Customer Reviews for

Beyond Belief: Finding the Strength to Come Back

Average Rating 4.5
( 233 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(183)

4 Star

(34)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 235 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 12
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2012

    A true inspiration

    As a true Ranger girl it hurt me to read about Josh Hamiltons struggles, but through the pain and strife God is always there.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2012

    One of the greatest players alive

    He is awesome and awesome book.Very very inspirinh

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2012

    AWESOME BOOK

    Super inspiring and couldnt put it down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2012

    Beyond amazing book!

    This is probably the most inspirational book I have ever read! Learning what Josh went through, resulted me in having so much more respect for him. This book & his story will stay with me forever.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Anne B. for Readers Favorite Early in life people r

    Reviewed by Anne B. for Readers Favorite

    Early in life people recognized the fact that Joshua Hamilton was going to be a gifted baseball player. He was blessed with parents who were supportive but not pushy. He was soon playing with the older team. He loved playing baseball. In high school Josh was a good player but he was a better person and he tried to be kind to everyone. His story concerning Ashley, the ball boy and mascot proved his kindness and patience. Right out of high school he was the first player chosen in the first round. The year was 1999. His parents traveled with him that first year. Perhaps he was tired of being known as a good guy. His first act of “adulthood” was to get a tattoo; the next was to get five more. Just as the second year was starting there was an automobile accident. His parents returned to WV and for the first time Josh was on his own. The doctors could not discover why, but he was in great pain. He began a downward spiral during those last four years. He turned to drugs and alcohol as a means of escape. After a lifetime of dedication and work, Josh lost it all.

    Josh Hamilton does not go easy on himself. He accepts the responsibility for his actions. Hamilton shares his story in the hope of helping someone else. Josh didn’t stop with six tattoos; he has at least fifteen. He admits that his tattoos are just a sign of his addictive personality. I can’t help but wonder whether things would have been different if he had finished college before beginning a baseball career. Perhaps he just wasn’t mature enough. "Beyond Belief" is an amazing story about an amazing young man. As I listened to this audio book I felt as if I had a connection to Josh. Ethan Sawyer is the reader. His voice is easy to listen to. Josh Hamilton and Tim Keown co-author this book. Today Josh plays center for the Texas Rangers.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2012

    This a great book about life changing experenses for Josh Hamil

    This a great book about life changing experenses for Josh Hamilton and his family. I highly recommand this book to anyone who don't have a role model.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2012

    overall great

    Beyond Belief is definitely worth a read for baseball fans or those struggling with addiction. Josh's experience is truly beyond belief. He sunk so deep and came back to be a superstar. This book made me so proud of him.
    As a person in recovery, however, I wish the authors would've talked more about 12-step recovery. For people who might not be Christian, there is still hope for recovery & release from the bondage of drugs & alcohol. I am a Christian and think it's great that Josh is spreading the Gospel, but I'm afraid this book might alienate those who want to recover but are a different religion or not religious at all.
    Nonetheless, I think everyone should read this book. Even if you're not interested in recovery or Christianity, it's a great and inspiring story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2012

    Interesting

    This gives you the basic information about Josh Hamilton. However, it doesn't give you anything indepth.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2012

    Love it!!!

    Way to go josh.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2012

    Excellent book. Josh Hamilton is an inspiration.

    I became a fan after watching something on ESPN about Josh Hamilton about his story. Just last night I was able to read his book. I am an even bigger fan after reading his story and have so much respect for him.

    The book is very well written. I couldn't put it down; I read it in 4 hours! I think that with Hamilton telling his story, he becomes more of a role model for kids who look up to major league baseball players. In my opinion, ALL professional sports players should remember that they have so many young people that look up to them and want to be like them. Unfortunately that's not always the case. For Josh Hamilton to own up and share his story with so many, he shows that you CAN overcome drug abuse and make yourself successful!

    Way to go, Josh! Keep doing what you're doing!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    Grear read

    Inspiring book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2011

    Very popular book.

    Many people have recommended this book, so I wanted to get the hardcover and give as a gift to my son for Christmas and keepsake. This is a VERY HARD BOOK TO FIND!! I know it will be well received.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 4, 2011

    A must read!

    Everyone should read this awesome story of faith and strength. It gives such an insight into the world of an addict...the power of drug addiction and what a day by day process recovery is. A must read for everyone...especially those whose lifes are affected by addiction.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2011

    Best Read

    One of the best books I have ever read! Started it yesterday and finished it this morning. Just couldn't put it down. Josh's story is an amazing story about the struggles of addiction and how his faith finally pulled him through. Well written book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2011

    More than what I expected!

    Josh Hamilton carries you through this emotional roller coaster ride all the way to the end of the book. I can't help but feel compassion and great respect for his ability to climb out of his addiction.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2011

    Excellent

    Highly recommended. One of the best books I've read. There are many lessons you can take for your own life, about God, about pressures on young athletes, and about baseball "behind the scenes." Most of all, this is a story about fallen humanity and unconditional love, it is a story about redemption and Divine providence, all told through Josh Hamilton's personal experience.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2011

    Great read whether a baseball fan or not!

    Stunning read to realize how deep into drugs he was and the most incredible comeback story I've ever read. Can't imagine how he managed to do it other than having a Higher Power to believe in!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2011

    AWESOME STORY

    Josh Hamilton is The Natural and he will be one of your all time favs when you read his stoy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2011

    This just moved very close to the top of my all time favorites list!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 3, 2011

    highly recomended must read this book!

    i had known josh hamilton and some of his story going into this book, but i had no idea how deep he really got into his addictions. he goes in great detail with the horrors of his drug addiction.Young kids might not understand the deeper meaning of this story because of not knowing alot about drugs. i have had problems my self not involvong drugs but it controled my life. the message that josh gives out was moving and helped me realize my problems were real.i really would like to encourage anyone and everyone to read this book, it is life changing. this book is not just for believers of chirst or people with addictions its really for anyone who is willing to listen not to a perfesional ball player but a fellow human being with a story of an addiction and his journey to redepmtion. this book has changed my life forever.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 235 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 12