Customer Reviews for

Bewitching Season

Average Rating 4.5
( 43 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    An Amazing Book!!!!!!!! Don't Judge it because it will capture your heart!!!

    The book was one of the best books I have ever read!!! It has captured my heart just like how Twilight did, but the book is for anyone (including non-Twilight fans) I persuade Mrs. Marissa Doyle to write another book in that series, or even maybe send it to be made into a movie. I will recommend it to anyone who is bored and is looking for a book to capture their heart then when their done to read Betraying Season and learn more about the other Leland twin. This is one book I will never forget and will hopefully read the third book in this series one day. Thank You for reading my review and best wishes to Mrs. Doyle.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2008

    Amazing!

    Persephone and Penelope Leland are young witches learning magic and trying to find their future husbands. But when their governess (her name is Ally) goes missing, the sisters and their eleven year old brother search for Ally in 1837 London. But when they encounter Sir John Conroy and Princess Sophia they fall into even greater danger (though they were in danger already). Along the way Persephone and her sister will go to dances, Tea, and meet Princess Victoria. They have to stick together to find Ally and with help of a close friend, they just may be able to defeat the bad guys. <BR/><BR/>Bewitching Season was very well written. For Marissa Doyle¿s first novel it was fantastic. I loved that Persephone was a 18 year old girl that reads and enjoys books better than going to balls and to tea. <BR/>I didn¿t dislike anything in this book, I loved every single page. Bewitching Season was one of those books that you had to keep on reading even if your favorite TV show was on or that it one o¿clock in the morning. <BR/>It was an absolute page turner. I can¿t wait until the next book comes out (Betraying Season will come out spring 2009). I would recommend this book to girls that are 12 and up that love history and magic.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Tasha for TeensReadToo.com

    Persephone and Penelope Leeland are the twin daughters of a well-known English viscount and are getting ready to be thrown into their first season. While you couldn't tell the girls apart by looking at them, if you talked to them you would know that they are completely different. <BR/><BR/>All Penelope can talk about is the upcoming balls that the girls are planning on going to and the numerous gowns that she is going to wear. She loves all thoughts that have to do with future dances and possible husbands. Then there is Persephone. She would much rather hunker down and devote her time to magical studies. She really doesn't want anything to do with finding a husband or dancing the night away in a dress that she can hardly breathe in. <BR/><BR/>Just as the season is about to begin, the girls' governess disappears. It's up to the girls to figure out what happened. Along the way the girls will discover that the kidnapping has much to do with the plot to take away Princess Victoria's power. Encountering many interesting people, including a mysterious Irish wizard and a boy who might just be husband-worthy, the girls set off to solve the mystery. <BR/><BR/>I am a huge historical fiction fan as well as love books that include magic. Putting the two together created an amazing book that I instantly fell in love with. I thought that the story was completely original and absolutely spellbinding. I was highly impressed with Marissa Doyle's ability to captivate my attention throughout the entire book. I don't think I actually put the book down once - which is a big thing for me! I thought it was really neat that the main characters were twins who really didn't have much in common. The girls' differences thoughout made the book so interesting and it was really evident that they depended on each other for different strengths. <BR/><BR/>Another really special thing about this book is that the story sticks. The story keeps ringing through my head and I'm still loving it! I was really impressed with Ms. Doyle's debut novel and absolutely cannot wait for the sequel which will be out sometime next year (why oh why does it have to be that far away?!). It has definitely become a new favorite of mine, and if you haven't had the opportunity to read BEWITCHING SEASON I highly suggest you run out and get it now.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Bewitching Season

    Bewitching Season is just perfect. You just have to read it if want to have a good life. Perfect for curling up and reading it. There's magic, romance, and of course, a happy ending. You just want to read it straight through the night until you finish it. Perfect

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    an alluring early Victorian historical with strong fantasy elements

    In 1837 seventeen years old twins Penelope and Persephone Leland differ about their feelings about their debut season. Whereas Pen is euphoric looking forward to all the social activity especially with this being a coronation season in London Persy prefers to stay at home bookishly studying magic under the tutelage of their governess, Ally. However, both react the same way when Ally vanishes without a trace in Kensington Palace the sisters use their magical skills searching for her while Persy also overhears a seditious plot to keep Princess Victoria from being crowned Queen.------------- As she has in her mind and heart forever, Persy remained attracted to her neighbor Lord Seton, Lochinver, who only recently seems to have noticed her. However, finding beloved Ally comes first for her and for her sibling. The clues in balls and bashes lead to danger from traitorous conspirators who plan to use Ally¿s magical skills to turn Victoria into their puppet.-------------- Though targeting young adults, BEWITCHING SEASON is an alluring early Victorian historical with strong fantasy elements and some romance older fans of the period will appreciate the fun story line as the magic in Marissa Doyle¿s enchanting tale is how magic is treated as a skill young ladies must learn like knitting and playing the pianoforte. The twins are a delight as their personalities are vastly different on the surface with Pen being an extrovert and Persy an introvert, but inside they share courage and caring. The romantic subplot is kept for the most part in the background while the fantasy elements play more critical roles as they are the mechanism being used to control the soon to be queen. It is elementary that fans who enjoy an engaging historical with an invigorating fantasy foundation will want to read Ms. Doyle¿s fine thriller.--------------- Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2013

    Your mother

    I LOVED THIS BOOK! I read this a couple years ago and I don't know what the editors are talking about because I was only 9 when I read this and it was still fine. This book is amazing and deffinately not a waste of money!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2012

    AWESOME!!!!

