Customer Reviews for

Beyond Ordinary: When a Good Marriage Just Isn't Good Enough

Average Rating 4
( 31 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2013

    This book is a must read for every marriage. It offers a down to

    This book is a must read for every marriage. It offers a down to earth approach to relationship issues all couples struggle with and practical advice to strengthen our marriages and find the extraordinary oneness we all desire. Oftentimes it's easy to feel our marriage is okay so we pour our efforts into our children, our jobs, our churches, etc. We nurture the other relationships in our life and wonder how our marriage became the "ordinary" marriage we swore we would never have. Justin and Trisha Davis offer the reader a transparent look into the struggles they faced while pointing out the little things that creep into our lives and threaten oneness.
    I love the unique approach of reading their journey through both of their perspectives.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2013

    A five star a testimony to the healing hand of God. A beautiful

    A five star a testimony to the healing hand of God. A beautiful tale of how God redeems our brokeness. Justin and Trish Davis' relationship was all but dead. 




    I beleive readers will hear their story and struggle in this book. Many marriages fail under the pressures of this life or continue on in a destructive pattern than leaves them mediocre at the best unsatisifies, unfulfilled, frustrated, not living in abundance.




    The Davies' story  is an extraordinaty tale of grace. Justin and Trish's story holds power. It is the story of redemption and freedom to heal, freedom to trust God, freedom to find contentment in the mate of our youth, freedom to overcome addictions, freedom to tell the truth. 




    A must read. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2015

    Amazing Couple!

    They came to our church and shared their story! Words can not express how their story touched my heart and made me see I was not alone. Thank you for sharing your journey.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2013

    Ordinary?

    I would not say their marriage wad ordinary but rather severely disfunctional from the beginning. Even so, the application they make is excellent advice for every marriage. Its a good book with a great story that is convicting and at times heart-wrenching.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    I would not recommend this book. I believe other books would be

    I would not recommend this book. I believe other books would be more helpful to couples in crisis and portray an overall more hopeful picture of how God can redeem anything for our good and His glory.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2013

    A story full of pain, hope, faith and restoration. A great marri

    A story full of pain, hope, faith and restoration. A great marriage, a marriage on the brink we can all find something to relate to in the book. A story of God's faith faithfulness even in the darkest places and the hardest times. He is always standing next to us and is with us.
    Comment

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2013

    This book is about Justin and Trisha Davis' marriage. The book i

    This book is about Justin and Trisha Davis' marriage. The book is part of their story and then part advice/help in all marriages. Things happened in their marriage that I never saw coming. This book really kept my attention and it is amazing what God has done in their lives/marriage. I felt like I benefitted from their advice and I think everyone could whether your marriage is fine or is in trouble. I would recommend this book to all, whether you are just recently married or have been married for 50 years.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2013

    This was a very good book.  Justin and Trisha did a very good jo

    This was a very good book.  Justin and Trisha did a very good job of telling their story in a truthful, honest manner.  They brought out some very good principles that every married couple would do well to follow.  It reminded me again of how important my marriage is and that I need to extend effort and energy to make it work, but with God, our marriage can truly be extraordinary.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This is an amazing book that EVERY married person should read! 

    This is an amazing book that EVERY married person should read! 
    I seriously cannot get over how amazing this book is. I have never heard/read the problems in marriages today expressed so truthfully and Biblical and practical advice given so honestly and pertinently. Justin and Trisha write this book with a transparency that's not graphic and over-the-top, but rather just what you need to hear and would want to hear from Godly, biblical counselors. 
    The Davis' take turns with the writing of "Beyond Ordinary" so that it's always written in the first person; sometimes both of them sharing about the same incident but from their own perspective, which I found incredibly helpful. Each chapter begins with them sharing aspects of their lives/marriage, some good and some bad, and then ending with Biblical excerpts, comparisons and application. Such a great foundation for a book on marriage.  
    I have to say, I was completely shocked by the twist about 2/3 into the book, but honestly, the HUGE problems they shared in their own marriage only made them more likable and approachable as real humans who had real problems in their marriage. 
    I truly wish I had the money to buy a copy for every couple I know, as this is THAT good! So, if you're married, plan on getting married, know someone who's married or plans on getting married, you NEED to buy this incredible book! :)
    (By the way, I'm single, never married, but I think that only goes to show how powerful this book is, as I could see the truth in it, just from living with my married parents and having married brothers and married best friends.)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2013

    Inspiring read that makes me believe an extraordinary marriage i

    Inspiring read that makes me believe an extraordinary marriage is possible. Without finger-pointing, the authors use a back-and-forth style of writing from each of their perspectives and reveal the mistakes they each made. It also details the steps they took to healing and creating an extraordinary marriage where they both support each other. This story is especially compelling as they were involved in church ministry: church ministers and leaders are not immune to marriage problems! However, when both are sincerely seeking what God wants for them, healing can occur out of the most disastrous situations!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2013

