Customer Reviews for

Bewitching ((Kendra Chronicles #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 64 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(37)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 64 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2012

    Bewitched

    OhmeeGosh!! Kendra is so funny. This book is about a bookworm(like me) girl named Emma. She has a perfect life with a wonderful father. One day, he tells her she has astepsister. She manipulate people with her sob story and pretty face. Emma struggles with this because one night,her stepsister blackmails her. After two years, her crush from eighth grade, comes into the picture. Warren. They supposedly fall in love. He ends up with her unloving stepsister (At least to him) . Heartbroken, Emma's best and only friend Kendra attempts to come tothe rescue with a few trix up her sleeve. What could possibly go wrong? Oh yeah, magic.

    12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    5 STARS- I LOVED IT!!

    OMG! Bewitching by Alex Flinn is ALL CONSUMING - it will draw you in and won't spit you back out until your reading the final notes! It is that awesome! And even after you've finished, you're left reminiscing and yearning to get back to sweet Emma and Kendra. Kendra with all her witchy kookiness and her touch-and-go not always effective methods of help.
    Don't expect to zoom through this novel because Bewitching maintains a lyrical as well as whimsical rhythm that suits the story very nicely. I enjoyed and savored every page. I usually don't re-read my books because reading it once quells my needs, but I see myself reading Bewitching over and over and never tiring.
    Alex Flinn has such a mesmerizing writing style that is hard to put in words, but easily understood once you delve into her work. I love how Kendra is not perfect, far from it in fact. Her voice is very strong and you just can't help but feel for her and want to know/read more. Emma, is a wonderful character that I would be ecstatic to befriend. She has such a strong persona even in her times of despair.
    The different take on how the stepsister and stepmother being the good ones, and the beauty being evil is endearing. It's such a great story for kids to look up to, and for them to understand that it doesn't take to be the stereotype to end up on top. I whole heartedly wanted to ring Lisette's neck, and I still do if it were possible =) Alex Flinn has a way with her characters that has me looking forward to reading more of her work. Her way of twisting well-known fairy-tales is an art form! I felt my heart drop, crushed, angered, ripped out, and loved. I'm captivated!! Bewitched!
    As for the ending, I will just say "Thank You!" Thank you for giving my heart peace =D
    A DEFINITE MUST READ NOW NOVEL!! A 2012 FAVORITE!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2011

    Nice!

    Alex flinn is a great writer! Looking forward to this book!

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2013

    Mmmmmmm

    Should i get this i read beastly????,??? Yes=Get it no= dont get it

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2012

    Great For the Young, and the Young at Heart!

    What if the fairy tales we all grew up on got it wrong? What if the evil step-sisters weren't so bad, but cruelly manipulated by Cinderella? What if the mermaid didn't get her "happily ever after" with her prince,but a tragic end? What if the witch wasn't an evil shrew, but just a lonely girl who tries to help others, sometimes with disastrous results? Bewitching, re-telling classic tales through the eyes of the witch, breathes new life into these stories and shows us (to quote my favorite witch, Alex Russo) "everything is not what it seems".

    I have to start by saying that Bewitching caught me completely off-guard. I expected the story to be a little fun and cute, but I didn't expect the lessons learned and to have as much fun as I did! The story is primarily from Kendra's point-of-view, but does switch to the view of the character she is helping at the moment, mainly Emma. Emma is a sweet, but plain girl, bookish and quiet, living a happy life with her mother and step-father. But her life takes a dramatic turn when her beautiful, perfect, and seemingly fragile step-sister Lisette comes to live with them after her mother's death. Emma is desperate for a sister, and wants to be close to Lisette, but it quickly becomes apparent that Lisette is out to destroy Emma, out of jealousy. Because she is so sweet and seems innocent and broken, Lisette (Cinderella?) is automatically given the benefit of a doubt. Emma, who is plain and quiet, rarely has the courage to speak up for herself, is quickly forced into the role of the "evil stepsister". Kendra, for the most part is a quiet observer to Emma's pain, only offering bits of advice. But when Lisette goes too far in her effort to destroy Emma, she decides to step in and help. Will her efforts turn out as tragically as it did with a certain mermaid? Or will she be able to change a life for the better, as she did with the Beast?

    Bewitching is the first of Alex Flinn's books I've had the pleasure to read. I had heard about Beastly, but not until it became a movie and that's most likely because I have a super-strong Alex Pettyfer radar. But now I'm sure to hunt more of her books down and read them. The tale is told in a fun, conversational manner that made me feel as if Kendra and I were having a nice, long chat. The stories she wove into Emma's (the night the Titanic sank, a young French prince searching for a wife) were nice asides that expanded upon the lesson Kendra was conveying.

    Bewitching, with a clear message about remaining true to oneself, is a great book for young readers. I could absolutely see a reluctant teen (or tween), snatching this book up and devouring it. But, it's also a story that adults, at least those young at heart, can enjoy!



