Customer Reviews for

Beyond the Highland Mist (Highlander Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 1273 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(694)

4 Star

(321)

3 Star

(154)

2 Star

(45)

1 Star

(59)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

LOVE IT!!!

I love all of KMM's books, I can hardly put them down! I loved the sweet side of the Hawk in this book where he builds a nursery. That's just sweet. Then he loses her and gets her back and then devotes himself to building it back again!

posted by Anonymous on June 3, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Fun time travel romp (from The Tealeaf Review)

As a very devoted Outlander fan, I could not pass up the opportunity to delve back into the world of the Scottish Highlands. What I was not expecting was to giggle so much. Honestly, I haven't read a romance novel in ages, so I'd forgotten just how many times "raging ma...
As a very devoted Outlander fan, I could not pass up the opportunity to delve back into the world of the Scottish Highlands. What I was not expecting was to giggle so much. Honestly, I haven't read a romance novel in ages, so I'd forgotten just how many times "raging manhoods" and "swelling bosoms" were mentioned - I had to bury my face a couple of times in a fabulous fit of immaturity.

But, really, I can't resist a good time travel novel. Nor can I resist books full to the brim of muscley warriors either. Adrienne's flat out resistance to Hawk was absolutely frustrating! Just because he's pretty doesn't mean he's a bad man, you silly woman! It only took you two-thirds of the book to figure that out.

I also felt it could have been a little shorter - some of the resistance scenes felt a little redundant, but overall, I actually really liked it. It was quick and entertaining, and was similar to first Outlander novel without all the.you know.epicness. I will definitely be getting the next in the series.

posted by LizTea on March 26, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 59 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2015

    Soulkit

    Nevermind

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2013

    Perfectly Awful. I was told that I would enjoy this by someone w

    Perfectly Awful. I was told that I would enjoy this by someone who hated Gabaldon's Outlander.This was supposed to be sooo much better. I beg to differ. Perfect man meets perfect woman they have perfect baby and live happily ever after--Yuck! There is no point to reading it. The characters are not at all likeable--they're too perfect!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2013

    But

    But its not leafbare anymore so theres no more snow

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2012

    Wow...bad, really bad.

    I really liked the Fever series written by this author, so I thought I'd give her Highlander series a try. What a big letdown this book was. It really is poorly written. There is a glaring lack of scene and character development. This "perfect beautiful" woman from the 20th century is flung back into the 16th century to meet this "perfect beautiful" man and instantly they are in love and she seems perfectly fine with her situation. Come on, you are all of a sudden in 16th century Scotland and you aren't freaking out with how you ended up there from the future? Everyone from the 16th century isn't wondering where you came from? What? Ugh, I wanted to like this book and just hated it. If you are looking for a great time travel/historical romance try Diana Gabaldon's Outlander series or Deborah Harkness Discovery of Witches/Shadow of Night. Skip this one entirely.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2012

    After experiencing Moning's Fever series and absolutely loved th

    After experiencing Moning's Fever series and absolutely loved them, I wanted to read her Highlander series. After reading the first one which was written in 1999, I was disappointed. It seemed to me that it was Moning's beginner as a writer. I see her maturity and growth as a writer has so improved with the Fever series, written between 2007-present. If you were disappointed with the Highlander series, read the Fever series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2012

    Unhappy

    I love her Fever Series so much, I never thought in a million years her other books could be bad. Doesnt even come close to Mac and Barrons. :0(

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Quite a Disappointment compared to the Fever Series Review brou

    Quite a Disappointment compared to the Fever Series

    Review brought to you by OBS staff member Heidi

    The Hawk is known all around for being a great warrior and a legendary lover. He’s never met a woman who didn’t want to bed him. When the Fairy King Finnbheara finds out that the Hawk even drew the Fairy Queen’s attentions he decides to plan his own kind of revenge for the warrior.

    King Finnbheara has the court fool go into the future and find a woman that will reject Hawk, but is so beautiful that Hawk will fall in love with her. The fool finds the lovely Adrienne who has been hurt by a beautiful man and therefore has sworn off of them. They deliver her to the Comyn clan where the daughter that was betrothed to the Hawk has been killed by her father and they marry Adrienne off to Hawk instead claiming she is the deceased Janet.

    Adrienne is immediately attracted to Hawk when she meets him, but is difficult towards him because of how she was hurt by her ex. Hawk is determined to seduce her and make her his wife in every way while Adrienne uses the black smith, Adam Black, to make Hawk jealous.

    Eventually, Adrienne gives in to her feelings for Hawk, but is taken away from him by Adam with a threat to Hawk and his family if Adrienne doesn’t comply. Now it is up to Hawk to get over his grief and find a way to get his wife back once and for all.

    I was introduced to Karen Marie Moning’s writing when I stumbled upon the Fever series, which I loved! So when I heard that Fever was a spin-off of the Highlander series I knew I had to give it a shot. I was happy to see it started out with the same fairy queen that was in Fever, but my excitement was quickly trampled with this predictable lackluster story.