    I read this book as part of the Tyndale House Summer Reading pro

    I read this book as part of the Tyndale House Summer Reading program and was not impressed. These people had issues and then they got married and their issues were magnified. It took these years to figure it out and get over it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2013

    There is much in this book of value and insight. I strongly agre

    There is much in this book of value and insight. I strongly agree that faith in God is the best tool to keep a marriage headed in the right direction. I appreciate the Davises` sharing their story, and their message. I am left with a lot to think about. I was not sure what to think about some of the points they made, and that might be because our marriage is not similar to theirs, or because of the slightly simplistic writing style they used. Some of the points could have been fleshed out, to clarify them. I did feel that Gary Chapman's 4 Seasons of Marriage had more to say to me and my husband, but this is useful as well. All in all, it is a good guide to healing in marriages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2013

    This book was a great read even after being married for the last

    This book was a great read even after being married for the last ten years.  It brought back memories of how many adjustments are made in those first few years.  And how even after you have chosen to get married, you have to choose to continue to stay in love.  The honesty and candidness in this book is refreshing.  HIghly recommended for couples at all stages in their marriage.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2013

    Beyond Ordinary was a great book to challenge couples to not set

    Beyond Ordinary was a great book to challenge couples to not settle for an ordinary marriage. They authors say that if you neglect a marriage, even the best marriages get dull and people can drift apart. But this isn’t a how-to book. I loved the fact that they say Jesus is the only way to a better marriage because without Jesus we can’t do anything. Jesus needs to change our hearts before we can love our spouses the way we ought to. The husband and wife take turns writing, which was a fun format. They walk you through their marriage story and bring in lots of scripture as well. There are good questions for discussion at the end of each chapter. I found the book encouraging and Christ-centered. I wouldn’t recommend this book for newlyweds just because I don’t think most newlyweds can imagine having severe problems in their marriages…even though it would be good for them to think about. And this isn’t just a book for a marriage dealing with an affair. The principles are the same for any marriage.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Not what I expected. A friend who is dealing with marital issue

    Not what I expected.

    A friend who is dealing with marital issues shared with me how much she enjoyed this book, so I decided it was worth a read.

    The great cover, as well as the concept of building-up relationships to make them extra-ordinary piqued my interest.

    The authors (husband and wife, Justin and Trisha) portrayed a surface-honesty, and more personal issues than I cared to learn about. I skipped many pages, scanning here and there to find some kind of light—but each page was much of the same. I just couldn’t get past Justin’s arrogant ego, lies, and deception. In my mind, this was not an ordinary marriage needing a little light…it was a dark disaster. I feel for Trisha.

    I’m sorry…perhaps writing the book was a cathartic experience for them, but it was a little disappointing for me. It didn’t really deliver what I expected. I’m glad I read it on a loan, rather than purchased it myself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2013

    Excellent Marriage Book! I was hesitant at first about reading a

    Excellent Marriage Book!
    I was hesitant at first about reading a marriage book because I didn't think it would keep my attention and after a chapter of what I should or shouldn't do it would be a struggle to keep reading but that definitely does not describe this book. The authors share their real life marriage experiences in each chapter and some things they have learned along their marriage journey to turn a marriage from ordinary to extraordinary. Justin and Trisha shared both separately and together their struggles and triumphs during the course of their marriage so far. It was an excellent book. It was very hard to put the book down-I wanted to keep reading and find out what happened to their marriage.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2013

    Love It

    I am reading this book again. I know Justin and Trisha and love them but I'm reading it again because the content is so real I need it over and over.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2013

    This book is so much more than a book about marriage. Beyond th

    This book is so much more than a book about marriage. Beyond the typical "steps to help your marriage" type of book, Trisha and Justin share their life struggles to help readers improve all their relationships by being more open (lowering the waterline) and honest in communication. This book was so good, that I will be looking for the books that they referenced to read where they learned all the great information they shared. I love it when a book makes me gasp in surprise (which doesn't happen often) and this book did it twice. I have a lot of respect for Trisha and Justin sharing their story in such an honest, open manner. Sometimes you read a book that it just what you need to read at just the right time. Everyone who has a relationship with another person (married, single, friends, co-worker, familial) should read this book! Such a great book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2013

    This is the story of Justin and Trisha, who had an "ordinar

    This is the story of Justin and Trisha, who had an "ordinary" marriage, and how they overcame their struggles together.

    The book is this couple's testimony, told from both the husband and wife's perspectives, with marriage advice and questions at the end of each chapter. I did not feel that this was a good book to help with my marriage. There are better books out there to strengthen and help marriages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2013

    Anyone who is married knows that marriage is hard work. Beyond O

    Anyone who is married knows that marriage is hard work. Beyond Ordinary is the true story of a real life couple who honestly share the mountains and valleys of their marriage. Beyond Ordinary is the story of Justin and Trisha who are unwilling to forsake their vows - even when it is tempting to do so. Their story will inspire you to make your marriage - any marriage - better than ordinary. They encourage you, with faith in God, to cherish your marriage and spouse - because God wants you to do so. This was an honest and thought-provoking book to read. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2