BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Beyond the Highland Mist (Highlander Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 1266 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(692)

4 Star

(319)

3 Star

(152)

2 Star

(45)

1 Star

(58)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

LOVE IT!!!

I love all of KMM's books, I can hardly put them down! I loved the sweet side of the Hawk in this book where he builds a nursery. That's just sweet. Then he loses her and gets her back and then devotes himself to building it back again!

posted by Anonymous on June 3, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Fun time travel romp (from The Tealeaf Review)

As a very devoted Outlander fan, I could not pass up the opportunity to delve back into the world of the Scottish Highlands. What I was not expecting was to giggle so much. Honestly, I haven't read a romance novel in ages, so I'd forgotten just how many times "raging ma...
As a very devoted Outlander fan, I could not pass up the opportunity to delve back into the world of the Scottish Highlands. What I was not expecting was to giggle so much. Honestly, I haven't read a romance novel in ages, so I'd forgotten just how many times "raging manhoods" and "swelling bosoms" were mentioned - I had to bury my face a couple of times in a fabulous fit of immaturity.

But, really, I can't resist a good time travel novel. Nor can I resist books full to the brim of muscley warriors either. Adrienne's flat out resistance to Hawk was absolutely frustrating! Just because he's pretty doesn't mean he's a bad man, you silly woman! It only took you two-thirds of the book to figure that out.

I also felt it could have been a little shorter - some of the resistance scenes felt a little redundant, but overall, I actually really liked it. It was quick and entertaining, and was similar to first Outlander novel without all the.you know.epicness. I will definitely be getting the next in the series.

posted by LizTea on March 26, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1275 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 64
  • Posted March 26, 2011

    Fun time travel romp (from The Tealeaf Review)

    As a very devoted Outlander fan, I could not pass up the opportunity to delve back into the world of the Scottish Highlands. What I was not expecting was to giggle so much. Honestly, I haven't read a romance novel in ages, so I'd forgotten just how many times "raging manhoods" and "swelling bosoms" were mentioned - I had to bury my face a couple of times in a fabulous fit of immaturity.

    But, really, I can't resist a good time travel novel. Nor can I resist books full to the brim of muscley warriors either. Adrienne's flat out resistance to Hawk was absolutely frustrating! Just because he's pretty doesn't mean he's a bad man, you silly woman! It only took you two-thirds of the book to figure that out.

    I also felt it could have been a little shorter - some of the resistance scenes felt a little redundant, but overall, I actually really liked it. It was quick and entertaining, and was similar to first Outlander novel without all the.you know.epicness. I will definitely be getting the next in the series.

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2006

    LOVE IT!!!

    I love all of KMM's books, I can hardly put them down! I loved the sweet side of the Hawk in this book where he builds a nursery. That's just sweet. Then he loses her and gets her back and then devotes himself to building it back again!

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2003

    A Nice Try

    The author tried to make this a good time travel novel but the heroine, Adrienne, was a stereotypical brat. She was so against things that she had little experience with that I got very frustrated with her. Hawk was a great guy, however. His perfection was envious and why he stuck to Adrienne I dont understand. It seemed to me that the author was trying to make it a fantasy novel and she failed. This book started with promise, with the faeries, but it ended dreadfully. I haven't read any of her other works, and after this I don't think I want to, but this book was truly a dissappointment.

    7 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    The King of the Fae, as well as "the Fool" Adam, decid

    The King of the Fae, as well as "the Fool" Adam, decided upon revenge. Adam traveled through time until 1997. It was there he found a perfect woman who hated beautiful men, for very good reason.
    Adrienne de Simone was whisked through time to the sixteenth century and forced to wed a man known as Hawk. She wanted nothing to do with such a good looking man. Beautiful men mean trouble and pain. Hawk could not believe she would have nothing to do with him. Worse yet, a smithy suddenly appeared in town, named Adam Black and was determined to woo her away from him! Adrienne, wanting nothing to do with either of them, was made into a pawn of which only Aoibheal, who ruled over all, could save. I loved this book. The kind of novel romance readers thrive on. A book to curl up with and takes you away from the everyday. The characters were well developed, the struggle between the hero and heroine compelling and the added touch of fantasy makes Beyond the Highland Mist a story you can dream on. I found BTHM witty, funny and touching. Hawk is an example of the true alpha-male, so handsome, strong and masculine in every way, but with a past that makes him vulnerable. Adrienne is not only beautiful but strong and independent. Badly hurt in the present she finds it hard to trust in the past. The catalyst for conflict is an amazing character called Adam Black, beautiful but sinister. This book has it all. Fantasy, fun and drama. Karen Moning has created with words a mind painting of romance of old.    