    I agree with the person who posted on the 30th of march this shuld be made into a movie! And the song that Persy would be thinking of twords Lochnivar in our time would be One and Only by Adele

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Bewithcing.

    I've re-read this book a couple of times and STILL get shocked with the story. I'm a VERY picky person when it comes to my books and I have to say this book is brillant in every way. You really should read this book if you like English culture (etc.) This book is WAY better than the second; "Betraying Season". I think Betraying Season...sucks. So, between the two, Bewitching Season is a better read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2011

    My absolute favorite

    This is the best book ever i have ever read & defanatly worth the money. It has all the good qualitys: Romance,Magic,Mystery,adventure ect... & is in a victorian setting.The characters are so real, with true to life emotion.With all featres wraped into one it is very captivating.If you want a book that will captivate you & keep you reading, this is for you.I am twelve and love good, mature books. This book won me over & It just may win you over too!

    Post Script:The sequel is just as captivating as the first,you should really cheak it out too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Amazing. :)

    Bewitching Season is a fantastic book, in my opinion. It incorporates mystery, romance, and historic fiction. It is also easy to relate to, at least for me it is, since I am close to my siblings. It is easy to understand, and it had me wanting to read more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A fabulous new series

    Twins, Persephone (Persy) and Penelope (Pen), are getting ready for their season debut. There's so much to learn and so much still to accomplish. Persy is extremely nervous about her debut, partially that she'll have to hold conversations with strangers. Both girls will have to be careful about keeping their magical abilities quiet. Just as they arrive at their London house, they soon discover that their governess is missing. When they visit her family, the plot thickens and they begin to suspect foul play. What would someone want with their governess and why is she being held at Kensington Palace? Luckily, they receive an invitation to the palace for tea and have a small chance for snooping. Can they solve the mystery, debut into society without mistakes, and flirt with eligible bachelors all at the same time?

    I loved the romance, the magic, and mystery of this charming novel

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Awesome Book!

    I thought that the Bewithcing Season was really awesome. It was a Christmas gift. Its about twin sisters named Persephone and Penelope who are twin witches and they have a little brother named Charles (Called Chuckles) There governess and magic teacher gets kidnapped in a plot to control Princess Victoria. And Persephone doesn't like going to balls she loves to read. And thats all I'm going to tell you. But it has action, romance, history and magic in it. I recommend others to read it. Also coming out in May is a sequel called the Betraying Season which is mostly about Persephones sister Penelope.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2008

    A Magical Story

    Persephone and Penelope Leland are twins in early nineteenth century London. To the rest of the world, they are beautiful young women who are about to make their debut into society and then search for suitable husbands. But what most people don't know is that the women of the Leland family are known for their magical abilities. The twins study magic under the careful tutorage of their governess Ally. While they are usually very close, Persephone and Penelope start to have secrets from each other. Penelope is extremely excited about making her debut into London society, but Persephone would rather continue studying magic. But one day, Ally suddenly disappears. The twins get repeated nightmares about their governess, which leads them to think Ally is in grave danger. So, with the help of their younger brother Charles and also Ally's family, they try to devise a plan to find out Ally's whereabouts. Now, I don't want to start gushing in an overenthusiastic way, but I have to say that Bewitching Season had everything I was looking for in a book. The characters were very realistic, and so was the description of London society. The magical aspect of the book never seemed phony, which was refreshing. I enjoyed reading the story which was primarily told from Persephone's perspective, and the romantic twist was the cherry on top of a delicious read. What I particularly enjoyed was that the storyline was never too predictable I have read so many books now that I can often guess what will happen next in the story. But Bewitching Season truly kept me guessing, and I loved how the ending was not what I expected. I highly recommend this novel, especially for fans of the A Great and Terrible Beauty series by Libba Bray and The Luxe by Anna Godbersen. I also cannot wait until the continuation of the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2008

    A compelling novel with many exciting twists and turns!

    The beggining of the book was a little slow to me but after a few chapters you can't put the book down! I was surpirsed about how much I learned about the Victorian time period just by reading this book. There is a great shocking twist at the the end! Although I some what predicted it to happen. But you have to read it to see what I am talking about! I give this book 5 stars in a heart beat!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2008

    Entrancing read

    When I heard about this book's general plot on a writers' listserv, I was intrigued. It did not disappoint. In fact, it kept me up late a few nights in a row, which is saying a lot since I'm not the prescribed audience. The writer has a super fun voice and style, and the plot was intriguing. I also liked the fact that the teen main characters made believable, smart decisions. The tone of voice and type of story was reminiscent of Marion Chesney regencies, which I love, and there's a touch of Georgette Heyer, especially in the humor. A totally fun read. Am looking forward to her next book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2