Customer Reviews for

Beyond Belief: Finding the Strength to Come Back

Average Rating 4.5
( 234 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(183)

4 Star

(35)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted December 10, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    When you absolutely, positively need to read a baseball book and stay away from drugs...

    The story of Josh Hamilton takes two parts: You need to talk about the amazing athletic talen he posesses, and how that translated into him becoming the hottest prospect in baseball, eventually becoming an American League All-Star outfielder for the Texas Rangers. Then you need the other half of Josh Hamilton: The drug addict, tattoo-wearing, dark side that he confronts for much of the content of this book. It's well written, with Hamilton and co-author Tim Kweon masterfully capturing the frightening and secret life of a man who gives over fully to his darkest urges, then pulls his life together thanks to family and faith to achieve his greatest dreams. It's a scary book. There are parts definitely not for the faint of heart. But that's the adventure Josh takes us on, and it's not your daddy's baseball book. If you know someone who likes baseball and James Frey books, this is for them.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2010

    Humanness

    In his search for friends he finds some folks that are not very friendly. So goes the tale of physically gifted Josh Hamilton who loses about four years of his life to drugs. His dad says the saddest thing is so many people missed out on what he could have accomplished. He did go out and do some amazing things. Could have done a lot more. Could possibly have been the best.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2012

    R

    Once again Josh is at a crossroad. Pray he listens to what is in HIS best interest.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2012

    overall great

    Beyond Belief is definitely worth a read for baseball fans or those struggling with addiction. Josh's experience is truly beyond belief. He sunk so deep and came back to be a superstar. This book made me so proud of him.
    As a person in recovery, however, I wish the authors would've talked more about 12-step recovery. For people who might not be Christian, there is still hope for recovery & release from the bondage of drugs & alcohol. I am a Christian and think it's great that Josh is spreading the Gospel, but I'm afraid this book might alienate those who want to recover but are a different religion or not religious at all.
    Nonetheless, I think everyone should read this book. Even if you're not interested in recovery or Christianity, it's a great and inspiring story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2012

    Interesting

    This gives you the basic information about Josh Hamilton. However, it doesn't give you anything indepth.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2011

    More than what I expected!

    Josh Hamilton carries you through this emotional roller coaster ride all the way to the end of the book. I can't help but feel compassion and great respect for his ability to climb out of his addiction.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2011

    Recommend ... shows how a good person can make bad choices... some get a second chance many others don't...

    It's amazing...how a couple of bad choices can affect good people... Hamilton was luckly enough to live through his errors and turn his life around...Len Bias is a person that comes to mind.. great talent, good person and didn't get a second chance...This book shows how quickly life can change from being on top of the world..to looking for your next drug fix...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Glad to see him pull through

    A good story of bad decisions, life's struggles and a positive outcome. Originally I started out just skimming the first couple chapters. Soon after, I settled in for an excellent read that kept me in front of the book for hours.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2010

    A must read book

    This in my eyes is a must read book for anyone who is, who has, or who knows of anyone dealing with addiction. This book showed you how even the best of the best can hit rock bottom and fight their way back to the top. This book will open your eyes to the struggles that people addicted to things have. What they will do, how far they will go, what their minds think. In this book Josh Hamilton was as honest as you can get. He did not sugar coat anything, he did not make anything sound better than it was, he simply told the truth. This story takes you back and puts you next to Josh as a kid and allows you to walk through his life to where he has made it now. This book is not a I know the best way to clean your life up type book. It is a I have been as low as I could get, I know how it feels and was able to fight my way back and this is how i did it and here is my story. This is a feel good story that leaves you looking at things in a entire different way than before. This would also be a good book in my eyes for any young adult in school weather they play sports or not. If Josh was to ever read this review i would want him to know that his words rang so true, his story was as real as it gets and i after reading it i feel like i have known him all my life. The way he describes what he has been through makes you feel his pain, laugh with him, cry with him and feel joy and happiness for him. Thank you Josh for being so honest and giving your story to us. I read this book on my ereader and it was 186 pages so it not a novle and with all that is in it kids, parents or anyone will have no trouble reading it. As you may have been able to tell I would recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2009

    Inspiring

    I bought this book for my Dad for Father's Day. It was a quick read - he finished it in a day or so and has passed it along to two other men who read it quickly and enjoyed it as well. He said that he really enjoyed the story and found it very inspirational. I read an excerpt from a magazine and I agree that the story is compelling. I'm not a sports fan - I didn't know who Josh Hamilton was to begin with - so I'm not certain I would ever had picked it up myself, but my Dad loves baseball, and based on his enjoyment, I would heartily recommend this to anyone who loves baseball or stories of human triumph.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2009

    Good read

    I had heard about him sometime ago, but I had no idea how low he had sunk as a result of his drug abuse. An interesting book indeed. I regularly check his box scores now and appreciate his baseball ability as portrayed in the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2009

    I found "Beyond Belief" by Josh Hamilton to be an eye-opening story. A must read book.

    Josh Hamilton's story "Beyond Belief"is truly beyond belief. I consider Beyond Belief to be a must read book for parents of young athletes. There is a lot that can be learned about the despair of drug use and the terrible toll it can take on an individual and a family. Josh Hamilton's ability to return from the depths of drug addiction to become the All Star baseball player he is today is inspirational.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2