    Favorite Quote:

    "She stared at me, at my open mouth. 'Now, what are you going to do about it, Emma? Burn me at the stake? Organize a boycott of all the Harry Potter books because they gave me ideas?' "



    * I received an ARC of Bewitching from Harper Collins, in exchange for an honest review. *

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2014

    In just a few short lines, Author Alex Flinn has told us about t

    In just a few short lines, Author Alex Flinn has told us about the genre, setting, and main character of the novel Bewitching. This is a 

    classic, modern day version of Cinderella and Alex Flinn did a great job. Her writing style is enthralling and you can easily understand 

    book which suits the book nicely. This book is many genres. Fairy Tale, Fantasy, and Teen romance which makes the book very
    entertaining especially for young teens.
    The reader is introduced to Kendra Hillferty, a young girl with too much responsibility.  Her entire family is suffering
    from the plague, and the only family member alive is her little brother. Kendra doesn't know it yet, but she is a witch. She makes
    this discovery when she heals her brother who was close to dying. Knowing that she will be tried as
    a witch, Kendra runs away with her brother. The story continues on with Kendra trying to figure out her life as she makes this
    shocking discovery about herself. This is a fun read, but it's also a story that focuses on relationships from those of a girl and her first
    love to a daughter and her father.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2012

    Another amazing fairy tale from Author Alex Flinn. This is a boo

    Another amazing fairy tale from Author Alex Flinn. This is a book to
    watch out for come February! The reader is introduced to Kendra
    Hillferty, a young girl with too much responsibility on her shoulders.
    Her entire family is suffering from the plague, one of the only member
    of her family left alive is her brother. Kendra doesn't know it yet, but
    she is a witch. She makes this astounding discovery when she heals her
    brother who was at the brink of death. Knowing that she will be charged
    and tried as a witch, Kendra takes her brother and runs. Kendra
    doesn't seem to have very good luck. She finds a gingerbread house that
    appears to be empty. Starving, her brother and her decide to stop and
    eat. The reader will likely know what happens after the witch who owns
    the gingerbread home comes back... Kendra's bad luck doesn't end there.
    She attempts to help a mermaid, an attempt that goes horribly wrong; she
    tries to help a prince, but she is banished instead. Finally, Kendra has
    found a stable-ish life. She goes to high school and stands out, but is
    relatively normal as compared to her prior self. It is there that she
    meets a potential friend and someone she could maybe help. She knows how
    her "helping" has turned out over the centuries and is
    understandably wary. Kendra's character is different. She is
    certainly not like most main characters a reader will find in other
    books. She has "personality" and isn't one to be pushed
    around. Clever, enigmatic, and with a sense of humor, the reader will
    enjoy Kendra's narration of events and past stories. The other secondary
    characters are just as interesting, from all walks of life and status
    levels. The events were fast-paced and exciting, these stories were not
    necessarily predictable. This book is recommended to young adult/teen readers.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2012

    Wonderful

    I really liked this book! Read it

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2012

    Amazing book!!

    This book keeps you on your toes. You follow the story of Kendra who lives forever and is a witch. Will keep you entertained again and again. Definitely a re-read!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A Good Read

    Bewitching takes a whole new twist on the wicked witch world. Kendra shows you that not all good intentions, even magical ones, turn out the way we want them to. As Kendra travels through time leaving all the ones she loves behind she uses her powers to try and help, for revenge, and to save her life. (That ginger bread lady totally had it coming anyway.) Well to sum it up it shows Kendra's side of all those old stories we all should know, beauty and the beast, little mermaid, titanic, ginger bread lady, etc. Finally it shows Kendra and Emma, a girl who happened across Kendra's path and now needs her help if she wants to be happy again. I recommend this book for those open minded enough to her a witches reason why things don't always work out.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2012

    Be Bewitched!

    I like this book but it is not as good as her others.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2015

    Love this book!

    Very well written. A great take on the modern fairy tale.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2015

    Omg

    Got this book at the last book fair i was at finished it in two and a half days cant wait for more going to read it again

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2014

    Loved it

    I love the book. Is cinderella but from a different angle.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2014

    Omg

    Bewitching is amazing!!!!!! Alex Flinn is amazing!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2014

    "Bewitching" Describes this book

    "Bewitching" is truly a bewitching book by Alex Flinn. (Though it was not as good as Alex Flinn's "Beastly".) Bewitching is the story of a witch named Kendra, who has a tendency to meddle in the life of others. However, the story is not as much about Kendra as it is about Lisette and Emma.

    Emma and Lisette live out a very warped version of Cinderella. Emma is kind, yet naiive and semi-pretty. Lisette is cunning and vengeful, yet beautiful. In many ways, both Emma and Lisette are victims of the bad choices other people make.

    Best Parts: I thought Kendra and Emma were really likable characters. Even Lisette evoked empathy from me. There were also characters that I really enjoyed resenting. The ending had a twist in it, but it was a believable and likable twist. Overall, the story ended the way a lot more stories should end.

    Okay Parts: Occasionally, the story between Emma and Lisette gets paused for mini-fairy tales from Kendra. These stories can sometimes be entertaining, but are also a bit distracting from the main story. Still, each mini fairy tale hints at themes that Emma and Lisette will be exposed to, so you had better pay attention.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2014

    Omg

    This is now my favorite book ever. I got insanly hooked to the plot and actually ended up having some super deep discussions about this book. I LOVE IT! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2014

    Love it!

    This book has now made it to my top ten favourite books! And congrates alex flinn who now made it to my top ten favourite authors! And trust me, its very hard to get on my list. great goob alex fliin this book was great!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2014

    Cute! I really like this book. Especially the parts where it i

    Cute!

    I really like this book. Especially the parts where it integrated different aspects of some well known fairy tales. The writing style made it easy to read and I loved that we got to see more of Kendra's POV (though I was hoping for a little more). For the main story line, I thought that it was very "Cinderella-y" but I still liked it. I'm glad that I picked up this book. :-)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2013

    Beastly

    Do i need to read beastly first???????

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 64 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4