Customer Reviews for

Beyond the Grave (The 39 Clues Series #4)

Average Rating 4.5
( 255 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(183)

4 Star

(38)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

21 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

WONDERFUL!

This book was simply wonderful! I have read and enjoyed the previous books in this series, and I was curious to see how a woman author would do, seeing as how all the other books in the series are written by men. Jude Watson did a wonderful job with this book and it w...
This book was simply wonderful! I have read and enjoyed the previous books in this series, and I was curious to see how a woman author would do, seeing as how all the other books in the series are written by men. Jude Watson did a wonderful job with this book and it was a good read!

posted by read4ever on June 3, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Beyond the grave is the fourth book of the series the 39 clues.

Beyond the grave is the fourth book of the series the 39 clues. As said in the book the past is very much alive its true because if you pay attention to not only the story but the entire book itself before you start reading and after you read it, theirs clues in every ...
Beyond the grave is the fourth book of the series the 39 clues. As said in the book the past is very much alive its true because if you pay attention to not only the story but the entire book itself before you start reading and after you read it, theirs clues in every single book and different ways you find them. The code or clue that was in this book was in hieroglyphics. In order to figure the hieroglyphics you would have to look in front of the cover where you would find letter that correspond to the hieroglyphics. Once you solve if I am correct it should say "Alistair was there the night they died". This can refer to Amy's and Dan's parents because their the only one that have been introduce as dead besides Grace their grandmother. But the reason it cant be her is because the clue says "they" and not "she".

Moving on to the summary of the book, Dan and Amy along with their au-pair (babysitter) Nellie l\ find themselves in the middle of the Khan el-Khalili market in Cairo. Which is located in Egypt. After being double cross by their twisted cousins Ian and Natalie Kabra, they were determined to get back in the game with one reminding strategy which was to trust no one. As the book continues we see a new Amy that past books haven't shown. She became more spoken minded instead of being the "typical shy girl" she rose to the oh occasion when she had to defend her brother or when she had something on her mind weather it was nice or mean. We also learn that Grace had travel around the world many times and she knew that Amy and Dan would chose the hunt for the 39 clues instead for the one million dollars. As the book continues they make the same mistake of trusting one of Grace's old friend and she turned out to be like the rest of the Cahills, greedy.Now for the last thing i like about this book is that if you really payed attention you would see that theirs mini lessons. For example on page 74 it states "we had to look first, then read what someone else had said about it." Which is saying know something first then judge, and not judging by what other people say.

Overall i would give this book a three out of five stars. I think "Beyond the Grave" is a great book but two things I didn't like is that it moved at a fast paste. I think that the author could of done a better job slowing it down and describing the setting, before jumping to another setting. Another thing i didn't like was that Amy and Dan kept trusting people when they have already been stab in the back way to many times, and the result would be the same. It was to predictable.

posted by 5248430 on September 4, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 258 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 13
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2014

    The Legend of Samuel Knight part 15

    Well guys I'm back early! You made it pretty clear who's fighting with Sam. Also this part's special because it will be in Emily's pov. I've never written like this before so let me know how it goes. Next part at the 39 clues book five. On with the story. ---- I sat there on the bench with my arms bound together. I stared at Sam who was sitting in the corner with his arms crossed. I knew he was thinking about who to choose. I was tempted to try and walk over to him, but when Shawn tried to get up earlier.... well it wasn't pretty. Finally, the girl from before, Julia came in. "Well have you made your decision Samuel?" He looked up and even though his appearance had changed I recognized the confidence in his eyes. "Yes, I have decided," He walked over to where Reese and Odyn were sitting. "Would you two like to fight with me? I'm sure the three of us can win this!" They nodded and the guards cut the rope binding their wrists. I sat there hurt on the inside. Why hadn't Sam chosen me? Julia was about to walk out of the room, but she stopped. "Be ready for the fight of your lives." The guards gave them each a piece of ambrosia and led them to a room to choose a weapon. The guards took us upstairs to watch the match. They seated us low to the ground so we could and I quote "Watch our friends be massacred." The stadium was filled with people. Sam, Odyn, and Reese stepped out into view. Sam for some reason was carry one celestial bronze sword and one gold sword. Reese just had a dagger, but it was strapped to her belt. Odyn had her regular sword. "ROMANS!" a voice echoed. "MAY I PRESENT YOUR CHAMPIONS! JOSE NIEVES, CARY SMITH, AND HARRIET WINCH!" The Romans went crazy and started cheering. I got a good look at the three Roman demigods. The first kid Jose, he was unimpressive to say the least. He was only about five feet tall and his spear was just as tall. That spear looked deadly though and with the dried blood on the end, he knew how to use it. The next girl Cary, she looked alot like Thalia Grace. They had the same dark hair and electric blue eyes, but this girl just radiated one word: war. She was carrying a basic golden sword. The last girl Harriet, she was the least warlike of all of them. She was very thin, almost frail. She had on a turtle neck and jean vest even though it was about eighty-nine degrees. She didn't look like much, but the way she was studying my friends was odd. It was as if she was predicting them, calculating their movements. If that wasn't odd enough her sword was pure silver. No one else around here had a weapon like that. "WITHOUT FUTHER DELAY! LET THE BATTLE BEGIN!" The announcer's voice echoed. Instantly, Sam, Odyn, and Reese charged ready to strike. The Romans did the exact same. It looked like they were just going to clash swords, but.... CLIFFHANGER! Remeber to leave all feedback at the son of sobek. -S.K.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2014

    Woooo

    So much muny!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2014

    To Jillian

    I absolutly Love, Love, Love, Love,LOVE your story!!!!!!! Please keep posting. Plus where is part 1? What date was it posted on? I could never find it. Keep posting!- F.R. ( A.K.A. author of Power isnt everything(PiE) and weapons.)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2014

    To TTBPJ

    Love your story!!!!! Please go ON!!!! PLEASE!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2013

    Hope lost is wrong!!!!!!!!!!!!

    HOPE LOST IS WRONG!!!!!!!! I LOVE THIS BOOK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2013

    ----]================>

    Awesome cliffhangar

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2013

    Looking Forward to More

    Absolutely Amazing. I love this story so much, it's not just good for teenagers like me, but for kids and adults too. Absolutely Amazing Bravo for the Authot me and a lot of other readers I'm sure are looking forward to more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    Rad!!!!!!!!!!!!

    No review

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2013

    exciting for both adults and children

    explore other countries as Amy and Dan travel around

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2013

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2013

    To Below

    Approximately 140 pages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2013

    How many pages is this book?

    I love the series but am tired of paying ten dollars just for 100 pages of it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2013

    ---]===========>

    Hi

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2013

    Im a thomas ---]===========> sword

    Im on the 4th book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2013

    Cool

    I love this serise I also love Harry Potter and Warriors (cats) I am a janus and my fav carictures are Ian Natlie Amy Dan Ned Ted Sinead Nellie Regan and Jonah

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2013

    Awsome!

    This book is AWSOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2013

    Sophie

    Here.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    Cool

    Nice

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2013

    Scary

    Like

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2013

    Cool

    My brother loves these books he is 11 i am 9 he also like Persy Jackson and heros of olypus sorry for the miss spelling if you sound it out then you could get it maby. My name is jasmine by the way. Me? I like matilda, and Harry Potter. I love merlin the movie it is on netflix it's pic on the front is a castle. It is a sooooooooooooo goooooood, my mom and dad L........O........V........E it! Merlin club who will join?!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 258 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 13