BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Beyond Breathing

Average Rating 5
( 30 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted February 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Beyond Breathing

    This book is wonderfully written. The emotion and feeling that the reader gets is overwhelming. I read 1/2 of the book in one night and quickly finished two days later. I could have stayed up and read the entire book in one sitting, however, it's very real and emotional, and I didn't want to take it in in one sitting - such a powerful and moving tribute to the author's daughter, Jena.<BR/>I highly recommend this book to everyone. As a mother myself, I cannot imagine the depth of pain and the emotional rollercoaster than Margarete Cassalina has traveled on. <BR/>This book is a very well written, emotional, and moving story about losing someone so precious. I urge everyone to read this book and hug your children tonight - and every night - for you are blessed for being able to do so.<BR/>Jena Cassalina was an inspiring and amazing girl who touched thousands of lives. I know she has touched mine.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2009

    Beyond Breathing

    This is a beautifully written story, a mother and family's love for two very gifted, loving, giving children. We all wonder if we would have the strength to live through what they have and continue to endure. A true expression of love.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2009

    Powerful book!

    I could not put this book down once I started reading it. I felt like I knew this family personally as I read the story of Jena's life and her battle with cystic fibrosis. Margarete shares the good, the bad and the ugly in this book - and I applaud her honesty! I have passed this book to many friends who agree that this is a story that will stay with you. I pray for Eric and a cure for cystic fibrosis. I also pray for all who suffer from this horrible disease. A cure cannot come soon enough.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2009

    INSPIRATIONAL! This book is a MUST read for everyone!

    Beyond Breathing is not a book only for those who have experienced the loss of a loved one, but for all of us that are in need of a reality check. It teaches and reminds us of what is truly important in life. I cried, I laughed, and in the end I felt uplifted. I read this book in one day and I now keep it on my nightstand as a reminder each night and each morning of what life is all about.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2009

    Powerful! Must Read!!!

    After you read the first few pages of this book, you will want to cancel any appointments you have for the rest of the day. Margarete Cassalina has an excellent ability at capturing the attention of her reader. She bares her soul and shares intimate details of the daily struggles they have encountered with this dreaded disease. She uses imagery and figurative language to enhance the reader's understanding of her story. Not only did I enjoy reading this book, I also learned many important lessons. Probably one of the most important lessons I learned from Margarete is how important it is to live everyday to the fullest without regrets. The Cassalina's are an incredibly strong family, they continue to light the way and give hope and direction to all, especially those who feel like they are in the most hopeless situation. I hope Margarete's mission is fulfilled and CF will stand for Cure Found. This is a very powerful book and I highly recomend it.<BR/>D'Adamo Family

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2013

    it is such a good book

    it is such a good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2010

    Jena can teach us all how to live life.

    This is a must read. This is a story of a young girl with a terminal illness and her family. The story tells us all how they chose to live and inspire us all. The story is not about how she died, but how she lived life everyday to the fullest. It shares the raw heart break of a mother and the good humor that her daughter brought to life. This is a very quick read, yet it was one of the most inspiring books that I have ever read. It is great a great book for book clubs because there is so much to talk about. I have asked my book club to read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    The most inspirational book I've ever read!

    Margarete Cassalina not only writes this beautiful book about her family and cystic fibrosis but also brings insipration to your life. This book is a touching real life story about a remarkable young woman named Jena and her unbelievably strong mother. Cassalina is an extraordinary writer and hooks you in within seconds. You won't be able to put it down. This book brings tears and heartache but most importantly shows the true meaning of love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2009

    Great book

    This was a great book. I could not put it down once I picked it up. I laughed and cried as I read it. It was very well written and really makes you appreciate life. Thank you Margarete for sharing Jena's story! She was an amazing little girl!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2009

    Beyond Breathing

    What an oustanding book!!! Very well written and very, very inspirational to read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    One word: Amazing.

