Customer Reviews for

Beyond Exile (Day by Day Armageddon Series)

Average Rating 4.5
( 264 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(171)

4 Star

(65)

3 Star

(24)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 266 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 14
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    J. L. Bourne has once again struck gold with his writings.

    After reading J. L. Bournes first novel, in the Day By Day Armagedon series, I could not wait for the sequel to come out. Once released this book held every expectation I had created for it and more. It kept me reading and asking for more, it was so well crafted that I felt like I was in the zombie apocolypse with the main character, but was disappointed once I returned to reality and realized a zombie apocolypse hadn't happened. It was a great read and I couldn't put it down, hope you enjoy reading it as much as I could.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Beyond Exile

    This is a magnificent sequel to Day by Day Armageddon. As with the former, it is written in the form of a journal of one mans' view of surviving a world of zombies. It begins where the last one left off, and this time around, the writer is left to his own defenses as the helicopter he was in crashes and he has to find his way back to safety. Filled with horror and graphic visualizations, this zombie book is an easy and quick read. I can sense it continuing in a third book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Bridget's Review

    A zombie breakout has taken over the world. The zombies better watch out because they are about to meet an army that is determined to kick their flesh eating asses. Does this group of humans really have what it takes to beat an entire cannibalistic race or is the end of humanity?


    What an intense read! I really enjoyed the journal format. I felt like I was reading about a real event. I couldn't put it down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Fantastically stressful

    Like the first DBDA, any lover of apocalyptic fiction will burn through this. Frankly, even if you aren't, this series will pull you in. Unlike the first novel, Bourne is not using "journal writing" as an excuse for spelling errors and jargon. Bourne and his protagonist have tightened up the prose with the expectation that this thing will be read. I am all the happier for it.

    Having matured in his writing, Bourne crafts an intensely stressful vision of what might be the end of humanity. Told from the perspective of a military man, the story weaves one desperate situation after another in such a way that the reader can't help but believe that the protagonist is not writing a memoir but a cautionary tale. With that, I found myself very worried about whether or not he would live to finish his work.

    It is a strong read with enough loose ends to fill at least 4 more in the series. With the exception of one particular loose end that I would prefer he left alone, I can't wait for the next installment.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2014

    Drag

    A little stymied about all the rave reviews. I love zombie novels and have read plenty of them. Notice how other reviewers call the main character by his name? No. Because its never or rarely ever used. I get that its written in the first person but this book has zero character development. Zip. I cannot even envision the characters because they have no description whatsoever. Very shallow.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2013

    Entertaining Read!

    I really enjoyed reading this book. The only one complaint I have is small sections where it can be a little boring. But I still highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2013

    Help!!

    Should i buy this book? I read the first one and i luvd it but should i get this one?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2013

    a+

    worth your time

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2013

    Even better then the first

    I enjoyed the first but wow what a sequal looking forward to the third

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2012

    A good read

    This book is written as a first-person narrative, as if the pages came straight from the main character's journal. It stands up nicely to the first book in the series and does not disappoint. The story has minimal dialogue, is largely plot driven, and makes for a good light read. It is well written, and the survival skills and military experience of the author is competently apparent. This is by far the best zombie apocalypse book I've had the pleasure to read, and I was glued to the pages from one to the end. I'm impatiently looking forward to the sequel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2012

    Loved this sequel. Sometimes sequels dont entirely pick up where

    Loved this sequel. Sometimes sequels dont entirely pick up where it was left off but this one does. I couldnt but this book down or the first Day by Day Armageddon. I felt like I was right there with the main character through out both books. All I can say is that it was a great journey getting back to Hotel 23. I cant wait for another installment! My fingers are crossed!In both books you become like a member of the group and you want the good in people to shine even though you know it wont. I wonder some days how I would fair in a world with total destruction and if I would have enough in me to think ahead and keep alive. Pick up both books you will not be disappointed!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2012

    Zombie, how I love ya

    I have this book in hardcover and audio, and love them both. Entertaining throughout the story, VERY?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2012

    Sam

    Ever since i read it i sleep with a sword at the foot of my bed

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2012

    Cant wait to read book three..best zombie series ever!

    Cant wait to read book three..best zombie series ever!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2012

    Excellent Read

    I have become a zombiepocalypse fanatic and this is one of the best books I have read. I can't wait to see what the next installment has in store for me!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2012

    Awesome Book!!!

    This is a great read for zombie fans! I couldn't put it down and can't wait till the next one comes out. I know that it will have a great story line as you will know when you read the last pages of this one. Highly recommended!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2012

    Love this Author!

    Really great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    Is there going to be a third book in the series

    Great book i still think the first was better. Also is there going to be a third book?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2011

    Fantastic second book

    CANT WAIT TO SEE IF THEIR IS ANOTHER

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    One of the best Zombie books ever written!

    This sequel is just as good as the first. If you liked World War Z, then you will like this book as well. Could'nt put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 266 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 14