Customer Reviews for

Beyond Reach

Average Rating 3.5
( 353 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(121)

4 Star

(83)

3 Star

(51)

2 Star

(48)

1 Star

(50)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Who reads these anyway?

Well, I do sometimes. For bargain books anyway. But I seriously doubt whether Karin Slaughter does and even if she does I doubt she makes any artistic decisions based on what B&N readers think. So..I read this book just I had read the other Sara-Jeffrey books, and like ...
Well, I do sometimes. For bargain books anyway. But I seriously doubt whether Karin Slaughter does and even if she does I doubt she makes any artistic decisions based on what B&N readers think. So..I read this book just I had read the other Sara-Jeffrey books, and like many others I didn't see the ending coming at all. Furthermore, it pissed me off. It was like standing around the campfire, singing We Are the World and suddenly an AK-47 opens up and all of sudden body parts are flying everywhere. Actually, that's a pretty good analogy, if you think about Sara finding Jeffrey's detached arm still hanging onto the mailbox. Or maybe it wasn't his arm. It's been a while since I read it. One thing I know from 60 yrs of reading and teaching writing and literature at a university for 23 yrs---if you fall in love with a writer and most of us do at some point---you can be sure that eventually, just as in real life love affairs, that writer will do something that will have you throwing the book across the room and vowing never to read him/her again. It happened to me with John Connoley (Charlie Parker mysteries) when he wrote that loathsome "THe Book of Lost Things," and China Mieville's ridiculous "Lun Un Dun," Michael Gruber's "The Forgery of Venus," and even one of my favorite writers, Vernor Vinge abssymal, "The End of the Rainbow," or maybe it was Rainbow's End. Who knows? You can love everything the person writes...for a while. It's a little like life, I guess. I suppose Karin Slaughter will get old readers back with her new book, and even if she doesn't, she'll get new readers. I don't know where I fall yet. There are a lot of books out there. So many books, so little time.

posted by JeaneAR on March 25, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Bummer

Karin Slaughter is on my top 10 favorite authors, but Beyond Reach was such a let down. It was like she was getting bored with the series and slapped enough crap on the pages to make it novel lenghth to end the series and put a fork in it. It took me forever to get th...
Karin Slaughter is on my top 10 favorite authors, but Beyond Reach was such a let down. It was like she was getting bored with the series and slapped enough crap on the pages to make it novel lenghth to end the series and put a fork in it. It took me forever to get through this book then the ending just confirmed my dislike for it. I suggest reading the whole series because it truely is out standing, then when you get to Beyond Reach, toss it in the trash and think of how you would have liked it to end because i guarante this was not it.

posted by MickeyMod on February 16, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 356 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 18
  • Posted February 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Bummer

    Karin Slaughter is on my top 10 favorite authors, but Beyond Reach was such a let down. It was like she was getting bored with the series and slapped enough crap on the pages to make it novel lenghth to end the series and put a fork in it. It took me forever to get through this book then the ending just confirmed my dislike for it. I suggest reading the whole series because it truely is out standing, then when you get to Beyond Reach, toss it in the trash and think of how you would have liked it to end because i guarante this was not it.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2009

    Who reads these anyway?

    Well, I do sometimes. For bargain books anyway. But I seriously doubt whether Karin Slaughter does and even if she does I doubt she makes any artistic decisions based on what B&N readers think. So..I read this book just I had read the other Sara-Jeffrey books, and like many others I didn't see the ending coming at all. Furthermore, it pissed me off. It was like standing around the campfire, singing We Are the World and suddenly an AK-47 opens up and all of sudden body parts are flying everywhere. Actually, that's a pretty good analogy, if you think about Sara finding Jeffrey's detached arm still hanging onto the mailbox. Or maybe it wasn't his arm. It's been a while since I read it. One thing I know from 60 yrs of reading and teaching writing and literature at a university for 23 yrs---if you fall in love with a writer and most of us do at some point---you can be sure that eventually, just as in real life love affairs, that writer will do something that will have you throwing the book across the room and vowing never to read him/her again. It happened to me with John Connoley (Charlie Parker mysteries) when he wrote that loathsome "THe Book of Lost Things," and China Mieville's ridiculous "Lun Un Dun," Michael Gruber's "The Forgery of Venus," and even one of my favorite writers, Vernor Vinge abssymal, "The End of the Rainbow," or maybe it was Rainbow's End. Who knows? You can love everything the person writes...for a while. It's a little like life, I guess. I suppose Karin Slaughter will get old readers back with her new book, and even if she doesn't, she'll get new readers. I don't know where I fall yet. There are a lot of books out there. So many books, so little time.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2009

    jeffery

    this was the worst of the grant county series.it left me depressed and
    sad.if you are a reader who enjoys the relationship between sara and jeffery dont read this book.not only was this book confusing and difficult to follow the ending was ridiculous. maybe she can redeem herself with the whole last two pages being staged or it was a dream. if not i will not be reading anymore of the books in this series.this was a very bad decision on the part of karin slaughter.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 2, 2011

