Customer Reviews for

Beyond Justice

Average Rating 4
( 215 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(126)

4 Star

(34)

3 Star

(23)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(20)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

30 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

Beyond Justice - Joshua Graham

Sam Hudson is a modern day Job. He's had his wife and daughter murdered. His son is near death. He loses everything, but on the way finds something far greater than himself.

This book at 400+ pages is not a light read. However, I found myself glued to the story. I st...
Sam Hudson is a modern day Job. He's had his wife and daughter murdered. His son is near death. He loses everything, but on the way finds something far greater than himself.

This book at 400+ pages is not a light read. However, I found myself glued to the story. I started it on a Friday, and finished it the next night. The characters were honest and believable. The characters were memorable. I loved the characters of Priest and Possum, and felt sad when some characters died. The situations were feasible. I could see these situations happening to someone.

You get to see a man go from being athiest, to having a strong faith in God. While this is labeled as a Christian Thriller, it's not as over the top as Tim LaHaye or a Kirk Cameron vehicle. While there are some areas, once Sam finds his faith, that lean towards sweetly sentiments, it also presents both sides fairly. If there is one slight drawback, It seems that Sam might have gone too fast from being a non-believer to having this extremely strong faith in God. Granted, for the purposes of the storyline, you don't see the whole transformation, but just seemed like a big jump. However, for those in it, who are non-believers, there is never a character that criticizes them, or tells them they are wrong to doubt. I think that's a good message.

However, if you are intersted in Christian Fiction, and in Thrillers then I think you'd really enjoy this. While not overbearing like Tim LaHaye, it presents a beautiful message about faith and redemption. While there are some strong words here and there throughout the book, if I were to rate it, I'd give it a PG-13. I'd definitely recommend it though if you are looking for a thriller without all the sex and violence.

posted by RhodesReview on November 15, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

13 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

Not my cup of tea

There are messages of hope and faith in this book, but it's not what I believe in. This book is probably great for people who are looking for a message of hope and forgiveness,and who enjoy that all too pervasive "page turner" quality in popular, "bestselling" fiction. ...
There are messages of hope and faith in this book, but it's not what I believe in. This book is probably great for people who are looking for a message of hope and forgiveness,and who enjoy that all too pervasive "page turner" quality in popular, "bestselling" fiction. But I am looking for something dark, brooding,slower development, something more literary. This just doesn't fit the bill for me.

posted by Evelyn_W on December 14, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted April 6, 2012

    In Beyond Justice, Joshua Graham tells us the story of Sam Hudso

    In Beyond Justice, Joshua Graham tells us the story of Sam Hudson's personal hell. The tale is eerily reminiscent of The Fugitive which is a favourite of mine - well the movie is anyway. (come on - young Harrison Ford and Tommy Lee Jones? Who could resist?) Sam's tragedy is threefold when he arrives home to find his wife and daughter dead and his son beaten into a coma.

    The detective who railroads Sam into prison is one Detective Anita Pearson - and did I ever hate her! Mr Graham knows how to develop his characters. It was the characters and their distinct personalities that pulled me past the Fugitive deja vu and into this story on its own merit. I enjoyed working against Detective Pearson and I felt the trials and triumphs of Sam as he struggled to reclaim his shattered life.

    Beyond Justice is well developed, interesting and not at all preachy for Christian literature: easy to read and easy on the sensitivities.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2011

    Impressive Effort from Indie Author

    Joshua Graham's text certainly hooks the reader, and I found myself both interested and invested in the characters and plot. However, Mr. Graham makes a few amateur mistakes which may disrupt or distract your reading process, as it did for me. Most troublesome was the random switches between a first person narrator and an omniscient narrator. At first, I thought there was perhaps a pattern,(i.e. first person, omniscient, first person, omniscient, etc.) but as I continued on it appears that the point of view switches whenever it is convenient in order to move the storyline forward. Indications in the chapter headings could have addressed this issue, but there are even points where the narration style switches within chapters themselves.

    Mr. Graham also makes the mistake of "telling" the reader what happens as opposed to "showing" the reader through action and analysis. Once again, such instances occurred whenever it was necessary to advance the storyline further.

    While I wouldn't describe the Christian theme of Graham's book as overt or preachy, it can get a bit corny and overdone, especially if you tend to steer clear of conservative Christianity in your day to day life. The Christian theme did add to the dimension of the characters, but it also retracts from the believability/validity of the plot, and I caught myself rolling my eyes on several occasions. Additionally, Graham takes the idea of "forgiveness" a bit to far by allowing his villain (whose horrific murders, rapes, and mutilations are excellently described and cause the reader to rightfully hate the character) and his crimes to be somewhat frivilous cast aside, since he has "found Jesus."

    Overall, I enjoyed the text and became easily immersed in the plot, and definitely wanted to continue reading once I started. As Mr. Graham matures as a writer, I am sure he will produce more excellent material.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2010

    Easy Read

    This book moves fast and the author's writing style is very easy to read. It is an interesting story. Character development is lacking. It's very hard to get inside the head of the main character. With that said it's good on the surface but fails to tug at the heartstrings due to lack of depth.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2014

    Be prepared for strong Christian current

    If you are open to these issues, you will probably enjoy this legal thriller.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2014

    Check out the full review at Kritters Ramblings Sam Hudson is a

    Check out the full review at Kritters Ramblings

    Sam Hudson is an attorney who gets caught up on the other side of the law and has to to do some work to get his name cleared as he is not guilty of the crimes.  

    I am amazed that a book with this length kept my attention - I read this book in two sittings.  I loved how the book took you through the crime, time in jail and beyond.  It was a complete story where normal legal thrillers only tell a part of the full story.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2014

    Even though I believe in God I am not outwardly showy that I hav

    Even though I believe in God I am not outwardly showy that I have faith, which fits with my personality as the world's biggest
     "I" (Introvert, in case you didn't know what the I stood for) and I am okay with that but I don't know why but it makes it harder for
     me to read Christian-based books, not sure why but it does. So I wasn't to sure going in about this one but I always give it a shot
     and I am glad that I did with this one. The story line for this one is amazing!!! Wrongly accused, wrongly prosecuted, wrongly convicted,
     poor Sam cannot seem to catch a break until he finds God. And even though after he was born again Sam's life wasn't all ice cream and
     rainbows, which I think is why I liked this book because even after you have found God life is still hard sometimes and this book really
     showed that whereas some Christian novels I have read have happily ever afters that just leave you feeling disillusioned, but Beyond
     Justice is a new breed of Christian novel out there that not only reinforces our beliefs but also that entertains us!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Good story!

    This book was pretty good. Around the middle of the book I had a hard time holding on to the story and I actually skipped through a bunch of pages until the story became interesting to me again. Although religion (Christianity) plays a big part in this story, it wasn't overbearing and I didn't feel like I was being preached at. Also, in this particular edition there are a few pages towards the end that are incomplete/out of place. All in all, I enjoyed this book and it is well worth the price.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2