    This is an amazing book that would be an inspiration to all. Even if you havent experienced CF first hand, you will still see your everyday life trials in this family's struggles, happiness, sadness, and successes. This book illustrates to everyone how strong just one young girl can be when faced with impossible chances. Everyone will find that they can relate to this book on some level. I have been working at Jena's school for many years, and her presence is still strong in everything that is done. Jena was an amazing girl, and I am glad that her mother was given the opportunity to share their story with the world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2009

    Beyond Breathing

    This is a very personal true story of a mother dealing with her daughter's illness and making sure her daughter gets to live her life to the fullest. I found this book to be inspiring. It was very emotional and I admired her daughters strength in dealing with her situation. Even though she was a child, everyone who came in contact with her walked away remember a brave, mature, strong willed person who truly LIVED with CF.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2009

    I knew that I would cry but had to read it...

    As a mother, this is such a hard subject to think about. Even though I cried my eyes out, I felt inspired by Margarete's ability to take a painful situation and find the silver lining. This book is a reminder to all of us how precious life is and how important the ones that you love are. Beyond Breathing puts things back into perspective especially when the whole world seems so chaotic. Thank you Margarete for sharing Jena and your family with me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2009

    I found this book to be very inspirational.

    Margarete Cassalina touches on so many of lifes ups and downs in this book. She shows us what it is like to be told that your child has an incurable disease, the everyday struggles that go along with it, the loss of a child, the pain that ensues, but that there is so much more in life after death. I love the fact that her and her husband will do everything they can to make every day of their childrens' lives special. I laughed and I cried throughout this book, but I smiled at the end. I don't like to read depressing books and this book was totally the opposite. After reading it, I came away feeling uplifted. I highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2009

    Excellent life story of a parent involved with Cystic Fibrosis and the challenges of her life

    For those not involved with Cystic Fibrosis this is a revealing and moving life story of a young woman with a challenging family situation and her triumph to reach a strong and purposeful life. It shows the author's strong character and ability to reach out and draw good people into her life. It also gives insights into living and raising a child with a major disease and surviving her death. <BR/><BR/>For those involved with CF it is an important documentation of what can happen which shows the possible future and how to handle it. As a grandparent with a CF granddaughter it was a tough, realistic lesson that I feel that I needed and might have to deal with in the future. It is very personal and clear with the authors emotions well laid out. It can bring tears to your eyes and strength to your soul. <BR/><BR/>This book's style makes it easy to read, its content is heart wrenching, but necessary.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2009

    A must read for anyone whose life has been affected by CF

    As some one who lost his best friend to cystic fibrosis, I can't thank Margarete Cassalina enough for offering such a raw, honest account of how this disease has affected her and her family. Jena, Eric, Marc and Margarete's story is one of strength, faith and one of hope. <BR/><BR/>Like my friend, it is abundantly clear from this book that Jena was an inspiration to everyone around her through her vitality, spirit and fight. It only takes five minutes around a young person with this disease, who refuses to feel sorry for themselves, to put your entire life into perspective. My friend taught me how to live, Jena's story reminded me. <BR/><BR/>Thank you for writing this book Margarete. You've done a wonderful thing for all of us that have dealt with the loss created by this disease.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2009

    A touching mother's story

    A wonderful, motivating, and touching saga of a mom with 2 kids who have cystic fibrosis. Her daughter, Jena, passes away at the age of 13. Half of the book focuses on Jena's health and her decline. Then it is about Margarete's climbing out of despair, learning how to live again when the most precious thing in the world has been taken from her.<BR/>As a aprent, reading this book is so moving, it makes you realize the depth of your own love for your children and makes you strong(er) in your faith. I highly recommend this book---a wonderful--true---story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2009

    Inspirational journey

    I have recieved both strength and courage from Margarete's inspirational sharing of her journey with her daughter Jena. I have found great comfort in seeing that there is clearly life after death for both those who left us as well as those left behind. Margarete and Jena are a beautiful example of a love that never ends. If you need affirmation of this please read this book. It leaves no doubts.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2009

    Good reading

    A very informative book about CF. A great true story of a family's love and strength in handling a not so every day situation. I cried and laughed throughout. loved this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2009

    A true and motivational story

    This book was not only wonderfully written, but is amazingly inspirational. I could not put this book down, and I read it from cover to cover in one sitting. After reading this book, it is impossible to look at life the same way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2