Customer Reviews for

Beyond All Measure

Average Rating 4.5
( 45 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Whats up?

Why r there so many long reviews? I have to agrre with the last reviewer. R these people getting paid or something? Sure it soundsike a good book but i have never seen so many good reviews. ??????????????

posted by 17483533 on January 30, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Reviews seem "profess ionally" written!

I don't trust all of these reviews. Not one is shorter than TWO pages and some are as long as SIX!! Not the typical reviews you usually get for a book. Won't duy a book based on reviews written by copy writers who seem to be getting paid by the word!!

posted by SPotter on January 30, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2013

    Reviews seem "profess ionally" written!

    I don't trust all of these reviews. Not one is shorter than TWO pages and some are as long as SIX!! Not the typical reviews you usually get for a book. Won't duy a book based on reviews written by copy writers who seem to be getting paid by the word!!

    5 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2013

    Whats up?

    Why r there so many long reviews? I have to agrre with the last reviewer. R these people getting paid or something? Sure it soundsike a good book but i have never seen so many good reviews. ??????????????

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2011

    RATING:4.5)A MUST READ POST CIVIL WAR HISTORICAL WITH ROMANCE AND FAITH!BEYOND ALL MEASURE BY DOROTHY LOVE....

    BEYOND ALL MEASURE by Dorothy Love is an exciting inspirational historical fiction set in 1871 Hickory Ridge, Tennessee. This is this author's debut into Christian fiction. It is the first in the "A Hickory Ridge Romance". It is written with depth and details.The plot is intriguing,easy to follow,exciting with the charm of the old South.The characters are enchanting,charming,engaging and will capture your heart. It has romance,faith,healing,the struggles of the aftermath of the Civil War,trust,community,dreams,forgiveness,painful past,betrayal,the charm of a small community,misunderstandings, fear,hate,h,and finding love after the sacrifices of war. Ada Wentworth,is penniless,and has lost that she holds dear.She must find a job and travels to Hickory RidgeTennessee from Boston to become a Lady's companion. Ada stills has dreams of her own. Wyatt Caldwell,local lumber mill owner,kind,ex-war veteran,a,his Aunt Lillian is who Ada is a Lady's companion,and he believes Ada coming to town was Providence,but he has dreams of his own. While Ada and Wyatt fights their attraction,they must learn to trust each other and let go of the past. This is my first time reading this author but it will not be my last. While this is a Christian historical fiction is not "preachy".It does have the underline message of faith,hope and God's plan for our life. A must read for any historical,romance,inspirational,post civil war,and Old South readers. A keeper. This book was received for review from the author.Details can be found at Thomas Nelson and My Book Addiction and More.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2012

    It's been a while since I read a Christian romance, I was lookin

    It's been a while since I read a Christian romance, I was looking forward to this one and I love series. I enjoyed this book of a young girl Ada who seemed to have a strong will, determination and loyalty.

    I was able to predicate what was going to happen before it even happen. I was hoping that the author would really show what TRUE courtship was about, but it seemed to move at a fast pace, which for a series, was disappointing. It did not leave me "waiting" to read the next book.

    I enjoyed the quality of the characters. Even though some of them seemed a little stretched. It's hard to find quality books these days and this would be a nice one to start off with if you are getting into romance books.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great Recommended Read

    I really enjoyed this book. Set in Hickory Ridge TN just after the Civil War, with the ongoing problems of living after a war had torn apart the country. Ada Wentworth is from Boston, MA, and moves into the Southern reconstruction. Wyatt Caldwell, a man who fought for the South in the War, now owns a Wood Mill, and is prospering.
    Ada has come to be a companion to Wyatt's Aunt Lillian, or so she thought, not only is she a companion, but the cook, cleaner and chauffeur. The job certainly wasn't what she expected, and Aunt Lillian is kind of caustic.
    As time goes on she ends up repairing one of Lillian's hats, and now others want an original Ada creation. Neither Wayatt or Lillian like that Ada is doing a side business, but Wayatt tends to really like Ada. Both Ada and Wayatt need to trust on the Lord, and he has answers to their prayers
    This is a sweet romance, and a very quick read...you will have a hard time putting this book down.

