Customer Reviews for

Bewitching

Average Rating 4
( 159 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(85)

4 Star

(39)

3 Star

(23)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

26 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

I LOVED this book!

I don't often write reviews, which is bad of me, because I ALWAYS read them before deciding to purchase. BUT, I have to say something about Betwitching. Because that's exactly what I was when I started reading. Bewitched. This is the first book by Jill Barnett that I ha...
I don't often write reviews, which is bad of me, because I ALWAYS read them before deciding to purchase. BUT, I have to say something about Betwitching. Because that's exactly what I was when I started reading. Bewitched. This is the first book by Jill Barnett that I have read, and I am heading to the ebook section as soon as I finish this to purchase another. Very often, when I get into the mood to read historical romance, I lean towards Highlanders, and the story lines, while different, are the same. I can't say that about this story. A true romance, with a little bit of white magic and a lot of love thrown into the mixture. The way Jill writes about how Joy sees and experiences things all around her make you want to stand in a field of white snow and watch the flakes fall. She is a fantastic writer, and I know that this is one of the rare novels that I will turn to read again and again.

posted by groovekitty on November 3, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

this ebook was ok

i enjoyed this ebook but it could have been really good but wasnt. the storyline was really cute but the delivery just missed the mark for me. the price was reasonable for the ebook. i buy a lot of ebooks but refuse to pay 9.99 and up for any ebook no matter who the aut...
i enjoyed this ebook but it could have been really good but wasnt. the storyline was really cute but the delivery just missed the mark for me. the price was reasonable for the ebook. i buy a lot of ebooks but refuse to pay 9.99 and up for any ebook no matter who the author is. these are book prices and these ebooks can be taken from our libraries at anytime. it was done to me and there was nothing i could do about it.publisher's pulled the title and even though i had already bought and read the book month's before it was still pulled from my library.this is why i decided no more would i pay book prices for an ebook.

posted by lovemyebooks on November 7, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 159 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted November 3, 2010

    I LOVED this book!

    I don't often write reviews, which is bad of me, because I ALWAYS read them before deciding to purchase. BUT, I have to say something about Betwitching. Because that's exactly what I was when I started reading. Bewitched. This is the first book by Jill Barnett that I have read, and I am heading to the ebook section as soon as I finish this to purchase another. Very often, when I get into the mood to read historical romance, I lean towards Highlanders, and the story lines, while different, are the same. I can't say that about this story. A true romance, with a little bit of white magic and a lot of love thrown into the mixture. The way Jill writes about how Joy sees and experiences things all around her make you want to stand in a field of white snow and watch the flakes fall. She is a fantastic writer, and I know that this is one of the rare novels that I will turn to read again and again.

    26 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    Funny and adorable

    I love that there are some tender and then laugh out loud moments tossed in. I think this is the best that she has ever written.

    12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2012

    Highly Recommended - a must read!

    This book is a wonderful read with many moments of hilarity. I've never laughed so much while reading a book! This has been a favorite book of mine for nearly 15 years and I can reread it and enjoy it like it's the first time each time I pick it up.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 7, 2010

    this ebook was ok

    i enjoyed this ebook but it could have been really good but wasnt. the storyline was really cute but the delivery just missed the mark for me. the price was reasonable for the ebook. i buy a lot of ebooks but refuse to pay 9.99 and up for any ebook no matter who the author is. these are book prices and these ebooks can be taken from our libraries at anytime. it was done to me and there was nothing i could do about it.publisher's pulled the title and even though i had already bought and read the book month's before it was still pulled from my library.this is why i decided no more would i pay book prices for an ebook.

    7 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2000

    Be prepared to laugh out loud.....

    OK-a witch and a Duke? I was prepared to roll my eyes and critique the piece negatively. BUT-the funniest (and I mean funniest) thing happened. I really fell in love with this story. Ms. Barnett does such a great job of mixing a powerful love story with great surprises and very funny situations. It is a 'make your day brighter' book-no doubt about it!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Very entertaining read. One of the few books this month that I e

    Very entertaining read. One of the few books this month that I enjoyed reading.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2010

    Clever and amusing but a bit to "Harlequin" for me.

    If you are in to romance novels you'll like it but I tend to skip past the parts with the flowery prose depicting what amounts to sex. I like the story and I don't mind some romantic parts in a story if tastefully done (read: leave something to the imagination), not gratuitous amounts and not when the story would be fine with a "less is more" approach.

    Other than that this is a fun book, the characters are somewhat developed but I never really empathized with any of them except the main character.

    I'd like to see more of this story in other books but more whimsically written and with less romantic elements and more, much, much more, magical and fantastical elements.

    Sometimes I thought the fact that she was a witch was almost besides the point. You could probably insert many other social impediments in place of witch and it would work nearly as well with only small changes to the story needed.

