Customer Reviews for

Beyond Control (Beyond, Book Two)

Average Rating 4.5
( 22 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Beyond Control is everything it promised to be! In the reviews

Beyond Control is everything it promised to be!

In the reviews for Beyond Shame, words like "naughty" were tossed around and, after reading books like the Vampire Queen series from Joey W. Hill, the first story in this series didn't quite hit the "naught...
Beyond Control is everything it promised to be!

In the reviews for Beyond Shame, words like "naughty" were tossed around and, after reading books like the Vampire Queen series from Joey W. Hill, the first story in this series didn't quite hit the "naughty" bar for me.  That said, Beyond Shame was everything I wanted from the first book and more. The intense emotions, the unapologetic violence, the deepening plot, and most of all, the fulfilling of that promise of dominating, hedonistic, voyeuristic menage.  It's Sons of Anarchy in a dystopian future, except the women are part of the gang and the money comes from top notch whiskey rather than running guns... with way more sex and way less inhibitions.  Dallas O'Kane is the king of sector Four and Lex is his is queen.

Dallas and Lex are outright explosive- emotionally, physically, and sexually- and their plot arc isn't marred by any clumsy, contrived drama or unnecessary filler events. Everything that happens has a reason and furthers the overarching storyline, and does so with signature O'Kane flair.

I loved getting to see Dallas and Lex just be together for a chunk of the book, getting my fill of seeing them both unrestrained, souls bared without excessive unnecessary buildup. If you've read the first book in this series you already know how they smolder, and the building up of sexual and emotional tension between other characters in the gang was both satisfying and, in one case, shockingly appealing (shocking as in "I totally didn't see that coming and should have!" Love it when that happens!). One of the things I enjoy most about this series is how little regard the characters have for race or gender, focusing instead on the pleasure they'll all receive... no macho hetero stereotyping to ruin the moments. Ow ow!  

If you love strong women and the alpha males who keep them fighting and coming back for more, who see their ladies as more than just playthings and allow them into their hearts and souls... 
If you love violence for all the right reasons and vigilante law in a society scraping to survive...
If you love seeing characters throw propriety out the window and just DO and BE and FEEL...
YOU. MUST. READ. THIS. SERIES!!  Start with Beyond Shame and stick with it even if you think it's a little tame.  Or, if it completely shames you and you hate that you love it, you're going to be even more shocked and awed by the downright barbarian hedonistic feel of Beyond Control.  I SO cannot wait for the next one!

posted by DavinciKittie on March 16, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Beyond Control is the second book of the Beyond series by Kit Ro

Beyond Control is the second book of the Beyond series by Kit Rocha. This is a very unique and dark story. This story builds a post apocalyptic society, and the main setting is takes place in Dallas’s sector four. I fell in love with the story in book one with the story...
Beyond Control is the second book of the Beyond series by Kit Rocha. This is a very unique and dark story. This story builds a post apocalyptic society, and the main setting is takes place in Dallas’s sector four. I fell in love with the story in book one with the story of Jasper and Noelle, and found myself taken away in this dark and ruthless world that continues straight through this second book and follow up of Lexie and Dallas story. Both characters had front line roles in both stories, so I had been eagerly anticipating this second book. I had mentioned in the review for Beyond Shame that sexual content of this novel could be a bit intense. After finishing Beyond Control that book did not hold a candle to the intensity of this novel. Honestly, I felt it was a little over the top for my liking. I still relished in the continued storyline for Dallas and his sector, but I just felt out of my element when it came to the sexual encounters of the book. I would suggest this to readers with a very broad sexual interest. It is not for the light hearted. ~BookWhisperer Reviewer JO~

posted by Book_WhispererJO on March 17, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2013

    Yeah O'Kanes!

    Can't wait for Bren and Six' story!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Beyond Control is everything it promised to be! In the reviews

    Beyond Control is everything it promised to be!

    In the reviews for Beyond Shame, words like "naughty" were tossed around and, after reading books like the Vampire Queen series from Joey W. Hill, the first story in this series didn't quite hit the "naughty" bar for me.  That said, Beyond Shame was everything I wanted from the first book and more. The intense emotions, the unapologetic violence, the deepening plot, and most of all, the fulfilling of that promise of dominating, hedonistic, voyeuristic menage.  It's Sons of Anarchy in a dystopian future, except the women are part of the gang and the money comes from top notch whiskey rather than running guns... with way more sex and way less inhibitions.  Dallas O'Kane is the king of sector Four and Lex is his is queen.

    Dallas and Lex are outright explosive- emotionally, physically, and sexually- and their plot arc isn't marred by any clumsy, contrived drama or unnecessary filler events. Everything that happens has a reason and furthers the overarching storyline, and does so with signature O'Kane flair.

    I loved getting to see Dallas and Lex just be together for a chunk of the book, getting my fill of seeing them both unrestrained, souls bared without excessive unnecessary buildup. If you've read the first book in this series you already know how they smolder, and the building up of sexual and emotional tension between other characters in the gang was both satisfying and, in one case, shockingly appealing (shocking as in "I totally didn't see that coming and should have!" Love it when that happens!). One of the things I enjoy most about this series is how little regard the characters have for race or gender, focusing instead on the pleasure they'll all receive... no macho hetero stereotyping to ruin the moments. Ow ow!  

