Customer Reviews for

Beyond Valor (Harlequin Romantic Suspense Series #1739)

Average Rating 4.5
( 31 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted January 21, 2013

    Beyond Valor by Lindsay McKenna 5 STARS Beyond Valor is a new

    Beyond Valor by Lindsay McKenna
    5 STARS

    Beyond Valor is a new series of books that starts off from a old series from Lindsay,
    Morgan's Mercenaries. Megan Trayhern is a trained nurse and medic. Her father is Noah Trayhern a retired Coast Guard officer.
    Megan has kind of followed her family's tradition of serving in the armed forces. She could have been a Officer but chose to be in the field helping. Megan is sent into Afghanistan near the Pakistan border. Megan as a women can go into the nearby village and treat the women and young children. They could not recieve medical help from men.
    She is made welcome by the Afghanistan chief's wife. Given 4 widows to make a clinic and help her.
    Her commanding officer is not thrilled to have a women in his combat unit. They only have one medic where they need at least 3. He assigns Luke Collier, A marine corps combat medic to be in charge of her. Luke is excited about this trial program because he sees the need for women to help the other women when they need it.
    Luke and Megan are drawn to each other right away but they both fight it. While they are equal in rank they can be quartmashelled if they have a relationship.
    This novel is full of action and drama, strong characters, explains pretty good the life the Afghans villagers must face with different factions willing to kill anyone who does not belive like them. Some of the things that we take for granted they have to fight for. I was drawn into the story and did not want to put the book down till I had finshed it.
    Thier is one love scene in the book.
    I enjoy reading Lindsay McKenna's work and look forward to reading more of it in the future. I wish I new where I put the Morgan Mercenaries novels that I have in a box some where.
    I was given this ebook to read in exchange for honest review from Netgalley.
    01/22/2013 PUB Harlequin Imprint Harlequin Romantic Suspense 288 pages ISBN-10: 0373278098

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2013

    TO SPOTTEDKIT &hearts &hearts

    Wow! I looked at your poem and the others responses and it seems you touched most of theirs hearts. So wonderful!!! You should enter that poem and another poem in a poetry contest at 'helena (by chad hofmann)'! Read rules first though!! So touching!!! ~PC~ &spades &hearts &hearts &hearts &spades

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2013

    To jordan

    A unknown cat jumps and sinks her claws into hi neck

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2013

    Rainbow Dash to Spottedkit and Jordan

    Please don't kill yourself! You only have one life, so live it to its fullest. Just because one dude went off with another girl doesn't mean you have to kill yourself. There's always more fish in the sea, my mom would tell me. And so I pass on that advice to you. I'm sure if you killed yourself there would be people in your life who would miss you alot. Live for them. You'll soon get over the pain, but if this pain is handled the wrong way, there will be no recovery. So live life while you can, handle your pain the right way. Commiting suicide is the wrong way. You shouldn't have to kill yourself so young. You should be able to live a long, happy life, not have it be cut short by a reckless desision. Please don't kill yourself. We would all appreciate it. Even the people who don't know you. We all care about every single person in the RP, and if one thinks about commiting suicide irl, then we're there to reassure them that it's a bad thing. Once this happened to a pony named Boomer, and everyone in rp was there to reassure him not to go along with it, and he didn't. I just want you to know that all of us care and don't want to see anyone commit suicide in vain. Please live to see drinking age at least. Longer, even. Just don't die now. Btw to Jordan: How would you like it if you decided to commit suicide and I told you to go along with it because no one likes your fat as<_>s? Shut the fu<_>ck up and get out of here! If you don't have something nice to say don't say it at all!

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2013

    To spottedkit

    Please don't kill yourself. Just because one guy doesn't care about you doesn't ean others don't. Please dont kill yourself you'll hurt others.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2013

    To jordan

    This is venomstar leave her alone u dick !

