Customer Reviews for

Beyond Reach

Average Rating 3.5
( 357 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(123)

4 Star

(83)

3 Star

(51)

2 Star

(48)

1 Star

(52)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Who reads these anyway?

Well, I do sometimes. For bargain books anyway. But I seriously doubt whether Karin Slaughter does and even if she does I doubt she makes any artistic decisions based on what B&N readers think. So..I read this book just I had read the other Sara-Jeffrey books, and like ...
Well, I do sometimes. For bargain books anyway. But I seriously doubt whether Karin Slaughter does and even if she does I doubt she makes any artistic decisions based on what B&N readers think. So..I read this book just I had read the other Sara-Jeffrey books, and like many others I didn't see the ending coming at all. Furthermore, it pissed me off. It was like standing around the campfire, singing We Are the World and suddenly an AK-47 opens up and all of sudden body parts are flying everywhere. Actually, that's a pretty good analogy, if you think about Sara finding Jeffrey's detached arm still hanging onto the mailbox. Or maybe it wasn't his arm. It's been a while since I read it. One thing I know from 60 yrs of reading and teaching writing and literature at a university for 23 yrs---if you fall in love with a writer and most of us do at some point---you can be sure that eventually, just as in real life love affairs, that writer will do something that will have you throwing the book across the room and vowing never to read him/her again. It happened to me with John Connoley (Charlie Parker mysteries) when he wrote that loathsome "THe Book of Lost Things," and China Mieville's ridiculous "Lun Un Dun," Michael Gruber's "The Forgery of Venus," and even one of my favorite writers, Vernor Vinge abssymal, "The End of the Rainbow," or maybe it was Rainbow's End. Who knows? You can love everything the person writes...for a while. It's a little like life, I guess. I suppose Karin Slaughter will get old readers back with her new book, and even if she doesn't, she'll get new readers. I don't know where I fall yet. There are a lot of books out there. So many books, so little time.

posted by JeaneAR on March 25, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Bummer

Karin Slaughter is on my top 10 favorite authors, but Beyond Reach was such a let down. It was like she was getting bored with the series and slapped enough crap on the pages to make it novel lenghth to end the series and put a fork in it. It took me forever to get th...
Karin Slaughter is on my top 10 favorite authors, but Beyond Reach was such a let down. It was like she was getting bored with the series and slapped enough crap on the pages to make it novel lenghth to end the series and put a fork in it. It took me forever to get through this book then the ending just confirmed my dislike for it. I suggest reading the whole series because it truely is out standing, then when you get to Beyond Reach, toss it in the trash and think of how you would have liked it to end because i guarante this was not it.

posted by MickeyMod on February 16, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 123 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted March 25, 2009

    Who reads these anyway?

    Well, I do sometimes. For bargain books anyway. But I seriously doubt whether Karin Slaughter does and even if she does I doubt she makes any artistic decisions based on what B&N readers think. So..I read this book just I had read the other Sara-Jeffrey books, and like many others I didn't see the ending coming at all. Furthermore, it pissed me off. It was like standing around the campfire, singing We Are the World and suddenly an AK-47 opens up and all of sudden body parts are flying everywhere. Actually, that's a pretty good analogy, if you think about Sara finding Jeffrey's detached arm still hanging onto the mailbox. Or maybe it wasn't his arm. It's been a while since I read it. One thing I know from 60 yrs of reading and teaching writing and literature at a university for 23 yrs---if you fall in love with a writer and most of us do at some point---you can be sure that eventually, just as in real life love affairs, that writer will do something that will have you throwing the book across the room and vowing never to read him/her again. It happened to me with John Connoley (Charlie Parker mysteries) when he wrote that loathsome "THe Book of Lost Things," and China Mieville's ridiculous "Lun Un Dun," Michael Gruber's "The Forgery of Venus," and even one of my favorite writers, Vernor Vinge abssymal, "The End of the Rainbow," or maybe it was Rainbow's End. Who knows? You can love everything the person writes...for a while. It's a little like life, I guess. I suppose Karin Slaughter will get old readers back with her new book, and even if she doesn't, she'll get new readers. I don't know where I fall yet. There are a lot of books out there. So many books, so little time.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2008

    outstanding!