    Waste of time

    After reading the entire series in less than a week and enjoying Slaughter's writing, I found myself confused with all the jumps from past to present throughout this book. The tragic ending will no doubt loose Slaughter fans, this one included.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2009

    beyond reach

    Fair, not the best book by Slaughter,

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed for Midwest Book Review

    Pediatrician/medical examiner Sara Linton is reeling from a vicious malpractice suit and having to close her clinic when her husband, police chief Jeffrey Tollier, receives word that Lena Adams, one of his detectives, has been arrested in Reese, GA. Sara accompanies Jeffrey to the small, backwater town. When they arrive, Lena uses Sara to escape and from that point on manages to stay one step ahead of Jeffrey and the sheriff of Reese. As Jeffrey tries to find Lena, bodies pile up and he and Sara find their own lives threatened. Meanwhile, Lena is trying to locate her Uncle Hank and the man he claims killed her mother when she stumbles upon a group of white supremacists who deal in meth trafficking.

    This sixth installment of the Grant County, GA crime series is as gritty and realistic as real life. Slaughter touches upon the devastating effects of methamphetamine on its users and the vicious cruelty of its makers and traffickers. Slaughter adroitly leads the reader through two investigations: Lena as she tracks her uncle and tries to find out what really happened to her mother, and Jeffrey and Sara as they search for Lena. Slaughter provides an ending which is unexpected and which some readers will find traumatic and unsettling.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    disappointing

    Beyond Reach was, by far, my least favorite of all books from the Grant County series. The sudden "twist" at the end was unwelcome and disappointing. Was this really the ending to the Grant County series? I really liked Jeffrey but Lena...not so much - she's overly annoying. Lena has seen her share of brutal murders, so why was she suddenly such a terrified mute in this book? The only reason I finished Beyond Reach was Ms. Slaughter's writing - it's sharp, clear, fast-paced; however, the story was derailed catastrophically.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2010

    HATED the ending

    I will brief and say that I enjoyed the book, up until the last page. At that point, I was so disgusted with the ending that I couldn't believe I had just wasted 2 days reading this book,

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2009

    Don't waste your time

    This book wasn't worth the effort. The story was just mediocre and then the ending was horrible. I won't be reading anymore of this author's books.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2008

    outstanding!

    I have read the entire series featuring Sara and Jeffrey, and each installment has proven better than its predecessor. 'Beyond Reach' was an excellent read and I was delighted with the unexpected twist at the end. Good literature should reflect reality to a certain extent and reality certainly does not consist merely of contentment and happy endings. I was shocked and very annoyed by the attitude of the majority of reviewers featured, their opinions were shallow and narrow-minded. How could anyone claim they will never read another book by this author just because the ending wasn't a fairytale one? - How ridiculous! Karin Slaughter is a fantastic thriller writer and I look forward to reading her next masterpiece.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2014

    Another Great Book

    Beyond Reach by Karin Slaughter is a must read if you're following the series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2014

    THANKS ALOT FOR TELLING ME THE ENDING - NOT!!

    Boy that makes me mad!! PLEASE don't spoil the ending!! I've been looking for the book where Jeffrey is killed, but I wanted to read it for myself!! At least say "spoiler alert!"

    I have not read the book yet so I cannot rate the story - but I love her Grant County series. The one star is for the jerk who told the whole story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2013

    &Delta

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2013

    Captivating with twists not guessed until the last page. While

    Captivating with twists not guessed until the last page. While the ending was shocking and seemed and end to the series, the reader must realize that dark things happen throughout this series. While readers have found the secondary theme of Sara and Jeffery's love story past and present to offset the darkness of the gruesome murderous primary themes of the series. The shocking ending of this installment of Sara's life leaves Slaughter's readers with a sense of personal loss. A true measure of the author pulling the reader into her plots. Will be interested in reading future additions to this series to see how Sara's tortured personal life unfolds.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2013

    Excellent!

    Did not expect the ending! The story was so gripping. Love this series! I'm so torn emotionally! A must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2013

    Highly recommend

    Karen Slaughter never let's you down. Another spell binding mystery with all her usual character twists!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2013

    What a shocker!

    I have enjoyed this whole series, including this book!! I had a hard time putting it down and when I got to the ending, my jaw literally dropped!! Sure, it kinda sucked....but I'm certainly not going to stop reading her books because of it. I think it takes a lot of guts to end it the way she did!! Right on, Karin!! Keep writing!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2013

    Never again

    First time I've read this author's works. I hated this ending so much, I will never get anything by this author again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2013

    Mad and not going to take it anymore

    Karin Slaughter's writing is intetesting but what I liked the most was the relationship between the two main characters. if you feel the same way don't finish the book. The ending may make you as mad as it did me. The same reason I no longer read Nicholas Sparks. It was just mean spirited for no real purpose. You never saw the end coming.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2013

    Murder Mystery PLUS

    The plot line was a little weak. The description of crime, society and politics in today's Deep South make this a must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 356 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 18