Customer Reviews for

Beyond the Grave (The 39 Clues Series #4)

Average Rating 4.5
( 256 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(184)

4 Star

(38)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

21 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

WONDERFUL!

This book was simply wonderful! I have read and enjoyed the previous books in this series, and I was curious to see how a woman author would do, seeing as how all the other books in the series are written by men. Jude Watson did a wonderful job with this book and it w...
This book was simply wonderful! I have read and enjoyed the previous books in this series, and I was curious to see how a woman author would do, seeing as how all the other books in the series are written by men. Jude Watson did a wonderful job with this book and it was a good read!

posted by read4ever on June 3, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Beyond the grave is the fourth book of the series the 39 clues.

Beyond the grave is the fourth book of the series the 39 clues. As said in the book the past is very much alive its true because if you pay attention to not only the story but the entire book itself before you start reading and after you read it, theirs clues in every ...
Beyond the grave is the fourth book of the series the 39 clues. As said in the book the past is very much alive its true because if you pay attention to not only the story but the entire book itself before you start reading and after you read it, theirs clues in every single book and different ways you find them. The code or clue that was in this book was in hieroglyphics. In order to figure the hieroglyphics you would have to look in front of the cover where you would find letter that correspond to the hieroglyphics. Once you solve if I am correct it should say "Alistair was there the night they died". This can refer to Amy's and Dan's parents because their the only one that have been introduce as dead besides Grace their grandmother. But the reason it cant be her is because the clue says "they" and not "she".

Moving on to the summary of the book, Dan and Amy along with their au-pair (babysitter) Nellie l\ find themselves in the middle of the Khan el-Khalili market in Cairo. Which is located in Egypt. After being double cross by their twisted cousins Ian and Natalie Kabra, they were determined to get back in the game with one reminding strategy which was to trust no one. As the book continues we see a new Amy that past books haven't shown. She became more spoken minded instead of being the "typical shy girl" she rose to the oh occasion when she had to defend her brother or when she had something on her mind weather it was nice or mean. We also learn that Grace had travel around the world many times and she knew that Amy and Dan would chose the hunt for the 39 clues instead for the one million dollars. As the book continues they make the same mistake of trusting one of Grace's old friend and she turned out to be like the rest of the Cahills, greedy.Now for the last thing i like about this book is that if you really payed attention you would see that theirs mini lessons. For example on page 74 it states "we had to look first, then read what someone else had said about it." Which is saying know something first then judge, and not judging by what other people say.

Overall i would give this book a three out of five stars. I think "Beyond the Grave" is a great book but two things I didn't like is that it moved at a fast paste. I think that the author could of done a better job slowing it down and describing the setting, before jumping to another setting. Another thing i didn't like was that Amy and Dan kept trusting people when they have already been stab in the back way to many times, and the result would be the same. It was to predictable.

posted by 5248430 on September 4, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 184 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 3 of 10
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2014

    The sword of posiden part 9

    alexs pov<br><br><br>i stared in shock at the screen infront of me. The gaurds layed my sister out on a table. She was all normal colored but she was only wearing a binki and underwear. The gaurds had put iron clamps on her ankles and wrists securing her to the table. A woman with brown hair tied up into a bun walked in with a suitcase. She layed on the table beside her and pulled out jars of paint and a brush. She studied my sister for a minute then opend a jar of orange paint and made a stripe down the side on her face then the same to the opisit side. She stuided her some more the started painting her face more. When she stood up so i could get a good look at my sister i saw that she wa being painted like a tiger. The woman went back to work. She finshed 30 minutes later but apperently the woman didnt like it and signeld for the gaurds. They realesed Megan and dragged her away, yet they returned 5 minutes later with all the paint washed off. The gaurds clamped her to the table again and the woman went back to work. This time the woman painted her like a roman slave girl. She had a painted gold necklace, painted gold earings, and painted gokden bracelts. Then she unclamped her and mad her stand up. She put an roman slave dress on her. Then the woman backed up, smiled and took a rope out of her bag and tied Megans hands together and used the long end of the rope to pull megan out of the room. Then the screen went blank and i looked up at Gaea. Then suddenly the oak doors opend and in walked to woman pulling Megan apperd kneeled before Gaea and said."I present to you, your new roman slave girl." The woman quickly stood and walked quickly out of the room.Gaea smiled at Megan."Come here slave."She said. Megan walked forward."Sit right here,"she said pointing to spot on the floor directly infront of her. Gaea smiled pulling the rope off Megans wrists and sliping it over her head onto her neck. She took the rope and tied it around her own wrist. She bent down and placed a flower in Megans hair. Then Gaea looked up at me. "You are being sent to the mine Alex"Then she looked at Katie."You will be part of my historical slave colection"Then suddenly two gaurds pulled katie away. I looked at Gaea."Im not your slave"I said. I pulled some GolfLand tokens from my pocket i had found in the black van."these coins make it posible to get past the gaurden of the grand tresure of" i paused thinking of a random name. "Sponge Bob Square Pants, and there yours in exchange for your handmaidens." Gaea thought over the deal for a moment and the said. "YES! i will give you my all my slaves for those coins." I tossed her the coins and ran the the slaves untieing them. "Outside are American helicoters, get inside of them and youll be safe." I said, Unting the first and second slaves. I untied the third and my sister and they ran. On the way out i hugged my sister. "Be safe." She told me. "Ill try" i responded, running of to find kaitie. As i ran down the huge cordor i kicked open doors and yelled "your all free! Get into the American halicopters on the lawn infront of the house!" I yelled it as i ran and found the gaurds with katie. "Ive bought her"i told them grabing her hand and running. I heard gunshots and saw American Marines fighting the gaurds. I ran passed them onto the lawn and jumped into a helicopter with megan. There were about 50 slaves including the ones from the mine. I hugged megan Im completly out of letters so next part at book six. —&#9787

