Customer Reviews for

Beyond the Grave (The 39 Clues Series #4)

Average Rating 4.5
( 252 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(180)

4 Star

(38)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

21 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

WONDERFUL!

This book was simply wonderful! I have read and enjoyed the previous books in this series, and I was curious to see how a woman author would do, seeing as how all the other books in the series are written by men. Jude Watson did a wonderful job with this book and it w...
This book was simply wonderful! I have read and enjoyed the previous books in this series, and I was curious to see how a woman author would do, seeing as how all the other books in the series are written by men. Jude Watson did a wonderful job with this book and it was a good read!

posted by read4ever on June 3, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Beyond the grave is the fourth book of the series the 39 clues.

Beyond the grave is the fourth book of the series the 39 clues. As said in the book the past is very much alive its true because if you pay attention to not only the story but the entire book itself before you start reading and after you read it, theirs clues in every ...
Beyond the grave is the fourth book of the series the 39 clues. As said in the book the past is very much alive its true because if you pay attention to not only the story but the entire book itself before you start reading and after you read it, theirs clues in every single book and different ways you find them. The code or clue that was in this book was in hieroglyphics. In order to figure the hieroglyphics you would have to look in front of the cover where you would find letter that correspond to the hieroglyphics. Once you solve if I am correct it should say "Alistair was there the night they died". This can refer to Amy's and Dan's parents because their the only one that have been introduce as dead besides Grace their grandmother. But the reason it cant be her is because the clue says "they" and not "she".

Moving on to the summary of the book, Dan and Amy along with their au-pair (babysitter) Nellie l\ find themselves in the middle of the Khan el-Khalili market in Cairo. Which is located in Egypt. After being double cross by their twisted cousins Ian and Natalie Kabra, they were determined to get back in the game with one reminding strategy which was to trust no one. As the book continues we see a new Amy that past books haven't shown. She became more spoken minded instead of being the "typical shy girl" she rose to the oh occasion when she had to defend her brother or when she had something on her mind weather it was nice or mean. We also learn that Grace had travel around the world many times and she knew that Amy and Dan would chose the hunt for the 39 clues instead for the one million dollars. As the book continues they make the same mistake of trusting one of Grace's old friend and she turned out to be like the rest of the Cahills, greedy.Now for the last thing i like about this book is that if you really payed attention you would see that theirs mini lessons. For example on page 74 it states "we had to look first, then read what someone else had said about it." Which is saying know something first then judge, and not judging by what other people say.

Overall i would give this book a three out of five stars. I think "Beyond the Grave" is a great book but two things I didn't like is that it moved at a fast paste. I think that the author could of done a better job slowing it down and describing the setting, before jumping to another setting. Another thing i didn't like was that Amy and Dan kept trusting people when they have already been stab in the back way to many times, and the result would be the same. It was to predictable.

posted by 5248430 on September 4, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 255 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 13
  • Posted June 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    WONDERFUL!

    This book was simply wonderful! I have read and enjoyed the previous books in this series, and I was curious to see how a woman author would do, seeing as how all the other books in the series are written by men. Jude Watson did a wonderful job with this book and it was a good read!

    21 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2010

    Great series to promote interest in reading to tweens/teens!

    My son, who has not been very interested in reading, is now reading for pleasure! He really got into these books and has read every one in the series. We rush to B & N everytime there is a new release in the series. These books can also be used for A/R testing purposes. Its nice to find a series of books that kids like that can also be educational and creative! I recommend these to parents looking to spark an interest in reading!

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Very good book

    I've been a 39 Clues fan since the first came out so if you have read them you would agree that they are very good books. (as of my description)I like this one the best because of the silly humor and the story that takes place in Cairo. Most of all I liked (with the other 3) the history mixed with fiction. I like the plot with 2 kids, a cat and their au pair on a quest for the 39 clues which leads to a great power. In this one they're in Egypt looking in tombs for their 4th clue and having to compete with Irina Spasky, one of their several devious cousins. I Can't wait for the 5th. I highly recommend this book to everybody.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Another Great Book In The Series.

    Funny, Adventurous, and leaves you begging for more, The 4 book in the bestselling series The 39 Clues Beyond The Grave is a must buy book! Amy and Dan Cahill go through mind blowing adventures with their Au Pair Nellie. Alliances are made and broken as the two struggle through the streets of Egypt to find the next clue. I strongly recommend this book.

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2012

    Sweet book!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I absalutely love this book! it rocks!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! This is one of my favorite books.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2012

    AWESOME SERIES!!!!!

    The 39 clues series is totally awesome!!!! I LOVE it! Its mysterious,exiting, and a little bit emotional, wrapped upin one! Talk about being on the edge of your seat!!!!!!! This series wraps you up in its descriptive, exciting words. It makes you never want to stop reading, even when you really have to go to the bathroom! So far, this book has been my favorite. Its interesting. The whole 39 clues series is very addictive! I LOOOOOOOOOOOVE IT!!!!
    -A very special thanks to my mom who saw these books in the nook shop and recommended them. Since then, I cant stop reading!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!