    If you love strong women and the alpha males who keep them fighting and coming back for more, who see their ladies as more than just playthings and allow them into their hearts and souls... 
    If you love violence for all the right reasons and vigilante law in a society scraping to survive...
    If you love seeing characters throw propriety out the window and just DO and BE and FEEL...
    YOU. MUST. READ. THIS. SERIES!!  Start with Beyond Shame and stick with it even if you think it's a little tame.  Or, if it completely shames you and you hate that you love it, you're going to be even more shocked and awed by the downright barbarian hedonistic feel of Beyond Control.  I SO cannot wait for the next one!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2013

    Beyond Control is the second book of the Beyond series by Kit Ro

    Beyond Control is the second book of the Beyond series by Kit Rocha. This is a very unique and dark story. This story builds a post apocalyptic society, and the main setting is takes place in Dallas’s sector four. I fell in love with the story in book one with the story of Jasper and Noelle, and found myself taken away in this dark and ruthless world that continues straight through this second book and follow up of Lexie and Dallas story. Both characters had front line roles in both stories, so I had been eagerly anticipating this second book. I had mentioned in the review for Beyond Shame that sexual content of this novel could be a bit intense. After finishing Beyond Control that book did not hold a candle to the intensity of this novel. Honestly, I felt it was a little over the top for my liking. I still relished in the continued storyline for Dallas and his sector, but I just felt out of my element when it came to the sexual encounters of the book. I would suggest this to readers with a very broad sexual interest. It is not for the light hearted. ~BookWhisperer Reviewer JO~

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2013

    Awesome Series

    Loved this book. It has everything you could ask for in a romance plus more. A must read after Beyond Shame. Looking forward to the rest of this series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2013

    Jeez, this series just keeps getting hotter and hotter..... What

    Jeez, this series just keeps getting hotter and hotter..... What we'll be like come book 4 is anyones guess!!! Cold shower anyone?!?!
    I stayed up most of the night to finish the book, I just didn't want to put it down!!!
    I'm gonna keep this review to mainly my thoughts & feelings on the story and don't want to give away any spoilers!

    Following on pretty much from where Beyond Shame ended, Beyond Control is Lex & Dallas's story. Will they ever get it together?
    Dallas wants her complete submission but, even though she seems to want more from him, Lex can't let herself go as much as her needs her to!!
    I am a HUGE Jas fan but in BC Dallas really hooked me & reeled me in...
    He's a total alpha male, smokin' hot and domineering, the man's got control issues... Lex is a fantastic character - strong, brave, sassy, intelligent and sexy as all get out. What a combination!!

    The gang are all back - including Jas & Noelle, Ace, Rachel, Bren and Mad - all still getting it on in their own inimitable style. We meet a couple of potential new O'Kanes - and we catch up with Six and find out how she's adapting to life away from Sector 3.

    A lot of the story takes place outside of Sector 4 and this is where the tension and violence really get going. We meet the other Sector leaders and find out a bit about them - how they run their sectors, their business and just how power hungry they are. We also find out just how political being in charge of the sectors can be and how duplicitous the sector leaders are behind all that front.

    Tension, passion, heat, lust, laughs, trust issues and violence are all included in spades. As you would expect from the KR girls the sex is hot, sweaty and down right dirty, with a bit of BDSM to boot - wait 'til you get to the party of six!!!!! ** over-heating **..... It's everything you'd expect from a Kit Rocha 'Beyond' book!!!!

    Towards the end of Beyond Shame I was in tears when Jas tried to send Noelle away for her own good - well hell, Beyond Control had me breaking out the tissues again .... I tell you, at one point I was just a teary mess - who'd have thought it!!
    There are some unforgettable scenes in BC - one in particular made me cheer, while another had me needing to put the kindle down as I really needed a breather & to pull myself together!! At points I wanted to slap and/or scream at both Alexa & Declan while at others I wanted to grab Lex and give her a hug!! Emotional hijacking at it's best!!!

    The girls really smashed my expectations with Beyond Control, it's a fantastic book and I can't wait for Beyond Pain (which I'm thinking could be Bren & Six's story!!). Bree & Donna keep up the good work, you gals are AWESOME!!!



    Thanks to Kit Rocha for an ARC of Beyond Control - which I received in exchange for an honest review.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    In ways, this series makes me think of an adult (and I mean very

    In ways, this series makes me think of an adult (and I mean very adult) version of the Hunger Games series. It's very dark and very erotic. The sex may have been over the top for some people, but I found it was just right.  It's not just sex, though. The characters are very solid. Once you start you'll want to keep reading. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2013

    Great

    Love this series. Cant wait to read the next installment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2013

    Jennifer

    Enjoyed this series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2013

    Love this series

    Have to admit I was not sure if I would like this series, but I just love it! Can't wait for more!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2013

    awesome

    i love this series. i love the characters and the whole world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2013

    Loved!! Recommended!!

    Amazing series, just amazing as long as you like sexy, funny, complex and oh yea..sexy characters and plot!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2013

    Raine

    Fresh and edgey, good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2013

    AMAZING!!!

    Cant wait for Beyond Pain! (and Beyond Denial & Beyond Jealousy) Very well written! O'Kane for life!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2