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2013

    Hope lost is wrong!!!!!!!!!!!!

    HOPE LOST IS WRONG!!!!!!!! I LOVE THIS BOOK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2013

    ----]================>

    Awesome cliffhangar

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2013

    Looking Forward to More

    Absolutely Amazing. I love this story so much, it's not just good for teenagers like me, but for kids and adults too. Absolutely Amazing Bravo for the Authot me and a lot of other readers I'm sure are looking forward to more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2013

    exciting for both adults and children

    explore other countries as Amy and Dan travel around

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2013

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2013

    How many pages is this book?

    I love the series but am tired of paying ten dollars just for 100 pages of it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2013

    Cool

    I love this serise I also love Harry Potter and Warriors (cats) I am a janus and my fav carictures are Ian Natlie Amy Dan Ned Ted Sinead Nellie Regan and Jonah

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2013

    Awsome!

    This book is AWSOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2013

    Sophie

    Here.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    Cool

    Nice

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2013

    Cool

    My brother loves these books he is 11 i am 9 he also like Persy Jackson and heros of olypus sorry for the miss spelling if you sound it out then you could get it maby. My name is jasmine by the way. Me? I like matilda, and Harry Potter. I love merlin the movie it is on netflix it's pic on the front is a castle. It is a sooooooooooooo goooooood, my mom and dad L........O........V........E it! Merlin club who will join?!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2013

    PERFECT BY JACOB RAUSCH

    TRICKED U PEOPLE HATED BOOK1 OR MORE LIKE BOINK1 OR OOOPPPSSS I THINK THIS WAS A MISTAKE1 SO BOOOOOO AAALLLLLLLL OOOOOFFFFFFF TTTTTHHHHHHEEEESSSSSEEEEE STUPID BOINKS NOT TYPOS BBBBBBLLLLLAAAAHHHHHHHH HHHHHHHHHAAAAAA HHHHHHHAAAAAA HHHHHHAAAAAAAA HHHHHHHHHHAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA MMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMM EEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE EEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPP P,S TTTTTTTTTTTTTTHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIISSSSSSSSSS BBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKK SSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS MMMMMMMMMMMMOOOOOONNNNNNKKKKKEEEEEEYYYYYYY BBBBBBBBBAAAAAAAALLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLL SSSSSSSSSSAAAAAAAAAACCCCCCCCKKKKKKKSSSSSSSS P.P.S WARRIORS ARE AWSOMER THAN ALL OTHERS NOT INCLUDING THE INHERITANCE CYCLE SERIES, HARRY POTTER, AND INFINITY RING

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    Pretty good

    Takes long time to load but worth it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2012

    Good book An

    Awesome book!!!!!!!!!! Jude watson

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2012

    Wonderful!

    It was great read the warriors for a good book i've never finished the 39 whatever i lost my intrest.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2012

    If you are intisted please do not read Hope lost's post

    Hello,
    Pease read this boo

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2012

    Do the hostages get away from v1

    Good book

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2012

    Great no matter what anyone said

    Hello fellow readers.
    Unlike some previous posts, I believe this book is very interesting, educational, and has a great plot. For anyone who disagrees with me, I pray that you might like it if you pay more attention. Sorry if this offended anyone.
    Miss Independent

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2012

    Cloud

    "Cmon lets go find her"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 184 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 3 of 10