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2013

    Dear spottedkit from Link

    That was a touching poem. But why waste one life for a man who never deserved you in the first place? You only get one life...so your going to waste it? Your not going out of this world fighting it? Why? You dont get do overs. Pain goes away eventually...what you are planning will end pain...but there can be no recovery. Without recovery, there cannot be forgiveness. Ask yourself this question. "What comes next?" Now ask this question. "Who will be hurt by this quick decision?" Personnally i have thought of suicide...but why, i ask myself, why bother? Theres no need...im just upset. That man hurt you...so your going to finish the job? Why? This is coming from a man spottedkit. Love is a strange emotion. It will tinker with ones mind. Its starts with obsession then it grows. The obsession i speak of is a longing for another individual. You crossed paths with this man then he hurt you...now your going to dig a grave for yourself? I mean this as kindly as i can. Get over him. Is this pathetic person worth ending your life over? Let me tell you a story. The priestess of a world was cursed. She needd the help of a soldier she cared for named Ende. After a series of events they grew closer. In the end the priestess knew the only way to keep this curse from destroying the world was to kill it...and herself. Ende loved her enough to jump off the edge of a cliff with her and spend his last moments with her. They died for a reason...you are not. Do you think life is just something you can just throw away? An old toy that you no longer wish because someone played with it and left it slightly broken? Now...ask yourself this..."is this man really worth it?" I want you to close your eyes. Go on. Listen to the sounds of life...breathe in air. Open your eyes and see the world around you. Please, if you will, go outside and walk around. God, as i believe im not sure about you, gave you a gift...one so precious, strong and fragile. Life. Let me tell you how fragile life is and what could happen if i changed your mind. I read a book called 'the rifle.' It was a story of a flintlock rifle so accurate, everywhere it went death happened. On the last chapter a spark ignited the powder inside it and accidentally killed a boy on christmas eve. The second that bullet entered his head, eighty years were lost from his life. The book told what his future was. He would have seventy eight moonlight walks, one marriage, three thousand twenty two kisses with his wife, got a phd in medicine, cured cancer and on top of that won the nobel peace prize. But the second that gun went off all of that was gone. Now, he did not have a choice, but you do...are you going to throw it away? You could and probably will be great in the near future...so why waste that chance. Let the wheel of fortune spin! Youve sufferd enough for free spins! As for that man, hes a lowly, worthless worm of a man...i dont know the details but it sounds like he was a coward for picking on a charming poet such as yourself. Cowards are worse than anything. They deserve to be punished like bullies. This man does not know the true meaning of courage...but should that stop you? I challenge you...live another year...go on. Do this. Watch the changes in life. I want you to take things day by day. Now, if he wont leave you alone, you have us to talk to and on top of that, speak up. You have a voice! Use it. Please...consider my words...and i want you to ask yourself one question...just one please i beg you. Why?

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2013

    Jordan to Spottedkit

    Do it! No one likes your que<_>er as<_>s anyways!

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2013

    Spottedkit

    Poems. They express us shout our feelings out. They let us write our life down in lines and sentences. <p> My life is a lie. He loved me. He held me hand. Until i saw him with another girl in the stands. I take my match. One stroke to start a flame. One to start a fire. One to silence him. <p> One two. He said i love you. Three four. He came to my lifes door. Five. He lied. Six seven. I put his life to heaven. <p> One knife. One blade. One cut of shame. Blood spills. Drips of red now soak the bed. I see no more. Only black. After su<_>ic<_>ide you cant come back. <p> Love has been called everlasting. Love has been called a bond. Oh it's been called many things. But it doesnt matter when youve been wrong. We all know it hurts, but not all are broken. There is still hope for those who can find it. <p> Dont double cross me. You give me dread and fright. I do know who you are. Youre the de<_>m<_>on on my left shoulder. Not the angel on my right. But i could not agree with you more. The bullying. The anger. Feels like i'm some wh<_>ore. So i can vanish like a kite. I guess i di.e tonight. <p> A locked door. A rusty razor. A towel stained red. A broken mirror. A girl lays dea.d. A tangle of emotion. The room seems to swirl. She was mommys little princess. She was daddys little girl. <p> You. Its true im tired but what remains a secret. Its true im hurt but who is in the dark. Yes, im sick with what is still the question. You act like youre better than me. And that might be true. But why Why do you hang it over my head? Cant you just let it go. Or is it the thing that you do. Dangle it over my head like nothing is wrong with what youre doing. How come you dont just let me go. I dont change for anybody. And you arent the exception. That just makes you next in line. You never stop yelling long enough to hear me out. So why do you bother. You know it hurts to talk to you. But i try to anyway. Just to make you happy. Why did you settle for me. When theres plenty of others. Its you. Im tired of you. Im hurt by you and im sick of you. <p> Reaches for her razor. Its edge smooth and keen. Her screams will be unheard. But her scars will be seen. <p> How do you know im hurting if you cannot see my pain. To wear it on my body tells what words cannot explain. <p> Life was pain. Pain is regret. The things i want most, i cannot get. The memories dont seem to fade. I pierce your heart right from the grave. Time. It all passes too late. All i want is to be safe. I tried to be a brave soldier. Rescue me from life. For that is what makes me want to die tonight. <p> ill die alone and out of sight. Ill die along. Ill die tonight. <p> All the hate. And all the pain. All the loss. But wheres the gain? All the lies. And all the fright. But dont worry darling. It ends tonight.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2013

    Spottedpaw to the kitten

    She races over o it trying to determine wht was wrong.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2013

    Firesky Starring Memes

    HAS CRUSH ON SHE-CAT<br>
    <p>SHE REPLIES "YOU CANT'T HAVE MATE, BUT I LOVE YOU LIKE A BROTHER"<br>
    <p>I AM KING OF THE FRIENDZONE

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2013

    Twilightsparkle

    Can i join.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2013

    A shadowy figure...

    Pads in. It is hard to tell whether it is a cat, wolf, dog, or badger.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2013

    Coldkit

    Sits in a corner and glares around.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2013

    Help!

    Can someone please go to 'fort monmouth' and tell e e yone
    Hush is locked out.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2013

    Dapplestream

    Wished she had kits of her own

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2013

    .

    .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2013

    Gingerfur

    Is that all you need?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2013

    Sunrise

    Alright. Goodbye. *pads out to the east*

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2013

    Goldflame

    A golden shecat padded in. Someone ased for a medcat?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2