steamy romance and exotic locales combine in a completely satisfying installment. I'm looking forward more from this series.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2010

    Loved Bewitched & Betrayed

    I read this in less than one day and wished I could read it faster. I thoroughly enjoy the romp through the Isle of Mid. It starts with a naked man chashing Raine, a seeker and trouble-magnet, through the halls of a brothel and it only gets better from there.

    The pacing is like riding a roller-coaster, fast and fun. The characters and their interpersonal relationships are complex and compelling. The language used to describe this fairly traditional fantasy setting is unique and modern and irreverent.

    I can't wait for the next one.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Hilarious fantasy

    Following hot on the heels of The Trouble with Demons, Raine Benares adventures are off to a heady start in Bewitched & Betrayed. Still bonded to that soul-sucking rock otherwise known as the Saghred, Raine has watched her minimal yet respectable magical abilities skyrocket and her enemies multiply just as fast. Which is somewhat understandable after Raine was unable to prevent the souls of six evil mages - including Raine's arch-nemesis Sarad Nukpana - from escaping the Saghred and who are now running rampant on the Island of Mid. Nukpana is one serious evil dude bent on total world domination and would like nothing better than to completely skewer Raine and all those near and dear to her. And since Nukpana has made this fight personal, Raine is more than happy to make it her mission in life to track him down once and for all. After all, she's a seeker.

    One of the best parts of this witty series has to be the every intriguing cast of secondary characters. Raine's less than law-abiding, yet unfailingly loyal family makes numerous appearances to my unending delight - including everyone's favorite pirate, Raine's cousin Phelan. His snarky remarks always leave me in stitches. Though the Benares clan's interactions were comical and even a little *gasp* heartwarming, they couldn't hold a candle to what we find out about commanding and by-the-book Paladin Mychael. Mr. Share No More Than Necessary finally opens up to Raine about his past and we get some very surprising insights into what I had previously seen as a pretty one-dimensional character. I don't want to spoil anything, but the man has depth. Depth and skills. And he's cute. Pretty much the triple threat.

    Even though Raine really has no time to even take a breath between one action scene and the next, her constant running stream of smart remarks keep the pace from becoming overwhelming. She's always willing to let humor diffuse the tension of any given situation and that is a fine quality indeed. Even though at times I sort of scratch my head at the story arc thus far, I'm quite pleased where Lisa Shearin has taken us in Bewitched & Betrayed. Plenty of action, plenty of confident, sexy men, and buckets of Raine's irreverent sense of humor. If you haven't given this snappy series a go, I'd highly recommend picking up all four books. Believe it or not, each is better than the last.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    exciting action-packed fantasy

    Seeker Raine Benares wants to go back to just finding missing things and people, but knows that will not happen at least for now. Instead, the elf is bonded to the soul-stealing Saghred stone and complicating matters she is also tri-umi'atsu bonded with Paladin Mychael Eiliesor and goblin Tamnais Nathrach.

    As she wonders how a seeker could be tied up like this, one of the six evil mages who escaped from the Saghred wants her dead so he can control the rock, but needs to re-grow his goblin body first. Thus Sarad Nukpana is killing the most powerful essences with the umi'atsu trio the last to die for him to complete his quest of becoming an evil God.

    This is an exciting action-packed fantasy filled with tension and jocularity as few authors can combine. Raine is terrific as she ironically wants to hide, but knows she cannot as her bonding will not allow her to do so nor the knowledge he is coming for her as she is the only thing between his achieving his goal. Readers will enjoy Bewitched and Betrayed as High Noon is coming to the mythological world of Shearin.

    Harriet Klausner

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 78 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4