    I received this book from the publisher Thomas Nelson, I was not required to give a positive review.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2011

    A great summer read!

    I've read Dorothy Love's books for young adults and loved them, but I wasn't sure what to expect when she changed genres. Could she create a world where I would be drawn in and fall in love with the characters in post Civil War Tennessee as well as she created the worlds in which her young characters played out their lives with such intensity? I should have been more trusting. Hum, come to think of it, trust is a major issue for Ada, Dorothy's leading lady, in Beyond All Measure. My doubts were swept away much more quickly than Ada's. From Chapter One, Dorothy weaves history and story into a seamless presentation of life in rural Tennessee. Ada, a young Northern woman jilted by her fiance and left destitute by her father's death, comes to the South to be a companion to an elder widow. The issues of Civil War hatreds, race, and a woman's place surround Ada as she learns to trust God, trust herself, and trust the man who falls head over heels in love with her. The fact that these issues are still current gives an added dimension to the book. Why did I say a good summer read? It's a good read anytime of year.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Plans Do Not Work Out As Planned - Exciting Story

    Dorothy Love in her new book, "Beyond All Measure" Book One in the Hickory Ridge Romance series published by Thomas Nelson takes us to Hickory Ridge, Tennessee in 1871.

    Ada Wentworth has been attacked by life. She has lost her family, her fiance and her fortune and now feels that the only person she can rely upon is herself, certainly not God. So she has traveled to Hickory Ridge to be a lady's companion to Lillian Willis, an elderly woman not in good health. Wyatt Caldwell is the local lumber mill owner and Lillian's nephew. Ada eventually wants to open her own millinery shop and stay in Hickory Ridge, Wyatt wants to return to Texas and start his own Longhorn ranch. How will this relationship ever work out?

    Dorothy Love has woven some very complicated themes into "Beyond All Measure". There is the theme of racism as Ada gets involved with Sophie, a mulatto girl who resides at the Hickory Ridge orphanage. Tensions rise as group of locals seek to displace the residents of Two Creeks, a "colored" settlement on the edge of town. Hickory Ridge is a town set in a time just after the Civil War where the people are just trying to figure out how to rebuild after the war. Not only the town but each other as well. Ms. Love is an excellent writer and makes all her characters believable and you care deeply for them as she deftly unfolds the plot before us. This is a nice romance with great themes. Ms. Love has given us a great beginning to a wonderful series. I am looking forward to the next book.

    If you would like to listen to interviews with other authors and professionals please go to Kingdom Highlights where they are available On Demand.

    To listen to 24 Christian music please visit our internet radio station Kingdom Airwaves

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze® book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 : "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    inspiring...

    I don't usually cater to romance novels, but when I saw this on booksneeze, the summary just caught my fancy. What the heck, right? It's a book any way you look at it. Well, as it turns out, it is more than just a book. It's an entertaining book. The story was well thought out and presented in such a way that makes it hard to put down. It's definitely kept me awake through the long hours of the night, reading on and on if only to find out just what Ada Wentworth is going to do with the slew of changes that's coming to her life, and just how each change and each action is going to change her for the better.

    I must say I was not disappointed. Like I said, the story was well thought out and is sure to entertain as well as teach every Christian women the value of trusting God and letting the people who genuinely care about you help you through your ordeals. The romance between the protagonists ran a natural course that made it all the more believable that I have found real love in each other. This is the kind of romance book that people should read and learn from nowadays. A five out of five!

    I got a free copy of this book to review from booksneeze.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    --it was an interesting read Not terribly exciting.

    There were some interesting twists, but the end was what I expected. It was entertaining but not too exciting.

    I would say this book is for the casual reader--not very deep or thought provoking. It reads very fast.

    I might read another one of this author.

    No I would not recommend this for a book club discussion--not enough to discuss.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2013

    ?

    Thanks to all these long overly excessive plot spoilers, here is another book ruined. I refuse to pay goid money after these rude, self absorbed wanna be authors rewrite the book in their reviews. They should be banned from posting on here. If they want to cliff note the authors work, go to the publishers web site, since they love to brag how they got the book for free.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Protecting your heart can mean missing out on the love of a lifetime!