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 17, 2008

    A must read.

    How could you not love a story that two hotties are fighting over one wee lass......from the very beginning of the book, i found myself smiling and i think even giggled over their antics, kinda embarrassing. Ran out the next morning to order the rest of the series. Hasn't every woman wondered about the "whats under the kilt thing"?

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2006

    Beautimous and a tear jerker...

    One word, beautiful. Oh my goodness, but it brung tears to my eyes. It was a good story of a man winning the heart of an unwanting maiden, then fighting to get her back. Sidheach, also known as Hawk, was a one-of-a-kind warrior. I think it had a wonderful plot line, everything made sense, and to top it all off, it was very funny. Poor Adrienne was surrounded by gorgeous men, and at a complete loss of what to do. Of course we met Grimm and Adam in this, but that's beside the point. Anywho, this is a very good book, and I'm happy to say that it is my very first time-travel story. And i'm proud to say that all of Karen's books are good, even though they are based on time travel. I highly recommend this book.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Beyond the Highland Mist

    I bought this book because it was cheap and someone said I would enjoy it. I was skeptical, as I dont usually read the romance genre, though I do love paranormal stories. I was so pleased I bought this book. I read it three times just to make sure I didnt miss a single crumpet.

    The characters are wonderful and well developed. Humour abounds but not overly so. The plot is interesting and fun, wit flourishes. A roller coaster ride for sure, laughter and sadness mixed well together.
    Some parts I will admit were a little predictable, but the characters more than made up for some of the predictablity.

    I liked this book so much I bought the rest of the series.

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2005

    Yep, I loved it!

    Wow, what an enchanting story! Adrienne de Simone is an orphan trying to rebuild her life after her cruel fiancee tried to kill her. She suddenly finds herself in the lap of a cruel Scottish laird the 14th century and being forced to marry 'the Hawk', while maintaining she is Crazy Janet. Adrienne trusts nobody, hates beautiful men, and is trying to find her ticket back while dealing with death threats from a former jealous lover of Hawk's. Oh, and Adam Black (yee haw!). Hawk is an all around great guy, who wants nothing more to shed the image of the King's Whore, get married, and have babies while living in his beautiful castle Dalkieth Upon the Sea. Too bad his best friend, Grimm, wished upon a star that Hawk would fall in love with a woman with the 'perfect no on her lips'. And too bad Adam Black has his eye on Adrienne! Travel back in time and enjoy the story of two people learning to trust, love, and overcome deception. I LOVED IT!!!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2005

    You can't please EVERYBODY but. . .

    You sure as heck pleased me. Beyond the Highland mist is excellent. It'ts the first story I read in her series. I make extra sure I always start with the first, and I was looking for something new to read. This author definantly gave it to me. I'm not a big fan of historical romance ( anymore) but this author is just one I couldn't say no to. I believe in three hooks to catch a reader. First you see the title, then the cover, and then the synopsis.( if the books is sideways.) Karen had me with the cover. Ouch lads I just can't resist a big brawny arm! Especially with a gaelic arm brac on it. Also Adam is featured in Immortal Highlander. He's great by the way, sometimes you have to be really bad to be good.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2004

