BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Beyond Justice

Average Rating 4
( 214 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(125)

4 Star

(34)

3 Star

(23)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(20)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

29 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

Beyond Justice - Joshua Graham

Sam Hudson is a modern day Job. He's had his wife and daughter murdered. His son is near death. He loses everything, but on the way finds something far greater than himself.

This book at 400+ pages is not a light read. However, I found myself glued to the story. I st...
Sam Hudson is a modern day Job. He's had his wife and daughter murdered. His son is near death. He loses everything, but on the way finds something far greater than himself.

This book at 400+ pages is not a light read. However, I found myself glued to the story. I started it on a Friday, and finished it the next night. The characters were honest and believable. The characters were memorable. I loved the characters of Priest and Possum, and felt sad when some characters died. The situations were feasible. I could see these situations happening to someone.

You get to see a man go from being athiest, to having a strong faith in God. While this is labeled as a Christian Thriller, it's not as over the top as Tim LaHaye or a Kirk Cameron vehicle. While there are some areas, once Sam finds his faith, that lean towards sweetly sentiments, it also presents both sides fairly. If there is one slight drawback, It seems that Sam might have gone too fast from being a non-believer to having this extremely strong faith in God. Granted, for the purposes of the storyline, you don't see the whole transformation, but just seemed like a big jump. However, for those in it, who are non-believers, there is never a character that criticizes them, or tells them they are wrong to doubt. I think that's a good message.

However, if you are intersted in Christian Fiction, and in Thrillers then I think you'd really enjoy this. While not overbearing like Tim LaHaye, it presents a beautiful message about faith and redemption. While there are some strong words here and there throughout the book, if I were to rate it, I'd give it a PG-13. I'd definitely recommend it though if you are looking for a thriller without all the sex and violence.

posted by RhodesReview on November 15, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

13 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

Not my cup of tea

There are messages of hope and faith in this book, but it's not what I believe in. This book is probably great for people who are looking for a message of hope and forgiveness,and who enjoy that all too pervasive "page turner" quality in popular, "bestselling" fiction. ...
There are messages of hope and faith in this book, but it's not what I believe in. This book is probably great for people who are looking for a message of hope and forgiveness,and who enjoy that all too pervasive "page turner" quality in popular, "bestselling" fiction. But I am looking for something dark, brooding,slower development, something more literary. This just doesn't fit the bill for me.

posted by Evelyn_W on December 14, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted December 14, 2010

    Not my cup of tea

    There are messages of hope and faith in this book, but it's not what I believe in. This book is probably great for people who are looking for a message of hope and forgiveness,and who enjoy that all too pervasive "page turner" quality in popular, "bestselling" fiction. But I am looking for something dark, brooding,slower development, something more literary. This just doesn't fit the bill for me.

    13 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2011

    Beyond Belief--Don't waste your time

    If you're looking for a realistic legal thriller, well, this ain't it. Referring to this book as a "legal thriller" is even a bit of a stretch. What prosecutor goes to trial before the DNA results are available? What defense attorney opposes a motion to suppress DNA evidence before she's even seen the results? That could happen, right? Not likely, and that's the case with much of the plot. As a lawyer, I've seen my share of unethical lawyers, but I can't imagine any assistant DA who would risk his job--and his law license--impersonating a public defender in a hare-brained attempt to get a confession from a suspect, a confession that wouldn't be admissible anyway.

    If that's not unbelievable enough, there are the prison scenes. If an inmate could really casually walk out of a super-max prison with just a change of clothes and an escort in the form of a guard, we should all be very afraid. The few twists in the story are simply too weak to overcome the many flaws.

    Faith is too personal of a matter to merit mmessage much comment. So I'll just say that glowing Bible verses and angel ghosts don't square with my beliefs. If others find the message inspirational, then perhaps therein lies the value.

    Ultimately, for me, rather than being a page-turner, it took discipline to simply finish it.

    9 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    weird religiosity

    Starts well, but it seems the author is very confused about what constitutes "Christian" behavior and just writing a "guy story". Choose one or the other and just go with it. Well written for about 250 pages, but then it gets truly weird when the the hocus-pocus stuff starts. I stopped reading about 100 pages from the end because I just didn't care any more.

    5 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2012

    Really misleading promotional material

    This book is nothing like a John Grisham book - It is a very mediocre attempt at writing a novel. Completely implausible plot with poor character development. Lesson learned - be very leary of B&N promotional materials.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2013

    Sappy

    Began as thriller but turned into sappy religious saga- dont waste your time!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2013

    if you don't mix religion into what you like to read, don't bother with this book

    i expected a good john-grisham-like read. forget it. this book brings in a little too much religion for my taste. yecch

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2014

    I am not a fan of either especially the first two

    Please try another combo

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2014

    Completely unbelievable

    Couldnt even stay for the trial--stephen king? Really? No stars n u owe me money Joshua.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2014

    No thanks

    Had I known the author was going to try and convert me to his religious beliefs, I would have never purchased this book. I was looking for an entertaining read, not lessons in christianity.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2013

    Poorly Wrtten and Unbelievable

    I find myself agreeing with all the one-star ratings about this book. It amazes me that there are so many five-star ratings.

    The writing is tedious and amateurish. I gave up half way through.

    I’m a voracious reader and some of my favorite authors (Grisham, Connelly) where given as examples of this author’s style. This is totally false marketing by B&N in my opinion.
    I’ve never dealt with criminal lawyers or state prison systems personally, but I know both from things I’ve seen and heard, as well as instinctively, that this book is totally unrealistic in all respects.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2013

    this book started out as a whodunit thriller and quickly turned

    this book started out as a whodunit thriller and quickly turned into nothing. Lost interest after 50 pages but still read the book figuring something would eventually happen…

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1