    He Whose heart is kind beyond all measure
    Gives unto each day what He deems best -
    Lovingly, it's part of pain and pleasure,
    Mingling toil with peace and rest. - Carolina Sandell Berg, "Day by Day" (C. 1865)

    A broken heart is a difficult thing to bear. Even worse is the ability to let down the walls that we build up to protect the wounds from being hurt even more, while hopefully allowing the heart to mend. Yet in that process, we fail to realize what our actions are really doing. They set us apart from allowing others to see what we truly are like, and block the ability to ever really love and trust again.

    Ada Wentworth is looking for a way to begin again. Vowing a personal covenant with herself, she promises to stand strong, become an independent woman and never trust the love of a man again, no matter how kind or attractive he may be. Hickory Ridge, in Tennessee offers her that hope again. Answering an ad in the paper for a ladies companion, she hopes to work long enough to save up the money to move back to Boston and start up a hat shop of her own. Healing from a broken heart, she has hardened herself to everything and everyone including God. Determined and strong-willed, she resolves to do whatever it takes to make it on her own, without the help of anyone, no matter how her heart still hurts inside.

    Wyatt Caldwell is the local lumber mill owner, whose ad, Ada has come to answer. Living a bit far away from town, he is looking for someone to care for his aunt Lillian Willis. Since the mill has been busy, Wyatt has built a home near the mill and therefore, needs someone to look after Lillian while he is gone for most of the day. The only problem is that Lillian Willis, is herself set in her ways, strong-willed and cantankerous. She knows just about everyone in town and has an opinion on everything. Not only that, but she has some spells that may just about push poor Miss Ada back to Boston.

    What surprises await Ada when she steps off the train and into the hearts of the residents of Hickory Ridge, and what danger also looms under the cover of darkness that may end things for her before she has a chance to find love again.

    I received Beyond All Measure by Dorothy Love compliments of TLC Book Tours for my honest review. Being a huge fan of western romances with a twist, this one was a delight to read. I loved the characters that she develops and makes the readers have a real relationship with them. Ada's so determined to not let anyone in, she fails to see the truth that lies right before her eyes at times. Lillian has to be my favorite, being so blunt and honest, she doesn't hold back when something needs to be said. That being said, this book rates a 5 out of 5 stars in my opinion and can't wait to continue the story in the next book in the Hickory Ridge Romance series.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2011

    My Hat Is Off to Beyond All Measure!

    As a native Tennessean, I'm always excited to find novels set in my home state and somewhat concerned that the author might not get the setting or the attitudes of the people quite right. In the case of Beyond All Measure, I didn't need to worry at all. From the first page Dorothy Love's story grabbed me as she delved into the emotions of the people in Hickory Ridge, an East Tennessee community.

    As Ada Wentworth of Boston begins a new life far away from everything she's ever known, her desire for something of her own threatens the love she's finding with handsome Wyatt Caldwell. Dorothy Love weaves a compelling love story as Ada learns to trust and find God's plan for her life.

    Beyond All Measure marks Dorothy Love's debut in Christian fiction. As a dedicated reader of historical fiction, I salute her on writing an inspiring story that I won't soon forget. I can hardly wait for the story to continue in the next book when Ada and Wyatt return to Hickory Ridge for a wedding.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2011

    Beyond all Measure Captivates

    Beyond all Measure, a hickory ridge romance by Dorothy Love, keeps readers intrigued throughout the entire novel. Ada Wentworth, the heroine of this Christian romance, is a strong young woman who has come upon hard times and needs to accept a position as a caretaker for an older Southern woman from Tennessee. Ada must leave her beloved Boston and the only culture she knows for this new, unknown world in the post-civil war South. Her determination and courage make her a truly captivating character. Added to this mysterious plot enters the handsome Wyatt Caldwell, the nephew of Ada's future caretaker who currently owns the lumber mill in town. In a fast-paced, enduring story, Love writes with richprose and a keen sense of history that makes this novel a must read.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2011

    Loved It

    Left penniless after her father's death, Ada Wentworth heads to the backwoods of Tennessee to earn her living as an assistant to an elderly woman. Her life in this new place is completely different than the life she was used to in Boston. Ada's new job brings struggles and duties she was not anticipating; Ada also wasn't anticipating falling for the nephew of the woman she cares for. Life isn't all fun and games for Ada, especially when she comes face to face with deep roots of racism and anti-Yankee sentiment. Beyond All Measure follows Ada on the journey of discovering who she is, overcoming the past and embracing the future.
    This was a fun book to read, the story lines that intertwined kept me turning pages long after I should have gone to bed. The author, Dorothy Love, really keeps the reader in suspense about how the story is going to turn out. As I was nearing the end, I was sure that this write up would state that it didn't end the way it should have and that there was no closure; as I got even closer to the last page, however, I changed my mind and decided that this story ended just the way it was supposed to. This is a great work of post-Civil War historical fiction.

