Customer Reviews for

Beyond Belief: My Secret Life Inside Scientology and My Harrowing Escape

Average Rating 4
( 112 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(56)

4 Star

(29)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

34 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

Incredible insight into a world of child abuse and brain washing

Incredible insight into a world of child abuse and brain washing. I believe this woman and it is obvious that she has amazing strength to turn away from the only way of life she knew. I'm so happy she was able to escape and have the heart to tell her story. A good read ...
Incredible insight into a world of child abuse and brain washing. I believe this woman and it is obvious that she has amazing strength to turn away from the only way of life she knew. I'm so happy she was able to escape and have the heart to tell her story. A good read and very informative.

posted by Anonymous on February 6, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

Much of the information is already in other books on this topic,

Much of the information is already in other books on this topic, which is SO annoying. The beginning part about her schooling, etc. really dragged on, All kids have a hard time sitting still and doing school work. Many incidences could have been cut to shorten the book...
Much of the information is already in other books on this topic, which is SO annoying. The beginning part about her schooling, etc. really dragged on, All kids have a hard time sitting still and doing school work. Many incidences could have been cut to shorten the book. Example: she talked about how she attended a party where no one was drinking alcohol, except for one person who got buzzed and was ridiculed for drinking by the adults at the scene. She wasn't given alcohol, so where is the abuse there? Most parents want their kids to be away from drinking and drug environments.

If you have already read at least one of the many books on this group, you can skip this one.

posted by Anonymous on February 12, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 112 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2013

    Incredible insight into a world of child abuse and brain washing

    Incredible insight into a world of child abuse and brain washing. I believe this woman and it is obvious that she has amazing strength to turn away from the only way of life she knew. I'm so happy she was able to escape and have the heart to tell her story. A good read and very informative.

    34 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2013

    "beyond belief" is an incredible account of the lives

    "beyond belief" is an incredible account of the lives lived by people in "Scientology". I could not put it down and was in utter disbelieff at first that this could occur in this day and age. There is no question in my mind that brainwashing, threats and child abuse occurs daily in the lives of many if not all in Scientology. I will no longer watch any movie or any program associated with any actor or actress who is involved in "Scientology". The reason being, although Scientology theories may not be all that may be misleading, it is the fact that there is known proof of abuse (no matter what shape of form the abuse may come in) of what it is like living and growing up in Scientology and any actor or actress who stays active in Scientology is only condoning what is taking place. I hope I am not alone in protesting a boycott on actor/actresses that are actively involved in Scientology. Until those in power are removed and held accountable for their actions, WE SHOULD ALL BE ASHAMED IF WE RENT, WATCH OR GO ANY MOVIE, CONCERT OR SHOW THEY ARE INVOLVED IN.

    26 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2013

    "beyond belief" is a very amazing book!! I found it ve

    "beyond belief" is a very amazing book!! I found it very hard to put down. jenna miscavige hill was the neice of the head of the church of scientology she made an amazing escape from the organization with her daughters cause she begain to questian there motives and their questianable motives and the abuse that she and her friends had to go through many secrets about the leader and this strange organization is shared in this great book wonderful read. great gift idea for friend or family. other book to recamend : inside scientology by janet reitman

    25 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2013

    Incredible Read!! A Must Read Book!! Wow! This book is detail

    Incredible Read!! A Must Read Book!!


    Wow! This book is detailed into the life of Jenna Miscavige Hill, niece to David Miscaige (CBO). Jenna is so brave as she delves into the darkest and most corrupt system that claims to be a church. It is harrowing to read that at the age of 2 she was raised at a camp of sorts for children, whose parents had dedicated their lives to the Sea Org. With Jenna’s parents away, somewhere within the organization, Jenna is indoctrinated into the beliefs and different levels within Scientology. There are so many moments that Jenna truly wants to embrace the lifestyle and sacrifice she has made as a Sea Org member (signing the billion year contract), however she soon can’t ignore or excuse the red flags that keep popping up. Over time, Jenna loses family members who are classified as “SP’s”, and she is alone with only the guidance of her Aunt Shelley and a few other higher-ups. However, there comes a point where Jenna truly wants her life, her independence, and sees the organization’s corruptions, abuse of power, and leaves the organization.