    In short, it wasn't really a fantasy novel about a witch with some romantic elements as it was a romance story about someone who just happens to also be a witch. I wish it had been more of the former.

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2009

    Bravo Jill!!!

    Just wait. You'll laugh, you'll cry and you'll read this book over and over again. This is the third copy of this book that I've owned. The first got wet, the second, I gave away and now I've replaced it again. The characters are fantastic. Oh, and just wait until you get to chapter 13!!! There is not a dull moment starting at page one and you'll love the rose petals too!
    She gives her aunt gray hair, her husband bad nerves and everyone joy, no pun intented - well maybe just a little.
    Read and enjoy and I guarantee you'll never forget it!!

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2003

    Full of fun and wit. Will make you laugh aloud.

    Set mostly in the year 1814, Joyous 'Joy' Fiona MacQuarie was half mortal and half white witch. She had been raised and taught by her aunt, The MacLean, since her parents had died. No matter how hard she tried though, she could not master her magic. So often something went wrong. When her aunt had to go to America for awhile, Joy was to teleport herself to a relative's cottage. She and Beezle (a weasel - her familiar) ended up in the lap of Alec Castlemaine, Duke of Belmore. ......... Alec was the fifteenth Duke of Belmore. His father had made sure that Alec took the role seriously - too seriously! Everyone knew his coldness, even his two closest buddies, the Earl of Downe and Viscount Seymour, and all except Downe and Seymour feared him. Alec's fiancé had just ran off a day before their wedding. To stop gossip and soothe his pride, Alec married Joy. ........... Joy had tried to tell Alec she was a witch, before they married, but he refused to listen. His kisses dazzled her and before she could say, 'Oh my goodness' they were wed. From then on Alec's world was never the same. When he made Joy cry, it rained water. When he kissed Joy, it rained pink rose petals. When he made Joy angry, the clouds voiced her feelings. And because Joy loved Alec with all her heart, she would give him what he needed most ... a little magical mayhem in his dreary world. ........ ***** I have fallen in LOVE with this author! In fact, I plan to search Barnett's back list in hopes of finding a story for Letitia. Pick up this title on your next awful day and watch your day get better quickly. Therre is just no way one can NOT laugh and enjoy such a book as this!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2011

    Very Good but not Perfect

    If I could have given the book 4.5 stars, I would have. It was funny in parts--especially Chapter 13--and it was definitely a change from the "typical" romance novel. However, I found the main hero to be tiresome and certain aspects, like the ultimatum near the end, did not make sense to me.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2011

    Must read, a wonderful story

    This is my repeat book. I always come away happy. Its just mystical and my very favorite book. Enjoy.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2012

    Enchanting

    I bought Bewitching on sale, because it was recommended by an author I usually read. You can read the synopsis, so I'll just say that I was mesmerized by this book.

    There is such a wonderful feeling to the whole story. So much of the plot was unexpected. I never knew quite where it was going, but I enjoyed every bit. Basically, this is a very unusual twist on the Duke with all pride and no feelings learning to love when he marries a woman that delights in every little thing AND who just happens to be a Scottish, white witch.

    Read it. You won't be sorry.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2012

    New favorite!

    I absolutely adored this book. It was the first I had read by this author and was very entertained! The main character was so charming and endearing, clumsy, and so funny. I laughed out loud many times, and got thoroughly caught up in the romance. Highly recommend!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2012

    I love Jill's books!

    Great story and alittle different. Laugh out loud humor. Great book to loose yourself in to escape the real world. I have been a fan of Jill's for years, highly reccomend all her books.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2012

    WOW

    This was a wonderful story. I do not usually like magic type books but this was laugh out loud funny. The characters we great. The emotions were heartfelt; love, sadness, joy, hurt it was done very well.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2012

    H Best book i have read in a while

    Loved this story..i became emotionally involved with the characters..my stomach would twist in knots when i became worried..i smiled at the romantic bits...and laughed at the humorous comments.this book truly had everything.a battle between man and himself.a romantic love story without being too vulgar.a focus on the value of family.and a magical twist.i was sad it ended.i may have fallen in love with a fictional character named Alec...oops

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2012

    The magic of love...

    Overall this was a good read. It was humorous and I found myseld invested in the characters. However, I wish more would've been written on the magical side of the story. That, and the Duke is a total ass who got off too easy (but isn't that the case in most of these stories?) Maybe the author will expand on the stories of the rest of the book's magical members....one can only hope...... I would love to ready about Jonathan's story!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2012

    LadybugNY1

    Funny, Sexy, Real love throughout... Joyous and Alec find and learn to love and with each other with a bit of help from some special people... Sit down read and enjoy. Moving on to the next book Dreaming, :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2012

    Starrynight

    Really enjoyed would love to read more from this writer. She has a wicked sense of humor, hope her future stories are as amusing. Definetly a five star and plus more.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2012

    Great book!

    Loved every seconed!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 159 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8