    Highland Series┬┐Off To A Good Start

    Although I did not begin reading her Highland series in order, this is a good start to her extraordinary, imaginative Highlander series. It introduces the sinfully sexy, wickedly arrogant Adam Black ¿ ¿The Immortal Highlander¿. Heartbroken over her breakup with her fiancé Eberhart, Adrienne de Simone has sworn off ever becoming emotionally involved with handsome men. Mischievously, the dark jester of Queen Aoibheal¿s courts, Adam Black, takes Adrienne¿s vow seriously and transports her back in time to the 16th century mediaeval Scotland. Here she meets and finds herself betrothed to ¿Hawk¿, a handsome Earl forced to become a male whore for the then ruling King. Because of his morals and personal preferences in women, Hawk does not bed just any woman available and is selective with his lovers. Therefore, women that he would normally rebuff must petition the King to have him order Hawk to lay with them. Out of spite and vengeance towards Hawk¿s deceased father, the King forces him to submit to this humiliating occupation. Aoibheal, Queen of the `Tuatha De Danaan¿, over hears her husband and jester intimately comparing her to a human female, and they found her lacking. Vengefully, she decides to make up a story telling them that her new lover, Hawk, was a superior lover in comparison to any she¿s ever had. Provoked by his jealousy over the Queen, maliciously Adam (the Fairy Fool / jester) schemes to design repeated rendez-vous which appear to ruin Adrienne and compromise her relationship with Hawk ¿ humiliate Hawk. Even with Adrienne¿s stubbornness and occasional vicious tongue / comments towards Hawk, he still is not persuaded to stop pursuing her hand in marriage. Hawk is a man determined to have and love her despite the upsetting situations and his misgivings about her sanity (i.e. confessions of time travel, being from the future). Believing her unfaith he kidnaps her and begins a peculiar seduction, resembling his training of his falcons (i.e. tying her up and covering her head). The seductive imagery is that she¿s with her `mysterious¿ lover who¿s sole aim is to slowly coax her into submitting to his lascivious will¿and he succeeds. All and all, this is a good and mockingly humorous read at times.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2002

    Romance does not get better than this!

    A must have for romance readers!!! The last time I had this much fun reading a book, I don't remember. If you love time travel with a bit of fantasy involved, then you will LOVE this story. I do not write reviews very often, but felt compeled to because of the quality of this book. All of her books are so well done with such strong characters, strong and complete story lines, that gives you a fast paced story, that really does knock your socks off. After reading this story, I found the other three books she wrote ( all in the same fantasy time travel style)and read them in one week. I have learned with her next book coming out towards the end of the year, to read it slow and to savor it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2013

    A True Love Story at last

    Ive read so many love storys by writers that had no true idea what love really was until now.This is the best love story ever written hopefully she has many many more to come. Id give it more stars if I could.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2013

    Great Book

    I usually am not into love stories but this was well written the way you are thrown back into time. The characters are very colorful. This is a fast read but very worth the time!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Haven't read a romance novel this good in a long time. Love this author.

    I love fantasy as well a romance and this book is the perfect combination of both of these genres. It only took me four hours to read this novel, it was that good. I loved the fever series but was not sure I would like this one. This author has risen to the short list of favorite authors that I have.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great book

    This is a great book to read and really enjoy. I like it because you can read it alone or read it with the other books that are part of the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    If you like Greek Mythology and fairy-tales like me, you'll love this novel...

    Although it wasn't what I was expecting, this book was fun to read and hard to put down. It read very much like a combination of fairy-tale and Greek mythology. I loved the Fever Series, by Moning, which was wonderfully written. I began reading the Highlander Series to discover more about characters referred to from the Fever series. The book covers on the Highlander books make the books appear like hard-core romance novels, which was a turn-off initially, but I was not disappointed. Moning writes so well and is so comfortable with what she's writing that it lures the reader into the novel and makes you comfortable too. I loved the characters and would definitely recommend to others.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2009

    in one word SWEET..

    I have to start off by saying this is my first time travel book. I've been reading about vampires and werewolves for so long now I didn't know if I could actually enjoy one that didn't have them included. I decided I needed to give it a shot and I got the first 2 books in the series. I just finished Beyond the Highland Mist and I loved it. It's not the best book I've ever read, but I really enjoyed the characters and I hated to see the last page come so fast. I guess I'm a romantic at heart and this was a true fairytale. I can't wait to start on the next one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    I really liked this book...

    I had read so many good reviews about this series that I had to try it and all the reviews were right...This series is great!!! I have bought the rest of the series and am starting on the 3rd book now. I loved the action, characters, and romance...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Holy Cow!

    I absolutely LOVED this book! If I was stranded on an island, and could only bring five things, this would be one of them! The characters and their interactions with each other were superb, and it made me wish that going back in time could truly be done. The supporting characters and the climax were also amazing. Because of this book, I will continue to read every novel of its kind by KMM. Hot job!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Perfection

    I was introduced to Karen Marie Moning books February of this year (2009) and I have read and re-read ALL of her books. She pulls you into her worlds in a way I have never experienced before, not in books and not even in movies.
    Beyond the Highland Mist is an amazing story that has you loving it ALL the hate, the suspense, the intimacy, the love, the .... and in the end leaves you feeling completely satisfied.
    I would recommend you read all books written by Karen Marie Moning

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1275 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 64