    READ THIS SERIES!!!!!!!!!!! ITS SOOOOOOOOO AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2011

    Great book and series!

    My friend told me that I should read the series, because she thought I would like it from what she had read. Now I'm farther in the series than she is!

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    The 39 Clues: boook 4 Beyond the Grave

    This book was a very exciting and thrilling book. Although it is the fourth book in this series and i wouldn't say it was the best one. It was sometimes hard to follow what the writer was trying to say. Dan and Amy Cahill are the main characters in this book and their story starts in Egypt to find the fourth clue of the 39 clues, that the cahills left behind for the family to find. Their family though was the most powerful family on the face of the earth. They had members from George Washington to Benjamin Franklin even Napoleon Bonaparte. So niw they have to collect all these elements to create a philospers stone which is stated to be the most powerful thing ever. So Dan and Amy are looking for clues left from Katherine Cahill in Egypt trying to find out what she left behind. This book was a very good book so i recommend you check it out.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    39 Clues Rocks

    I listen to this series on AudioBook. The narrator is wonderful and has a great command of different voices. I love learning about other places and history. I have looked up all kinds of things on the internet that are referenced in the books. It is fun to learn cool stuff without studying.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    i really love the 39 clues series

    i really liked reading the 39 clues series because it was fun to try to guess what the clue meant and where it would take amy and dan cahill. it suspensful and mysterious and all- around enjoyable. it wasn't twilight-good but it wasnt bad either. i cant wait to read the rest of the series. i also recommend dead is the new black, death by biikni, killer cruise, sleepless, and model spy

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Series

    Love, love, love these books! They are great for kids because they incorporate history of different regions and important people from history in each book. Kind of like an "Amazing Race" with kids as main characters.
    Only down side is having to wait for each one to come out!

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2013

    ?

    I love these books, and how they are written by different authors. This is one of the best series i have ever read. If you are hesitant about getting this book, I would.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    AWESOME BOOK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I love this book i cant wait to read the next one!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2013

    Amy and Dan¿s cousins betrayed them and their uncle abandon them

    Amy and Dan’s cousins betrayed them and their uncle abandon them. They rush off to Egypt in search for “The 39 clues” that lead them to a source .Betrayed by their cousins , abandon by their uncle, and with only the slimmest hint to guide them , fourteen-year-old Amy and her younger brother Dan, rush off to Egypt.I don’t like this book, because its hard to fallow along.Even though I’m not fond of reading, this was not that bad to read.If you like mysteries this book may be for you.


    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2013

    Book

    Great book. Read it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2012

    Beyond the grave is the fourth book of the series the 39 clues.

    Beyond the grave is the fourth book of the series the 39 clues. As said in the book the past is very much alive its true because if you pay attention to not only the story but the entire book itself before you start reading and after you read it, theirs clues in every single book and different ways you find them. The code or clue that was in this book was in hieroglyphics. In order to figure the hieroglyphics you would have to look in front of the cover where you would find letter that correspond to the hieroglyphics. Once you solve if I am correct it should say "Alistair was there the night they died". This can refer to Amy's and Dan's parents because their the only one that have been introduce as dead besides Grace their grandmother. But the reason it cant be her is because the clue says "they" and not "she".

    Moving on to the summary of the book, Dan and Amy along with their au-pair (babysitter) Nellie l\ find themselves in the middle of the Khan el-Khalili market in Cairo. Which is located in Egypt. After being double cross by their twisted cousins Ian and Natalie Kabra, they were determined to get back in the game with one reminding strategy which was to trust no one. As the book continues we see a new Amy that past books haven't shown. She became more spoken minded instead of being the "typical shy girl" she rose to the oh occasion when she had to defend her brother or when she had something on her mind weather it was nice or mean. We also learn that Grace had travel around the world many times and she knew that Amy and Dan would chose the hunt for the 39 clues instead for the one million dollars. As the book continues they make the same mistake of trusting one of Grace's old friend and she turned out to be like the rest of the Cahills, greedy.Now for the last thing i like about this book is that if you really payed attention you would see that theirs mini lessons. For example on page 74 it states "we had to look first, then read what someone else had said about it." Which is saying know something first then judge, and not judging by what other people say.

    Overall i would give this book a three out of five stars. I think "Beyond the Grave" is a great book but two things I didn't like is that it moved at a fast paste. I think that the author could of done a better job slowing it down and describing the setting, before jumping to another setting. Another thing i didn't like was that Amy and Dan kept trusting people when they have already been stab in the back way to many times, and the result would be the same. It was to predictable.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2012

    PJ and the kane chronicles

    I READ BOTH THE SERIES AND ABSULUTLY LOOOOOOOOOOOVED THEM :D I TOOOOOOOTALY RECOMEND THEM!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2012

    Anonymous

    This is a great book and it is a good series of books. It can be a little confusing at times but they are still my favorite books

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    My grandson loved it..that sums it up!

    This is the way grandpa and I reward our grandson for varies accomplishments. The great part is, a series of books keeps him engaged equaling a better reader.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    its a great book

    It is a great story with a good plot it has adventure and it pulls you in with its action and excitment

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 255 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 13