Customer Reviews for

Beyond the Chocolate War

Average Rating 4.5
( 10 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2012

    Robert Cormier managed to not only make a successful sequel, but

    Robert Cormier managed to not only make a successful sequel, but one that ended up, in my opinion, as an even better literary work than its predecessor. I love the nontraditional stance Cormier takes in this book, blurring the lines between protagonist and antagonist so much so that you're basically left rooting for whoever who please. It is a very psychological thriller underneath the Catholic school by premise, and it's a really great read for anyone interested.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2012

    complicated and intresting..

    I'm not yet finished with the book but its really good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2010

    whoa.............

    This book is deep and isn't for everyone. Teens should definitely read it but should be mature enough to handle it cuz its alot ( 5x more than what was in the 1st book) when i read the 1st book in school i was drawn to Roberts honesty and psychological aspects of everyday life and social order which led me into reading Beyond the chocolate war. his characters are memorable and let you see into the minds of many different types of people. Everyone from suicidal straight A students to animal-like bullies. a must read for teens!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2008

    A reviewer

    This was a good book i recoommande it to sixth through eight grade students it always kept me one the edge of my seat

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2003

    Even Better Than The First

    I was extremely excited to read this after reading The Chocolate War and finding it such an excellent book. This one I think I liked better. It has all the strong points of The Chocolate War, but a little something more. I think Robert Cormier has really got something here. Make sure you read the Chocolate War before reading this, it will only make it better. Beyond The Chocolate War is a MUST READ!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2003

    Beyond The Chocolate War

    Robert Cormier Beyond The Chocolate War Drama / Young Adult Fiction With the school year coming to an end and with the chocolate sale now behind them, there is nothing left for Archie Costello to do, commander of the dangerous school gang named the Vigils, Obie, though, has a plan to end Archie¿s leadership forever in the sequel to The Chocolate War. Robert Cormier did an excellent job pulling people into the story. It was as if you were there in Monument. All of his descriptions of characters were so clear you could see them standing next to you. You can picture yourself inside of one of the Vigils¿ meetings inside the boiler room with all the bodies sweating. You can picture yourself as Ray Bannister witnessing spring in Monument for the first time. Cormier wrote ¿Ray Bannister became aware of the beauty of an inland spring. Weeping willow trees he had never noticed before wore halos of soft yellow and the buds came to life.¿ Robert Cormier did an overall excellent job writing and creating this book. As I was reading I was reminded of a book I once read. The Outsiders also dealt with gangs and fighting. Although there wasn¿t a gang rivalry in Beyond the Chocolate War, there were still many of the same important themes such as friendship, relationships, and also guilt. To best interpret the story I used my visualizing skills. I visualized Trinity High and all of its students wearing shirts, ties, and laced or buckled shoes. Archie Costello, Obie, Carter, and other members or the dangerous Vigils were also vivid in my mind. To keep reading you have to sometimes read over some parts carefully so as to not miss any details or parts in the book. Another strategy I used was asking myself questions such as; why is Ray Bannister building a guillotine, and why is Obie so interested in it?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2002

    A Recommended book

    Beyond the Chocolate War is one of the best novels I have read. I recommended this book to some of my fellow classmates, telling them how wonderful of a book it is. I think everyone can relate to the leader of the Vigils, Archie. You should read this exciting novel that was written by Robert Cormier. Beyond the Chocolate War, Pages, 278.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2001

    From Ervin K. A 17 years old boy who just just finished the second book about the chocolates.

    I think this book is great. The first one was really good but then when u read the second one u just feel it inside of you, that beyond the chocolate war is even better. I have recomanded this book to 3 of my friends and they thanked me when thay were done, So i recomend to you too READ IT. YOU WILL LOVED. but read chocolate war 1 st and then BEYOND THE CHOCOLATE WAR. peace and have a nice day.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2001

    Great Book

    Hey, I read this book for my freshman English class, and I have to say that it is one of the best books I have ever read. It is the sequal to The Chocolate War by Robert Cormier. We get to learn what became of Archie, Obie, Jerry, and Br. Leon. A must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1