Customer Reviews for

Beyond Shame (Beyond, Book One)

Average Rating 4
( 54 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(28)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

This book was a pleasant surprise. It is much more than erotica.

This book was a pleasant surprise. It is much more than erotica. It is a very well thought out, nicely written story about a young woman both trying to adjust to a new life and trying to figure out who she really is. 




The details put into creating the futuristic dys...
This book was a pleasant surprise. It is much more than erotica. It is a very well thought out, nicely written story about a young woman both trying to adjust to a new life and trying to figure out who she really is. 




The details put into creating the futuristic dystopian world that the characters live in illustrate the time and work put into the story. It doesn't serve just as a setting for the story, but it aids in explaining the mindset of all the characters. Furthermore, it provides a reference point for how difficult it is for Noelle to adapt to not just her new environment, but adjusting to a different way of thinking regarding herself. Throughout the story, you read how she adjusts from living in a world where socializing is regulated through communicating through computers/technology and things such as sex and alcohol are forbidden, to a world where sex and alcohol flow freely without shame.




Yes there is sex (and very well written, hot sex scenes), but this story is basically a sort of coming of age story. It's Noelle's story of growing up which includes exploring her sexuality and not being ashamed of it. When you read how her life is back in Eden, you come to understand why she has difficult times letting herself be open to the freedom that she has living in the Sector. You come to care for her and hope that she can find the strength to embrace the opportunity she has to live life as she should. 




Don't let the summary fool you. This is a great story with strong, likeable characters. I was very moved with Noelle's story. It gave this book it's heart and made it more than just an erotica book. I was very pleasantly surprise and I have no shame in saying that I thoroughly enjoyed the book.

posted by chibilee02 on March 8, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Good read

A different way of living where family doesmt have to be blood. A hot erotica book with action and lots of love.

posted by kitkat08 on October 8, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted July 22, 2013

    great read

    about 610 pages. the story was well written and kept you entertained. read the second book and can't wait for the next (?). it was a good balance of romance and erotica--hot read but not hard core.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2013

    Amazing.....

    Hang on to the edge of your seat,... your in for a wild ride! Highly recommend. Very well written. The authors paint a very vivid picture. First book I've read like this and was NOT disappointed. Immediately purchased the next and am drooling for the third to come out. O'Kane for life!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I want MORE!  Tattoos, gangs and BDSM oh my! Im giving this book

    I want MORE! 
    Tattoos, gangs and BDSM oh my! Im giving this book the one handed read salute! Not only is this book super hot but its got a really good story to back it up. I absolutely LOVE this book. I love sacrificing virgins and Noelle is the perfect naughty virgin. She pretty much knows what she wants but it too ashamed to ask for it. Jasper is the holy grail (for me) of holy hunkness with his sexy beard, tattoos and commanding but chivalrous presence. 
    I had a very hard time putting this book down. If you like sexy badasses with tattoos, BDSM, ménage, F/F with a hot virgin, then this is it for you! 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    This book was super hot and so much more than just sex. I wasn't

    This book was super hot and so much more than just sex. I wasn't sure I'd like a post apocalyptic dystopian world, but the interactions between characters was what kept me reading. Hard core, real life made something of themselves in a place where no one thought you could, men and women have freedom to do what they want, while living in a strict and kill or be killed world. I couldn't stop reading. Sex, of course, but so erotic that you just have to keep reading. It was enough that I had, and that's a capital HAD to go and buy the next book to find out what happens to the other characters. Fantastic job. I didn't want to put it down and had to sneak time at work to read. ;)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2013

    great book

    loved the story. LOVED the sex. great read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2013

    Man oh man..... This book was HOT, HOT, HOT..... What a guy Ja

    Man oh man..... This book was HOT, HOT, HOT..... What a guy Jas is, lucky Noelle!! Characters are fab - totally alpha males, strong sassy females and loads of action!!

    Noelle was a quiet girl who had been stifled living in Eden. Jas is a rough, tough hard living man who has seen a lot during his life in the sectors.
    We are introduced to the O'Kane gang and their 'King' Dallas. Although a gang, this group of people very much stick together and have each other's backs... They have a real family vibe and a healthy respect for each other.

    The gang are very sexual and are all very open and comfortable with the life they lead. Through the story there are some smokin' hot encounters!! Surprisingly, given the hard, down & dirty living they do, there is a moral code that all members of the gang buy into and no-one is forced to take part in anything they don't want to!!

    The story has action, passion, romance and some violence.
    There's cage fighting, tattoos a plenty and a journey of self discovery - it's great watching Noelle evolve from the sheltered Eden girl to a fully engage free-thinking O'Kane.....

    Looking forward to the reading Lex & Dallas's story, as well as the rest of the books in the series - have read the teaser 1st chapter to 'Beyond Control' and I'm betting this is gonna be another cracker of a book!!!
    I'm sure loads more cold showers will be required... ;D

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2013

    I'm addicted

    Great everything. Fast paced. I ferl like I know the characters and want to meet more. O'Kane for Life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2013

    Hot, gritty

    Sexy as hell

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2013

    Good read!

    Sucked me into this dystopian world and made me go straight to the next book for more!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2013

    Raine

    Very good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2013

    OH MY (Cannot wait for more)

    Awesome book cannot wait for the next one. Characters are great and you cannot help but want to know more about all of them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2013

    WOW!!! What a great book. It was sexy as hell and I can't wait f

    WOW!!!
    What a great book. It was sexy as hell and I can't wait for the next book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 6, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I absolutely loved this book and cannot wait until the next ones

    I absolutely loved this book and cannot wait until the next ones in this series is out.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2012

    Really really good

    Can't wait for more!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2