    I have read the entire series featuring Sara and Jeffrey, and each installment has proven better than its predecessor. 'Beyond Reach' was an excellent read and I was delighted with the unexpected twist at the end. Good literature should reflect reality to a certain extent and reality certainly does not consist merely of contentment and happy endings. I was shocked and very annoyed by the attitude of the majority of reviewers featured, their opinions were shallow and narrow-minded. How could anyone claim they will never read another book by this author just because the ending wasn't a fairytale one? - How ridiculous! Karin Slaughter is a fantastic thriller writer and I look forward to reading her next masterpiece.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2015

    This is by far, one of the best books I have ever read.  You mus

    This is by far, one of the best books I have ever read.  You must start from the beginning in this series to really get the impact in it's totality.  
    If you don't start from the beginning, it will be a mistake.  Yes, these are what many call "police procedurals" however, they are so much more!  
    Complex cases, in depth and thoughtful character development and complex storylines are the order of the day.  Plus, there is the Will Grant 
    series that is also phenomenal and becomes a tie in.  
    In a sea of books that are predictable and that leave a person who really enjoys a great
    feeling "taken for the annual installment with no effort put into it", Karin Slaughter is the exception!!!!  She weaves these plots and characters in a thoughtful and ultra-talented way.  She cares about her readers.  So YES!!! Read Beyond Reach but please start at the beginning and get ready for an awesome ride!!!!  5 SUPER STARS for KS!!! 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2014

    Another Great Book

    Beyond Reach by Karin Slaughter is a must read if you're following the series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2013

    &Delta

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2013

    Captivating with twists not guessed until the last page. While

    Captivating with twists not guessed until the last page. While the ending was shocking and seemed and end to the series, the reader must realize that dark things happen throughout this series. While readers have found the secondary theme of Sara and Jeffery's love story past and present to offset the darkness of the gruesome murderous primary themes of the series. The shocking ending of this installment of Sara's life leaves Slaughter's readers with a sense of personal loss. A true measure of the author pulling the reader into her plots. Will be interested in reading future additions to this series to see how Sara's tortured personal life unfolds.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2013

    Highly recommend

    Karen Slaughter never let's you down. Another spell binding mystery with all her usual character twists!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2013

    What a shocker!

    I have enjoyed this whole series, including this book!! I had a hard time putting it down and when I got to the ending, my jaw literally dropped!! Sure, it kinda sucked....but I'm certainly not going to stop reading her books because of it. I think it takes a lot of guts to end it the way she did!! Right on, Karin!! Keep writing!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2013

    Very good read. I bought all the books.

    I really like Karin's writings. Between my sister and I, we have bought everything that she has written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2013

    SO VERY SAD

    I do think a writer that can bring out emotion in readers is simply a great writer. But in spite of this truth, I am still very sad. I keep remembering Ethan, another character in the series, telling Jeffrey to watch his mailbox and Chief Jeffrey Tolliver ignored this one sentance warning...So did I as i was very surprsed at the ending and cried and cried as if my best friend's husband was just blown up. Is there more to this series ever or is this it? Oh dear author please dont give up on Lena,Sara,or Jeffrey...make this a drug residual dream or something but the truth...please?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2013

    There's nothing I love more than an unexpected ending.

    There's nothing I love more than an unexpected ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2011

    great book

    excellent book in the series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2011

    Highly Recommended!

    I could not stop reading this book. It kept me up all night! When will the next book be available? I have to find out what happens to Jeffrey! HURRY! HURRY! HURRY!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A great read

    I was given this book as a gift and loved it. Now I'm a fan. I just need to go to her website so I can see the order and read them in order. I love the characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Riveting!

    This was the first Karin Slaughter book I read and within a month I had read all 10. She is my new favorite author. The characters are so well developed I find myself thinking about them constantly after the story is over. The mysteries are complex and thought provoking. Karin Slaughter's writing style is good you don't even realize hours have literally passed because you are so entranced in the world she has created.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    She writes a real page turner.

    What is not to love... Karin is a great writter and keeps me comming back for more.... I read one book, loved it and have now read all of her books in this series....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2009

    Loved it & hated it

    I love Karin Slaughter's books and have truly enjoyed these characters. The book is similar in writing to the other books in the series and I enjoyed it. The ending took me by surprise and I was seriously irritated because I am a huge Sara & Jeffrey fan. However, I can understand why the author did it and after reading the next book, Undone, I think it may work out okay...it is definitely not your happy ever after ending, but how interesting would that have been?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2009

    Karin Slaughter is amazing......

    I love this author, she is wonderful. Every book I pick up that she has written I find myself not wanting to put it down. I feel as though I know Sarah Linton, Jeffrey Tolliver and the entire cast of her books. I just finished "A Cold Faint Fear" and was sorry it was the end of the book. I look for new reading material from Karin on a regular basis.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2008

    Awesome

    Loved every minute of it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2008

    Fantastic read

    The ending may not have satisfied many readers, but it surely brought an unexpected twist to the plot - leaving many readers asking for more. For me, what truly makes a fantastic book is when it grips you from beginning to end and then has you shaking the book out when you are finished, looking for pages you may have missed. Great work, Karin Slaughter - can't wait for your next one out in 2009!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 123 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7