Customer Reviews for

Beyond Heaven's Door

Average Rating 4
( 16 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

'Beyond Heaven's Door' is a gift book that details what Christia

'Beyond Heaven's Door' is a gift book that details what Christians can expect when they enter the afterlife. The book is short and easily read in under an hour. It contains beautiful images with quotes taken from the text as well as scriptures. The author focuses on sev...
'Beyond Heaven's Door' is a gift book that details what Christians can expect when they enter the afterlife. The book is short and easily read in under an hour. It contains beautiful images with quotes taken from the text as well as scriptures. The author focuses on several different questions that people have about Heaven and what happens when we die. The book quotes several passages of scripture that deal with the nature of Jesus, what Heaven will be like, and what our new bodies will look and be like after resurrection. The author tells anecdotes throughout the book to help the reader understand the passages of scripture and also to show the reader what is meant by the text. Overall, this was an uplifting book that Christians will enjoy reading more than once and the images and quotes throughout are beautiful and definitely add to the book's appeal. It would make a wonderful gift to those who are questioning death and Heaven as well as to those who have recently lost a loved one.

Disclosure: I received a copy of the book in exchange for an honest review.

posted by StephWard on June 1, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Good book, bad formatting

The book is shorter than I expected, but the content is good as usual with Max Lucado. The formatting, however, is atrocious.

posted by 4856534 on February 12, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2013

    Good book, bad formatting

    The book is shorter than I expected, but the content is good as usual with Max Lucado. The formatting, however, is atrocious.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    'Beyond Heaven's Door' is a gift book that details what Christia

    'Beyond Heaven's Door' is a gift book that details what Christians can expect when they enter the afterlife. The book is short and easily read in under an hour. It contains beautiful images with quotes taken from the text as well as scriptures. The author focuses on several different questions that people have about Heaven and what happens when we die. The book quotes several passages of scripture that deal with the nature of Jesus, what Heaven will be like, and what our new bodies will look and be like after resurrection. The author tells anecdotes throughout the book to help the reader understand the passages of scripture and also to show the reader what is meant by the text. Overall, this was an uplifting book that Christians will enjoy reading more than once and the images and quotes throughout are beautiful and definitely add to the book's appeal. It would make a wonderful gift to those who are questioning death and Heaven as well as to those who have recently lost a loved one.

    Disclosure: I received a copy of the book in exchange for an honest review.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2014

    Awesome

    It shows how much he loves all of his kids

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2013

    Highly Recommended

    This book is a peek into Heaven. It is supported by scripture and described only as Max Lucado can do. You'll find it fascinating.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2013

    Good Book

    Highly Recommende -Check it out

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    " I make no claims to being a good golfer, but I readily co

    " I make no claims to being a good golfer, but I readily confess to being a golf addict. If you know of a twelve-step program for the condition, sign me up. "Hi, I'm Max. I'm a golfaholic." I love to play golf, watch golf, and on good nights, I even dream golf.

    Knowing this will help you appreciate the extreme joy I felt when I was invited to attend the Masters Golf Tournament. A pass to the Masters is the golfer's Holy Grail. Tickets are as scarce as birdies on my scorecard. So I was thrilled. The invitation came via pro golfer Scott Simpson. Each player is given a certain number of passes and Scott offered Denalyn and me two of his. (If there was ever any question about Scott's place in heaven, that gesture erased the doubt.)

    So off we went to Augusta National Golf Club in Augusta, Georgia, where golf heritage hangs like moss from the trees. There you find the green where Nicklaus sank the putt. The fringe where Mize holed the chip. The fairway where Saranson hit the approach shot. I was a kid in a candy store. And like a kid, I couldn't get enough. It wasn't enough to see the course and walk the grounds; I wanted to see the locker room. That's where the clubs of Hogan and Azinger are displayed. That's where the players hang out. And that's where I wanted to be.

    A guard stopped me at the entrance. I showed him my pass, but he shook his head. I told him I knew Scott, but that didn't matter. I promised to send his eldest child through college, but he didn't budge. "Only caddies and players," he explained. Well, he knew I wasn't a player or a caddie. Caddies at the Masters are required to wear white coveralls. My clothing was a dead giveaway. So I left, figuring I'd never see the clubhouse. I made it all the way to the door but was denied entrance.

    Many people fear the same will happen to them in heaven. They fear being turned away at the door. A legitimate fear, don't you think? We're talking about a pivotal moment. To be turned away from seeing golf history is one thing, but to be refused admission into heaven is quite another.

    That is why some people don't want to discuss heaven. It makes them nervous. They may be God-fearing and church-attending people but still nervous. Is there a solution to this fear? Need you spend the rest of your life wondering if you will be turned away at the door?

    According to the Bible, it is possible to "know beyond the shadow of a doubt that you have eternal life" (1 John 5:13 MSG). How? How can any of us know for sure?

    Curiously, it all has to do with the clothing we wear." (pg 10-11).

    Written in a comfortable style that is uniquely Max Lucado, Beyond Heaven's Door takes the reader through an amazing way to assure you that when this life is over, if you have clothed yourself in Christ, then you will have eternal life the instant you close your eyes when this one ends. No more worry or doubt will cross your mind when you rest in the assurances that after reading this and following the simple steps Max provides, you can be assured of your final destination.

    The book not only tells us how to get to Heaven but assures us that even when our loved ones pass away here, as believers their life is only so much better than we could have ever dreamed or imagined. Taking all of his references and information directly from the Bible, Max makes the entire trip towards Heaven, a personal one. You truly feel like the words from this book are like words from a trust and close friend and I believe that is where the appeal in all of Max's books I've been honored to read comes from.

    I received Beyond Heaven's Door by Max Lucado compliments of Thomas Nelson Publishers for my honest review and received no monetary compensation for a favorable review. This one is a must read for anyone who really wonders what lies beyond death's door and is looking for the absolute truth before it's too late to make that decision to accept Christ. This book also provides comfort for those of us left behind when a believer dies and shows us in a small way just what is on the other side waiting for all of us that accept Jesus Christ into our lives. An unforgettable book and well worthy of 5 out of 5 stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2013

    Yes Would Recommend

    Max Lucado is one of my favorite authors and he never disappoints me on any of his writings. Captivates and delivers a clear, profound message always.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2013

    Inspiring

    Max Lucado always sees our everyday life "thru Heaven's Door".
    This effort did not disappoint.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2013

    Disappointing

    I preordered this book and was thrilled when it appeared. I feel I missed content because of the awful formatting. Many times the pages repeated and the only way I could move on was to do a page search. If this cannot be rectified, I will find the book in another format. I finished it, but do not feel I really got the full message OR even all the content. This is the first time this has happened, and I have bought many Nook books since I got my reader.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2013

    Formatting awful

    The pictures cover words. Some words are missing. The formatting is awful. I really want to read this book!



    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1