    There were many times I was just shocked by the depravity and isolation Jenna and others like her, experienced. Scientology isn’t a religion, it’s a way to gain higher power based on the money you give and who you are (star power). The sheer torture of working non-stop for little to no pay, the separation from family and friends, the cut-offs from those who dont’ support Scientology, and the paranoia surrounded by those in higher ups who fear that the organization’s image will be tarnished, motivates those in upper positions to abuse their power, demote people from their level, and really becomes more man based than God based. While Scientology doesn’t believe in God, they really look to LRH as the man with the plan. With some basic psychology 101 and e-meter readings, individuals are coerced through fear, removal of benefits ( like making a phone call), and falling behind a level (even if you already reached a level, you can possibly be stripped of it to start all over). Education is primarily centered around the teachings and not formal education (traditional schooling). So, there is a catch. If a person moves through all the levels, which costs thousands of dollars, by the time the highest level is reached to Clear-the person may feel rather stupid learning about the aliens and Xenu that they stick with it b/c of all the money invested. Likewise, with education-if a child is raised in Scientology, he/she will be behind educationally and may not feel useful in the outside world. So, in many ways this religion does cause a sense of learned helplessness and a person becomes dependent on someone in higher position to be validated. With so many secrets and trying to keep people in control, those in the Sea Org don’t want tv, interact too much with the outside world, and become truly dependent on the organization.


    Reading all the Jenna endured, I am amazed and inspired by her courage, tenacity, and willingness to ask questions-even when others didn’t want her to. Jenna brought great points to the forefront and one can only hope that people will look more deeper into the secrets and abuse that Scientology has done to its members.

    Overall, this was an incredible read and Jenna wrote this book in terms that non-Scientologists could understand, but that Scientologists would also understand and know that her experience is true. I hope that her book opens eyes and creates changes within the organization and the individuals that make up the “religion”.

    21 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2013

    my husband left me as a young mother with a new baby.  A woman i

    my husband left me as a young mother with a new baby.  A woman involved in Scientology wanted to 'help' me by signing me up with the 'contract''.   I was not in a good place and probably would have signed  up had it not been for the elusive comments about where my child would be and with whom.  I did not sign up and the whole book gives me chills to think what would have become of my baby, then only a year old.  Ms. Hill gives an amazing, unvarnished look at  the sick, twisted entity that is Scientology. A lot of the book gave me chills as I think what our lives could have been like, living apart from each other.  thank you for writing this awesome book.

    21 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Brave girl and a lucky one to have lived a life that opened her

    Brave girl and a lucky one to have lived a life that opened her eyes to the goodness of real life where she is allowed to control the shots. Wonderful. I love these uplifting, eye-opening, feel good about life and life-changing books.

    14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2013

    The inside view

    Wow! Great inside view of Sciencetology. Good for her in getting out. The true word of what the inside of a cult looks like. I couldnt put it down

    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2013

    Much of the information is already in other books on this topic,

    Much of the information is already in other books on this topic, which is SO annoying. The beginning part about her schooling, etc. really dragged on, All kids have a hard time sitting still and doing school work. Many incidences could have been cut to shorten the book. Example: she talked about how she attended a party where no one was drinking alcohol, except for one person who got buzzed and was ridiculed for drinking by the adults at the scene. She wasn't given alcohol, so where is the abuse there? Most parents want their kids to be away from drinking and drug environments.

    If you have already read at least one of the many books on this group, you can skip this one.

    7 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2013

    Poorly written and too thick with Scientology jargon.

    Poorly written and too thick with Scientology jargon.

    6 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2013

    Not exactly what I was looking for, but ....

