Customer Reviews for

Beyond Religion: Ethics for a Whole World

Average Rating 4
( 25 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Extraordinarily thought-provoking.

His Holiness tends to be a little wordy, but is the epitome of humility and grace. His philosophy of ethics truly does transcend religion and speaks to the essential sameness of human beings: we are all complex organisms pursuing happiness and avoiding suffering. And th...
His Holiness tends to be a little wordy, but is the epitome of humility and grace. His philosophy of ethics truly does transcend religion and speaks to the essential sameness of human beings: we are all complex organisms pursuing happiness and avoiding suffering. And the more we help ONE ANOTHER understand and attain those goals, the better of humanity is as a whole.

posted by Virago59 on January 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

rip off

Only 128 pages

posted by 11458700 on April 22, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted January 6, 2012

    Extraordinarily thought-provoking.

    His Holiness tends to be a little wordy, but is the epitome of humility and grace. His philosophy of ethics truly does transcend religion and speaks to the essential sameness of human beings: we are all complex organisms pursuing happiness and avoiding suffering. And the more we help ONE ANOTHER understand and attain those goals, the better of humanity is as a whole.

    12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2012

    A must read for everyone!!!

    The Dalai Lama writes with such common sence and understanding. The world would certainly be a much better place if everyone would follow his teaching. It reaches across all nations and people. I want to read more.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2012

    rip off

    Only 128 pages

    3 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2012

    great book about all religons and science,no one religon talked about more then the other.... keeps mre reading

    awsome, informed non biased..... recommend to anyone

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2012

    A book all can love.

    This book really made me look at what we all offer to the world. We are all connected yet often people feel so isolated. His point of getting religion out of ethics discussions is well taken and certainly makes more sense to me than anything else I've read on the subject.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2012

    A musst read.

    Very insightful & recommended. Check it out.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2012

    Clear, Concise, Easy to Understand

    His Holiness the Dalai Lama presents a very simple philosophy; a way for all people of every religion, race, and ethnicity to live peaceably together in the World. If only we have the courage to take it into our hearts and live by it. One person at a time . . . let it begin with me.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2012

    Verry good book

    A short read but packed full from start to finish this book is a must read for anyone interested in ethics.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2012

    Highly recommend

    A very insightful expression of the Dalai Lama's philosophy on the ethics of mankind respective of relidious affiliation.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2013

    Required reading for humans

    The Dalai Lama will contiinue to preach respect all life for as long as he lives

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2