    Let’s start off with the characters. Hawk was too perfect to be believable. He was a great warrior, a great lover, could build this great castle and do great woodwork and the best falconer around. He was also a great big jerk when it came to Adrienne trying to force her to love him even resorting to tactics he uses to train his falcons. Then, there was Adrienne. She was your typical scorned woman who has sworn off of all beautiful men. She’s in love with him, but won’t let him know it and instead pretends to be in love with another man. I found her to be pig-headed and annoying. And if I have to listen to Tavis say: “I say” one more time I’m going to hurt somebody. The only character that I even half liked was Hawk’s mom who wasn’t even in the book that much.

    There were no real surprises in this book. Boy and girl meet with an instant attraction, but girl won’t give in to her feelings. When she finally does another person tears them apart and it’s up to the strong sexy man to save the day, they have a baby and then they live happily ever after. I can sum up this book in one word BOR-ING! I’m glad that I read the Fever series first because if this had been my introduction into Moning’s writing I don’t think I could have ever read another book of hers. I’ve heard that this series gets better in later books, but I’m not sure I have the patience to find out.

    This review and more at openbooksociety dot com

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2012

    After reading the Fever series, I was certain I'd love this book

    After reading the Fever series, I was certain I'd love this book. However, I couldn't even appreciate this book as a light read and the only reason I even got to page 100 is because I was certain that with time the story would get better. There was no story development...no deepness to the characters. Even unbelieveable stories need to be believeable to the reader. I could have almost predicted every line these characters said...which was way over the top cheesy. I couldn't even finish the book. I am glad the author matured and developed to give us the Fever series but if you haven't read this series yet, don't expect too much. Try to read the first few chapters for free and you can decide from there.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2011

    Really a waste of time

    This could have been so much more interesting if the author had actually taken the timeto do some historical research. I will not bother with any books in this series.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2010

    Not a fan.....

    I am a fan of the Faefever series, really enjoyed those, so I thought I would give the Highlander Series a try. I cannot get through the first book. Compared to the Faefever books, this falls very flat.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 20, 2010

    I hate this book

    I'm completely obsessed with the Fever series, so I thought I'd give these books a try. Two-thirds into the book, I deleted it from my Nook.

    The characters are boring; the story is boring. Not that the Fever books are realistic, but this story line is absurd.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 17, 2010

    *Yawn....*Gag....*Gag some more!

    I started off reading the Fever series by Karen Marie Moning and I'm glad I started there! This book, in my opinion, was plot-less and full of nauseating/overwhelming/over-the-top romance! Just romance on top of romance with nothing in between. I really couldnt even finish the book, I was literally just gagging by the end of it. Definitely not for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2010

    Don't pay for this book!

    I bought this book. Big mistake! I still haven't finished it but the amount that I read has turned me off from this author completely. The character development is weak, the plot is too ridiculous, and the romance seems shallow. If you are craving a time travel romance novel I recommend the outlander series by Diana gabaldon.

    Also, the entire premise of this story rests on the hereoine's dislike of "beautiful men." Everytime this phrase is repeated in the story, I cringed.

    Please save your money!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Just Awful

    Like the novels of Gabaldon and Deveraux, this is a time-travel romance with a modern woman. In this case an American is transported across the centuries by fairies to the Scottish Highlands in 1513. The implausibilities pile up real fast in this one. Like the heroine appears in a EVIL man's lap and he forces her to impersonate his dead daughter to fulfill a marriage contract with the hero. Why if this was such a dilemma, didn't Mr Evil pick one of the maids he bullies and beats? Dunno. This book also doesn't have the sense of authentic historical detail that impress in Gabaldon and Deveraux--but does feature excruciatingly stupid dialogue and romance novel twaddle. (Gad, the hero's "ebony" eyes have "gold flecks." Seriously.) Oh, did I mention the heroine fainted--twice? And not because she was ill or pregnant. I think "Outlander" and "A Knight in Shining Armor" spoiled me--let alone dozens of works of historical fiction with elements of romance that are so much better than this crap. Stopped at page 102 with this one, which is more than it deserves.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2006

    Would not recommane it...

    I can't say that I was disappointed because the first book that I read by this author was no so great either, but this book is worse. It has poor story line and poor dialgs. Basically it is so bad written that made me want to stop reading after page 110. Another thing is that the author can not be more creative and keeps writing about time travel. Either the lady travels the to time or the Highlander.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2003

    Copy Cats

    Ever since Diana Gabaldon wrote 'Outlander' and followed it up with many great sequels, everyone is trying to write about timetravelers and Scotland. Well you can all try your best, but no one will ever equal Ms. Gabaldon's orginality. She doesn't just write about romance. Her dedication to research and the care in which she takes the trouble to truly put her heart, mind and soul into each sentence is worth the wait for each new novel. The resent rash of books dealing with the highlands and time travel is not worth the time and money. Why not wait for the original. Ms. Gabaldon has a new book coming out at the end of this month called 'Lord John and the Private Matter'. Lord John is a character from her Outlander series. I cannot wait to read this book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 59 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3