    If, like me, you are looking for an in depth expose of Scientologies beliefs and teachings, this isn't the book to read. That's not to say that this isn't a book worth your time, or money.

    It's an excellent book regarding some of the inner workings and behind the scenes of Scientology.

    This book will serve you well if you have a family member or a friend who is a Scientologist, especially if they're a Scientology "insider" and you want to understand the fundamental teachings that are shaping and informing them.

    Personally, I'd love to see a book written by the author's parents, as well!

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2013

    Confirms my Suspicions and Experience

    This book confirms my experience of people being held beyond their own will at the Ranch. This continues to this day. I believe the author should get an award for creating such an open new territory in writing. Nothing is more golden than personal experience.

    The only thing missing is other parts of scientology. I know they have space port landing port and library in nw new mexico when lrh's alien leader returns. You can see it on google maps sw of dulce. I hope the author creates further study into a second volume.

    Wonderful. Thank You.
    Brian Kortmeyer

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2013

    An amazing story. Scientology is truly evil! Everyone should rea

    An amazing story. Scientology is truly evil! Everyone should read this.

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2013

    Awesome

    An eyeopener.

    4 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2013

    Excellent! THIS is the ONE to read, don't bother wondering.

    There were sooooo many books on scientology (sorry, I won't give it the dignity of a capital "S"). It was confusing which one to choose to read...so trust me when I say I did the research for you. THIS is the one to read.
    It's a page turner as Jenna seems to take the reader week through week from the day of her entry into scientology as a little girl until the heartpounding day she escapes as a full grown adult.
    This book made me feel enraged, intrigued, amazed, frustrated, and at times even frightened.
    I never really believed in brainwashing. This story made me realize how little by little, day by day and event by event, a cult - yes i think of scientology as a cult-can brainwash someone.
    This is a must-read if you are curious about the scientology "church", which i loosely call them.
    That L.Ron Hubbard sure pulled a fast one decades ago...when he bet someone he could start a church and that he could actually get people to follow in it. That joke turned into a nightmare.
    There is a lot of scientology terms...you will come to know them as you read them, but I didn't know this until I was finished with the book...after the story is a short glossary with definitions you may want to refer as you read.
    When I finished this book, I researched videos on youtube. I found a video that actually frightened me. If you watch it before you read the book, it won't creep you out, it wouldn't have creeped me out. But after reading about these people, I was literally frightened and scared watching this woman at the door.
    So read the book first, then afterwards search youtube for 'scientology stalker', you will see exactly what I mean!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2013

    WOW, what a ride!! I read this from cover to cover on my Nook a

    WOW, what a ride!! I read this from cover to cover on my Nook and simply could not put it down. What an altered reality some people are living!!

    Don't miss this book, it's fantastic!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2013

    Good book

    Couldn't put this down....anyone curious about this so called religion must read...

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2013

    I read a sample of this book it is interesting, but I wou








    I
    read a sample of this book it is interesting, but I would never let any one tell me how think or what to do in my beliefs.

    3 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2013

    not good book

    not good book

    3 out of 55 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2013

    Very interesting

    I've always wondered how the Church of Scientology operated and what exactly were their beliefs. This expose lays it all out there. A most horrifying example of brainwashing and abuse of powers. What those families allowed themselves to be put through does beg the question as to how can supposedly intelligent people be so mislead as to give up their children and even their personal lives to foster the teachings of a Science-Fiction writer. They are willing to be deprived and humiliated and isolated from their loved ones all because some writer says that's the way to a better life??? It's nuts in my opinion.
    If you want to be enlightened about the mysteries of this church, then this is the book to read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2013

    stopped reading because just keeps repeating same story line. sh

    stopped reading because just keeps repeating same story line. she takes this class. she takes a trip to see mother. then her father. yes, the children are made to work long, hard hours. but tell me that once, not over and over again. do not recomend this book. to repetative. to boring.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 112 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6