    Disclaimer: A complimentary copy of this book was provided for review by Bethany House Publishers. All thoughts are my own and I was not required to post a positive review.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A Great Read I Definitely Recommend

    Beyond All Measure by Dorothy Love is a wonderful book about a young woman from Boston who finds herself in Hickory Ridge Tennessee in the years following the Civil War.

    In the summer of 1871 Ada Wentworth has no family, no home, and no money to her name. Ada accepts a position as a lady's companion for the elderly Lillian Willis, aunt of the local lumber mill owner, Wyatt Caldwell. Ada plans to save up enough money to establish her own hat shop with the millinery skills her mother taught her.

    With unanswered questions from her past, Ada is guarded but finds herself drawn to Wyatt, a Texan with big plans, and Sophie, a mulatto girl who lives at the local orphanage. The problem is that Ada's friendship with Sophie attracts attention from some townsfolk who want to displace Two Creeks, a settlement of "colored" men and women at the edge of town. Tensions rise but Ada is determined to help Sophie.

    When Lillian passes Ada is left without employment or a home. And now that his aunt has passed Wyatt is free to return to Texas to start his dream of owning a ranch. Can Ada let go of her past and trust god with her future? Can she let go of the betrayal of another to trust Wyatt with her heart?

    This is a book that I really enjoyed. I am currently working on several books, and you know when you are drawn to put other books down that you've found a keeper. Beyond All Measure if definitely a keeper. I enjoyed the main characters, but I really liked the secondary characters. They were not left behind while the story centered on a select few. This is a great read and I can't wait for the next Hickory Ridge book!

    This book also had a discussion guide at the end, good for personal reflection or a book club.

    Thomas Nelson has provided me with a complimentary copy of the ebook for review purposes.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2011

    A Lovely Surprise

    I'm not a romance reader, which makes me a good reviewer for this book, I think. I received a copy free to review. But I love history (especially the Civil War and post-Civil War era), so I started this book with hope! I also am a transplanted Yankee from up north who, for family reasons, is living in Texas, so the story line was intriguing. Ada, the transplanted Yankee from Boston, resonated with me. She seemed real, which enabled me to get involved in her life and the life of the story.

    Although it's a historical romance, much of the content is relevant to today's woman. Everywhere you go, people are dealing with loss (and Ada has many). Women today are struggling to trust people and afraid to allow themselves to love again. Letting go of past hurts and trusting others (and trusting God) again is a real challenge-which Ada struggles with as well. So many people are looking for a fresh start. So I think BEYOND ALL MEASURE will speak to women who, like me, might not ordinarily pick up a romance. There were plenty of subplots true to the post-Civil War times to keep my interest. I think you'll find the same thing.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2011

    Could not put it down!

    "Beyond All Measure" by Dorothy Love is one of the best books I have read in a long time; I could not put it down. I am an avid Francine Rivers reader and I have to put this book right up there with my favorites of hers. I enjoy books that transport you back in time and that are about second chances not only at love, life, and relationships but also at faith. This one transports you back the late 1800's in rural Tennessee after the Civil War, gives you insight on the way of living, the still grown ignorance and intolerance of people, the growth in industry, the community events and education at that time, and the mindset of the people of those days. It paints a clear picture on how God helps us to find the right paths in life, and how he steers us in the right direction whether we know it or understand it at the time. Wonderful book, I highly recommend it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2014

    Great book!

    Full run of emotions book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2014

    Great book. Couldn't put it down. Great love story.

    Great book. Couldn't put it down. Great love story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2014

    Shorter reviews

    Please post shorter reviews. The long long overly positive review smack of purchased words .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3